3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra vs QIDI Plus4

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra vs QIDI Plus4 — documented properties and sources
PropertyFlashForge Guider 3 UltraINDUSTRIALQIDI Plus4COREXY
Identity
BrandFlashForgeQIDI
ClassINDUSTRIALCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra; the FlashForge spec table gives the machine name as "Guider 3 Ultra"[1]QIDI Plus4, sold as "Plus4 3D Printer". QIDI's own wiki files it under X-Plus4[2][3]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Not documentedAnnounced September 2024; QIDI ran launch promotional pricing in the week of 20-27 September 2024 (secondary reporting, not a QIDI press release)[4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$2,399.00 against a $3,499.00 regular price on flashforge.com, but the listing checked is the refurbished SKU and is marked Sold out (Aug 2026)[1]$649.00 on us.qidi3d.com for the Plus4 + 1 filament variant against a $799.00 compare-at price; $699.00 on qidi3d.com against $799.00. Checked Aug 2026[2][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Top of the Guider 3 series. Build size depends on which head is used: 330 x 330 x 600 mm with one extruder, 300 x 330 x 600 mm with both. Siblings Guider 3 (300x250x340) and Guider 3 Plus (350x350x600) are both single-extruder. A refurbished SKU exists alongside the new machine, so check which one a price refers to[1][5][6]Two purchasable variants: Plus4 + Filament x1 at $649 and Plus4 Combo + Filament x1 at $799 (Combo adds the QIDI Box multi-material unit). Distinct from the older X-Plus 3 (280x280x270, 350 °C) and from the newer Plus5 (320x320x300)[3][2]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded at the top of the large-format line by the Plus5, launched 5 August 2026 with 18% more build volume; Plus4 still listed and in stock Aug 2026[7][8]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable330 x 330 x 600 mm with a single extruder; 300 x 330 x 600 mm when both extruders are in use[1]305 x 305 x 280 mm advertised. No independently measured usable envelope found[2][4]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)635 x 550 x 1070 mm; packaging 775 x 690 x 1235 mm[1]505 x 487 x 550 mm[4]
Net weight (kg)70 kg net, 86 kg gross[1]32 kg gross (3DJake). QIDI does not publish a net weight on the product page[4]
Frame construction & materialEnclosed professional chassis; FlashForge describes a lightweight, stable structure for high-speed operation[1]Enclosed CoreXY chassis with double-layer chamber insulation; QIDI does not publish a frame material breakdown[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidClosed design with an air filter fitted[1]Fully enclosed, double-layer insulated chamber with second-generation active heating to 65 °C[2][4]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Not documented65 °C, actively heated by a 400 W heater which QIDI says reaches setpoint in about 8 minutes (manufacturer claim)[2][4]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY with two extruders, per a third-party buyer's guide. FlashForge's own spec table does not state the kinematics[9][1]CoreXY[4]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashNot documentedDual independent Z motors on 10 mm linear shafts and screws[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)10-500 mm/s printing speed, 500 mm/s maximum travel speed (manufacturer figures)[1]600 mm/s (manufacturer claim, tool-head maximum)[4]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1]<=20,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[4]
Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping
Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary)Active vibration compensation, which FlashForge says was enhanced for this model. Implementation not named[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameTwo extruders[1]Direct drive with hardened steel dual gears, 1.75 mm filament[2][4]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Not documentedSecond-generation 80 W bimetal hotend with a multi-metal composite hardened-tip nozzle; 0.4 mm standard, 0.2/0.5/0.8 mm optional[2][4]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)350 °C maximum extruder temperature (manufacturer claim)[1]<=370 °C claimed. No firmware max_temp verified for this model[2][4]
Heater cartridge power (W)Not documented80 W hotend heater (manufacturer figure)[2]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box0.4 mm default; 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit120 °C bed setting supported (manufacturer figure)[1]Conflicting manufacturer figures: QIDI's own Plus4 page states a 100 °C bed temperature, 3DJake's spec table states <=120 °C. Not resolved; the lower vendor-published figure is used as the sortable value[2][4]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedReplaceable flexible steel-plate platform, magnetic. No glass bed[1]6 mm aluminium-substrate heated bed with a double-sided textured PEI plate[2][4]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Full-auto one-click levelling; probe technology not named[1]Full-auto calibration; QIDI markets "hands-free automatic" levelling and does not name the probe technology on the product page[2][4]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out reminder[1]Filament run-out sensor, plus a filament cutter and filament tangle detection (tangle mechanism not described)[4]
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathNot documentedQIDI Box multi-material unit supported; sold bundled as the Plus4 Combo[2][3]
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designNot documentedAuxiliary part-cooling fan plus a chamber circulation fan; fan sizes and duct design not published[4]
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Air filter fitted; filter media not specified in the FlashForge table[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)AC 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz[1]100-240 VAC, 50/60 Hz[4]
Total rated power draw850 W maximum[1]450 W plus 400 W for chamber heating (rated)[4]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not named; slicers are Orca-Flashforge and FlashPrint 5, with OrcaSlicer listed as compatible[1]Klipper v0.12, described by QIDI as open source. Fork details and current release not published on the product page[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?7-inch touch LCD[1]5-inch touchscreen, 800 x 480[2][4]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, plus cloud[1]Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, Ethernet, USB[2][4]
Cloud service & phone app; LAN-only mode possible?Not documentedMobile and computer control, remote cloud or LAN-only operation[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Remote camera monitoring and time-lapse video supported; resolution not published[1]Built-in low-frame-rate camera, up to 1080p, timelapse supported[2][4]
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printNot documentedQIDI claims about 10 minutes from unbox to printing[2]
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Power-loss recovery supported; mechanism not published. Automatic shutdown also supported[1]Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[4]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, ABS, HIPS, ASA, PETG, CoPA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, PAHT-CF, PAHT-GF, PET-CF, PET-GF, PA12-CF, PA-CF, PA-GF, NexPA-CF25[1]PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, PA-CF/GF, PET-CF/GF, PPA-CF/GF, PPS-CF and other CF/GF-filled polymers[2][4]
Safety
Certifications (UL/ETL/CE/FCC — verify, don't assume)CE, FCC, RoHS (as printed in FlashForge's own spec table)[1]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Not documented1-year coverage, 14-day no-reason return, 30-day price protection[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra product page (refurbished listing) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. QIDI Plus4 product page (global store) qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. QIDI Plus4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. QIDI Tech Plus4 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. FlashForge Guider 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. FlashForge Guider 3 Plus technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. QIDI Plus5 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. QIDI Plus5 launch write-up 3dprintbeginner.com · 2026-08 · review
  9. Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review