3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyFlashForge Adventurer 5M ProCOREXYUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandFlashForgeUltiMaker
ClassCOREXYINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Flashforge Adventurer 5M Pro; FlashForge's own spec table gives the machine name as "Adventurer 5M PRO" and the store abbreviates it AD5M Pro[1][2]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[3]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$449.00 sale against a $599.00 regular price on flashforge.com, in stock, with a further $80 auto-applied in cart, checked Aug 2026. FlashForge's own product feed lists the first variant at $399.00, so the price you see depends on the variant selected. A refurbished AD5M Pro is listed at $339.00[1][2]Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Enclosed sibling of the open-frame Adventurer 5M (same 220 mm cube, same 280 °C nozzle, same 600 mm/s, but 100 °C bed vs 110 °C and no filtration). Also distinct from the AD5X, which shares the chassis but has a 300 °C nozzle, a 4-colour IFS unit and no air filtration. Refurbished units of all three are sold separately[1][4][5][2]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[3][6][7]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[3][6][7]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable220 x 220 x 220 mm advertised[1][8]330 x 240 x 300 mm[3]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)380 x 400 x 453 mm excluding the spool holder[1][8]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[3]
Net weight (kg)Not documented20.6 kg[3]
Frame construction & materialAll-metal CoreXY structure (FlashForge writes it "CoXY")[1]Fully assembled professional chassis[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidEnclosed. Dual-layer HEPA plus activated-carbon filtration on both internal and external circulation; FlashForge claims 99% capture of particles and VOCs[1][8]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY[1][9]Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[3]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)600 mm/s maximum travel speed (FlashForge's own table labels the 600 mm/s figure "Max Travel Speed", not print speed)[1][8]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][8]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[3]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive, one extruder[1][8]Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[3]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[3]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)280 °C claimed[1][8]180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[3]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[1]0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[3]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitConflicting manufacturer figures: FlashForge's own spec table says 100 °C platform temperature, 3DJake's table says 110 °C. Lower vendor figure used as the sortable value[1][8]Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[3]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedFlexible removable PEI-coated spring-steel plate[1][8]Heated glass build plate[3]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling; FlashForge does not name the probe technology on the product page[1]Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[3]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out reminder[1]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Internal plus external circulation with a HEPA and activated-carbon filter[1][8]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)AC 100-120 V / 200-240 V, 50/60 Hz[1][8]Not documented
Total rated power draw350 W rated[1][8]500 W maximum power output[3]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not documentedNot published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[3]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.3-inch screen[1][8]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[3]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[1][8]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[3]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Camera monitoring listed; resolution and framerate not published[1]Not documented
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Power-loss recovery, plus automatic shutdown[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA and PETG on the 0.4 mm nozzle; ABS/ASA; TPU, PLA-CF and PETG-CF on 0.6/0.8 mm nozzles[1]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Manufacturer claim only, no independent measurement: 50 dB in low-noise mode, 55 dB in standard mode. Distance and method not stated[1]Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)FlashForge's Adventurer 5M page states a 12-month limited warranty for that model; the 5M Pro page does not restate it[4]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedXYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Flashforge Adventurer 5M Pro product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Flashforge store product feed (live prices and stock) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Flashforge Adventurer 5M product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Flashforge AD5X multicolour 3D printer product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review