Printer comparison
FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro vs UltiMaker S8
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro comparisonsMore UltiMaker S8 comparisons
| Property | FlashForge Adventurer 5M ProCOREXY | UltiMaker S8INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | FlashForge | UltiMaker |
| Class | COREXY | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Flashforge Adventurer 5M Pro; FlashForge's own spec table gives the machine name as "Adventurer 5M PRO" and the store abbreviates it AD5M Pro[1][2] | UltiMaker S8 3D Printer[3][4] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not documented | Launched March 2025; the technical-specification and pricing announcement is dated 14 March 2025[4] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $449.00 sale against a $599.00 regular price on flashforge.com, in stock, with a further $80 auto-applied in cart, checked Aug 2026. FlashForge's own product feed lists the first variant at $399.00, so the price you see depends on the variant selected. A refurbished AD5M Pro is listed at $339.00[1][2] | Starting at $8,999 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The launch announcement quoted approximately $9,000[3][4] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Enclosed sibling of the open-frame Adventurer 5M (same 220 mm cube, same 280 °C nozzle, same 600 mm/s, but 100 °C bed vs 110 °C and no filtration). Also distinct from the AD5X, which shares the chassis but has a 300 °C nozzle, a 4-colour IFS unit and no air filtration. Refurbished units of all three are sold separately[1][5][6][2] | Sold as printer-only or as a Pro Bundle. The bundle is not a trim level but a different machine footprint and weight: 495 x 500 x 1210.5 mm and 47.7 kg with the 6-spool Material Station, versus 495 x 585 x 800.5 mm and 30 kg for the printer alone. Print cores AA+ 0.40 x2 are included; BB, CC+ and DD 0.40 are separate purchases[3][4] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 220 x 220 x 220 mm advertised[1][7] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3][4] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 380 x 400 x 453 mm excluding the spool holder[1][7] | 495 x 585 x 800.5 mm printer only; 495 x 500 x 1210.5 mm as the Pro Bundle[3][4] |
| Net weight (kg) | Not documented | 30 kg printer only; 47.7 kg as the Pro Bundle[3][4] |
| Frame construction & material | All-metal CoreXY structure (FlashForge writes it "CoXY")[1] | Fully assembled, made in Europe[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Enclosed. Dual-layer HEPA plus activated-carbon filtration on both internal and external circulation; FlashForge claims 99% capture of particles and VOCs[1][7] | Enclosed, with an Air Manager UltiMaker says removes up to 95% of ultrafine particles[3][4] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Not documented | Build-volume temperature under 50 °C with open-loop control (manufacturer figure)[3][4] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[1][8] | Dual-extrusion print head with auto nozzle-lifting, flood detection and inductive probing. UltiMaker's Cheetah motion planner uses third-order continuous motion with corner blending[3][4] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 600 mm/s maximum travel speed (FlashForge's own table labels the 600 mm/s figure "Max Travel Speed", not print speed)[1][7] | Up to 500 mm/s in XY (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][7] | Up to 50,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Jerk / square-corner-velocity setting (exact value) | Not documented | Jerk up to 100,000,000 mm/s3 (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | Up to 35 mm3/s extrusion flow (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive, one extruder[1][7] | Dual gripper feeder with tension adjustment, release function and filament feed-rate control[3][4] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3][4] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Not documented | Swappable print cores; AA+ 0.40 x2 included, BB 0.40 / CC+ 0.40 / DD 0.40 sold separately[3][4] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 280 °C claimed[1][7] | Up to 340 °C (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Conflicting manufacturer figures: FlashForge's own spec table says 100 °C platform temperature, 3DJake's table says 110 °C. Lower vendor figure used as the sortable value[1][7] | Up to 120 °C on a flexible PEI plate (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Flexible removable PEI-coated spring-steel plate[1][7] | Flexible PEI plate[3][4] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling; FlashForge does not name the probe technology on the product page[1] | Inductive probing, integrated into the print head[3][4] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament run-out reminder[1] | Not documented |
| Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibility | Not documented | Dual spool holder with NFC recognition on the printer; the Pro Bundle substitutes a 6-spool Material Station with NFC and a dual-geared abrasion-resistant feeder[3][4] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | Internal plus external circulation with a HEPA and activated-carbon filter[1][7] | Air Manager, which UltiMaker says removes up to 95% of ultrafine particles[3][4] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | AC 100-120 V / 200-240 V, 50/60 Hz[1][7] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | 350 W rated[1][7] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not documented | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura 5.10 or newer, fleet management via UltiMaker Digital Factory[3][4] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.3-inch screen[1][7] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[1][7] | Wi-Fi 2.4 and 5 GHz (802.11a/b/g/n/ac), Gigabit Ethernet, USB 2.0[3][4] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Camera monitoring listed; resolution and framerate not published[1] | Full HD HDR camera[3][4] |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Power-loss recovery, plus automatic shutdown[1] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA and PETG on the 0.4 mm nozzle; ABS/ASA; TPU, PLA-CF and PETG-CF on 0.6/0.8 mm nozzles[1] | UltiMaker cites 301+ compatible materials including its own PLA, PETG, ABS, CPE, CPE+, PC, TPU and PET-CF, plus third-party grades[3] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Manufacturer claim only, no independent measurement: 50 dB in low-noise mode, 55 dB in standard mode. Distance and method not stated[1] | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3][4] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | FlashForge's Adventurer 5M page states a 12-month limited warranty for that model; the 5M Pro page does not restate it[5] | 12 months, extendable to 5 years with an UltiMakerCare plan[3][4] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | Dimensional accuracy +/-0.15 mm +/-0.15% of feature nominal length (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3][4] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Flashforge Adventurer 5M Pro product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Flashforge store product feed (live prices and stock) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- New UltiMaker S8 high-speed 3D printer: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
- Flashforge Adventurer 5M product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Flashforge AD5X multicolour 3D printer product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review