3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

FlashForge Guider 3 Plus vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

FlashForge Guider 3 Plus vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyFlashForge Guider 3 PlusINDUSTRIALUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandFlashForgeUltiMaker
ClassINDUSTRIALINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)FlashForge Guider 3 Plus[1]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)Not documentedStarting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Larger sibling of the Guider 3 (300x250x340) and distinct from the Guider 3 Ultra, which is dual-extruder, 330x330x600 and 350 °C. Guider 3 Plus is single-extruder and quoted at 250 mm/s[1][3][4]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][5][6]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?3DJake shows it sold out and no longer stocked[1]Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][5][6]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable350 x 350 x 600 mm advertised[1]330 x 240 x 300 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)Not documented495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2]
Net weight (kg)Not documented20.6 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialFully assembled professional chassis. Z axis runs on 16 mm guides with 16 mm TBI ball screws on both sides; the platform is rated to carry 30 kg[1]Fully assembled professional chassis[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidEnclosed, with HEPA 13 air filtration and two sealed filament chambers of 1 kg each[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Not documentedDual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashDouble Z-axis ball screw, 16 mm TBI on both sides, on 16 mm guides[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)250 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect-drive extruder, single[1]Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box0.4, 0.6 and 0.8 mm nozzles available[1]0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documentedHeated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedHeated glass build plate[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Not documentedAutomatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibilityTwo sealed filament chambers, 1 kg per chamber[1]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)HEPA 13 filtration[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Total rated power drawNot documented500 W maximum power output[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not documentedNot published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?Not documented4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB, Wi-Fi, LAN[1]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, ABS, HIPS, nylon, PETG, PC, ASA, and glass/carbon-fibre reinforced grades[1]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Less than 50 dB claimed by the manufacturer. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[1]Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2]
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedXYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. FlashForge Guider 3 Plus technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. FlashForge Guider 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra product page (refurbished listing) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor