3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra vs Prusa CORE One L+

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra vs Prusa CORE One L+ — documented properties and sources
PropertyFlashForge Guider 3 UltraINDUSTRIALPrusa CORE One L+COREXY
Identity
BrandFlashForgePrusa Research
ClassINDUSTRIALCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra; the FlashForge spec table gives the machine name as "Guider 3 Ultra"[1]Prusa CORE One L+[2]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Not documentedThe CORE One L+ refresh was announced on 13 August 2026 and went on sale immediately, with the first assembled units shipping at once; it adds GT1.5 belts and an integrated nozzle wiper to the CORE One L[3]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$2,399.00 against a $3,499.00 regular price on flashforge.com, but the listing checked is the refurbished SKU and is marked Sold out (Aug 2026)[1]$1,850.93 on prusa3d.com, Aug 2026; $1,925.00 with the Advanced Filtration bundle. Prusa's own comparison text on the CORE One+ page quotes "from $1,799", which does not match the live e-shop price[4][5]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Top of the Guider 3 series. Build size depends on which head is used: 330 x 330 x 600 mm with one extruder, 300 x 330 x 600 mm with both. Siblings Guider 3 (300x250x340) and Guider 3 Plus (350x350x600) are both single-extruder. A refurbished SKU exists alongside the new machine, so check which one a price refers to[1][6][7]Larger sibling of the CORE One+ (Gen 2): 300 x 300 x 330 mm against 250 x 220 x 270 mm, 60 C chamber against 55 C, 21.9 kg against 22.5 kg (the L is the lighter of the two despite being larger). A CORE One L to CORE One L+ upgrade kit exists, so "CORE One L" and "CORE One L+" are different revisions. A Critical Infrastructure Edition is also listed[2][5][4]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable330 x 330 x 600 mm with a single extruder; 300 x 330 x 600 mm when both extruders are in use[1]300 x 300 x 330 mm, which Prusa states as 29.7 litres[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)635 x 550 x 1070 mm; packaging 775 x 690 x 1235 mm[1]469 x 521 x 635 mm[2]
Net weight (kg)70 kg net, 86 kg gross[1]21.9 kg (48.3 lb)[2]
Frame construction & materialEnclosed professional chassis; FlashForge describes a lightweight, stable structure for high-speed operation[1]Not documented
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidClosed design with an air filter fitted[1]Fully enclosed with a chamber door-open sensor and an active convection heated chamber up to 60 C; advanced filtration is an optional add-on[2]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Not documentedActive convection chamber heating, maximum 60 C (manufacturer figure)[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY with two extruders, per a third-party buyer's guide. FlashForge's own spec table does not state the kinematics[8][1]CoreXY - stated in Prusa's CORE One+ comparison table[5]
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documentedTrinamic drivers on the custom xBuddy mainboard (Prusa's CORE One L+ specification says "custom 32-bit xBuddy mainboard with STM32 processor & Trinamic drivers"; it does not give the driver part number)[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)10-500 mm/s printing speed, 500 mm/s maximum travel speed (manufacturer figures)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping
Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary)Active vibration compensation, which FlashForge says was enhanced for this model. Implementation not named[1]Input Shaper and Phase Stepping with an integrated accelerometer[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameTwo extruders[1]Nextruder direct drive with a 10:1 planetary gear system; all-metal hotend with an aluminium heatsink and a tool-free quick-swap nozzle system[2]
Gear ratio & drive gear materialNot documented10:1 planetary gearbox[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Not documentedTool-free quick-swap nozzle system; Prusa brass high-flow CHT 0.4 mm pre-mounted plus an abrasive-resistant 0.4 mm nozzle in the box[2]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)350 °C maximum extruder temperature (manufacturer claim)[1]290 C claimed max nozzle temperature. The optional HT hotend that raises this to 400 C was announced for September 2026 availability, so it is not a shipping specification as of Aug 2026[2][3]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box0.4 mm default; 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit120 °C bed setting supported (manufacturer figure)[1]120 C max heatbed temperature[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedReplaceable flexible steel-plate platform, magnetic. No glass bed[1]Magnetic heatbed with removable dual-sided PEI spring-steel sheets; a satin powder-coated sheet is supplied[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Full-auto one-click levelling; probe technology not named[1]High-precision load-cell sensor - fully automatic first-layer calibration and mesh bed levelling restricted to the print area[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out reminder[1]Two filament sensors, plus a chamber door-open sensor and five Semitec thermistors[2]
Cooling & Air Handling
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Air filter fitted; filter media not specified in the FlashForge table[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Not documentedCustom 32-bit xBuddy mainboard with an STM32 processor[2]
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)AC 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz[1]Not documented
Total rated power draw850 W maximum[1]Standby 16 W, preheating about 630 W, average printing about 90 W on PLA and about 215 W on ASA (manufacturer figures)[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not named; slicers are Orca-Flashforge and FlashPrint 5, with OrcaSlicer listed as compatible[1]Open-source Prusa Buddy firmware. The source tree (prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware-Buddy on GitHub) explicitly covers the Original Prusa MINI/MINI+, MK4, XL and CORE One and was last pushed to in August 2026. Updates are applied from a USB drive, through Prusa Connect or through the Prusa mobile app[9][10]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?7-inch touch LCD[1]3.5-inch 65k-colour touch screen (CORE One family)[5]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Not documentedOn-device touch UI with Prusa Connect and Prusa mobile app remote control[5]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, plus cloud[1]Ethernet, NFC receiver and Wi-Fi through a physically removable module, which Prusa offers for high-security offline installations[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Remote camera monitoring and time-lapse video supported; resolution not published[1]Not documented
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Power-loss recovery supported; mechanism not published. Automatic shutdown also supported[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, ABS, HIPS, ASA, PETG, CoPA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, PAHT-CF, PAHT-GF, PET-CF, PET-GF, PA12-CF, PA-CF, PA-GF, NexPA-CF25[1]PLA, PETG, Flex, PVA, PC, PP, CPE, PVB, and with Advanced Filtration also ABS, ASA, HIPS and PA[2]
Safety
Thermal runaway protection (verify in firmware source if at all possible)Not documentedOpen-source firmware on the xBuddy platform, which carries hardware overcurrent protection cutting heater and heatbed power above 15 A[11][9]
Certifications (UL/ETL/CE/FCC — verify, don't assume)CE, FCC, RoHS (as printed in FlashForge's own spec table)[1]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Not documented2-year warranty for consumers in the EU, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year for EU enterprises and 1 year for the rest of the world, which includes the United States. A printer bought from a reseller or privately carries 1 year from the original delivery date and is handled by the reseller. Prusa advertises 24/7 chat and e-mail support in seven languages[12][10]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra product page (refurbished listing) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Prusa CORE One L+ product page (CORE One L+ Technical Specifications) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Prusa blog - Better Prints, Easier Use: Prusa XL+, CORE One L+ and CORE One+ (Gen 2), Our Big Product Update (published 13 August 2026) blog.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc
  4. Prusa 3D printers category listing with live e-shop prices, Aug 2026 prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Prusa CORE One+ (Gen 2) product page (Technical Parameters + CORE One+/MK4S/CORE One L comparison) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. FlashForge Guider 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. FlashForge Guider 3 Plus technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review
  9. GitHub - prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware-Buddy (firmware for MINI, MK4, XL and CORE One) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  10. Original Prusa MK4S 3D Printer product page (Technical Parameters + CORE One+/MK4S/XL comparison table) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  11. Prusa blog - Original Prusa MK4 is here (published 29 March 2023), including the MK4 specification table and launch prices blog.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc
  12. Prusa Knowledge Base - Warranty help.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc