3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra vs Stratasys F170

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra vs Stratasys F170 — documented properties and sources
PropertyFlashForge Guider 3 UltraINDUSTRIALStratasys F170INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandFlashForgeStratasys
ClassINDUSTRIALINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra; the FlashForge spec table gives the machine name as "Guider 3 Ultra"[1]Stratasys F170, part of the Stratasys F123 Series[2]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Not documentedThe F123 series spec sheet carried is revision 0721a (July 2021). Stratasys does not print a launch date on it[2]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$2,399.00 against a $3,499.00 regular price on flashforge.com, but the listing checked is the refurbished SKU and is marked Sold out (Aug 2026)[1]Not documented
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Top of the Guider 3 series. Build size depends on which head is used: 330 x 330 x 600 mm with one extruder, 300 x 330 x 600 mm with both. Siblings Guider 3 (300x250x340) and Guider 3 Plus (350x350x600) are both single-extruder. A refurbished SKU exists alongside the new machine, so check which one a price refers to[1][3][4]Shares its 254 mm cube with the F120 but is a different machine: full-size cabinet, 2 internal material spool bays (1 model, 1 support) in a front drawer, and five model materials. The F270 and F370 have 4 spool bays[2]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable330 x 330 x 600 mm with a single extruder; 300 x 330 x 600 mm when both extruders are in use[1]254 x 254 x 254 mm (10 x 10 x 10 in)[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)635 x 550 x 1070 mm; packaging 775 x 690 x 1235 mm[1]1,626 x 864 x 711 mm (64 x 34 x 28 in)[2]
Net weight (kg)70 kg net, 86 kg gross[1]124 kg (F120) or 227 kg with consumables (F170, F270, F370)[2]
Frame construction & materialEnclosed professional chassis; FlashForge describes a lightweight, stable structure for high-speed operation[1]Fully enclosed office/classroom-grade cabinet, factory assembled[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidClosed design with an air filter fitted[1]Enclosed build chamber[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY with two extruders, per a third-party buyer's guide. FlashForge's own spec table does not state the kinematics[5][1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)10-500 mm/s printing speed, 500 mm/s maximum travel speed (manufacturer figures)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping
Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary)Active vibration compensation, which FlashForge says was enhanced for this model. Implementation not named[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameTwo extruders[1]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)350 °C maximum extruder temperature (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box0.4 mm default; 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit120 °C bed setting supported (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedReplaceable flexible steel-plate platform, magnetic. No glass bed[1]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Full-auto one-click levelling; probe technology not named[1]Not documented
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out reminder[1]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Air filter fitted; filter media not specified in the FlashForge table[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)AC 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz[1]100-132 V / 15 A or 200-240 V / 7 A, 50/60 Hz[2]
Total rated power draw850 W maximum[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not named; slicers are Orca-Flashforge and FlashPrint 5, with OrcaSlicer listed as compatible[1]Proprietary Stratasys firmware; print preparation is GrabCAD Print. The F370 additionally carries an Insight software licence and DoD STIG compliance powered by Red Hat Enterprise Linux[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?7-inch touch LCD[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, plus cloud[1]Wired TCP/IP at 100 Mbps minimum, 100base-T Ethernet, RJ45. Wireless-ready IEEE 802.11 n/g/b with WPA2-PSK or 802.1x EAP, CCMP/TKIP encryption[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Remote camera monitoring and time-lapse video supported; resolution not published[1]Not documented
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Power-loss recovery supported; mechanism not published. Automatic shutdown also supported[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, ABS, HIPS, ASA, PETG, CoPA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, PAHT-CF, PAHT-GF, PET-CF, PET-GF, PA12-CF, PA-CF, PA-GF, NexPA-CF25[1]PLA, ABS-M30, ASA, FDM TPU 92A, ABS-CF10, with QSR soluble support. PLA uses breakaway PLA support rather than soluble[2]
Safety
Certifications (UL/ETL/CE/FCC — verify, don't assume)CE, FCC, RoHS (as printed in FlashForge's own spec table)[1]CE (low-voltage and EMC directives), FCC, EAC, cTUVus, KC, RoHS, WEEE, REACH, RCM[2]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documented46 dB maximum during build, 35 dB idle — manufacturer specification, no distance or method stated, and not an independent measurement[2]
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedParts produced within +/-0.200 mm or +/-0.002 mm/mm, whichever is greater. Manufacturer figure derived from statistical data at 95% dimensional yield; Z accuracy carries an extra -0.000/+slice-height tolerance[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra product page (refurbished listing) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Stratasys F123 Series product specification sheet (PSS_FDM_F123Series_0721a, PDF) stratasys.com · 2026-08 · doc
  3. FlashForge Guider 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. FlashForge Guider 3 Plus technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review