3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro vs Sovol SV08

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro vs Sovol SV08 — documented properties and sources
PropertyFlashForge Adventurer 5M ProCOREXYSovol SV08COREXY
Identity
BrandFlashForgeSovol
ClassCOREXYCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Flashforge Adventurer 5M Pro; FlashForge's own spec table gives the machine name as "Adventurer 5M PRO" and the store abbreviates it AD5M Pro[1][2]Sovol SV08 3D Printer[3][4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$449.00 sale against a $599.00 regular price on flashforge.com, in stock, with a further $80 auto-applied in cart, checked Aug 2026. FlashForge's own product feed lists the first variant at $399.00, so the price you see depends on the variant selected. A refurbished AD5M Pro is listed at $339.00[1][2]$549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[3][4]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Enclosed sibling of the open-frame Adventurer 5M (same 220 mm cube, same 280 °C nozzle, same 600 mm/s, but 100 °C bed vs 110 °C and no filtration). Also distinct from the AD5X, which shares the chassis but has a 300 °C nozzle, a 4-colour IFS unit and no air filtration. Refurbished units of all three are sold separately[1][5][6][2]Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[4][7][8][3]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable220 x 220 x 220 mm advertised[1][9]350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[3][8]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)380 x 400 x 453 mm excluding the spool holder[1][9]550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[3][8]
Net weight (kg)Not documented21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[8]
Frame construction & materialAll-metal CoreXY structure (FlashForge writes it "CoXY")[1]Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidEnclosed. Dual-layer HEPA plus activated-carbon filtration on both internal and external circulation; FlashForge claims 99% capture of particles and VOCs[1][9]Open frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[3][7]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY[1][10]CoreXY[3]
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documentedTMC2209[3]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)600 mm/s maximum travel speed (FlashForge's own table labels the 600 mm/s figure "Max Travel Speed", not print speed)[1][9]700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][8]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][9]40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][8]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documented<=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[3][8]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive, one extruder[1][9]Planetary-gear direct-drive extruder[3][8]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)280 °C claimed[1][9]<=300 °C claimed[3][8]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[1]0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[3]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitConflicting manufacturer figures: FlashForge's own spec table says 100 °C platform temperature, 3DJake's table says 110 °C. Lower vendor figure used as the sortable value[1][9]<=100 °C claimed[3][8]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedFlexible removable PEI-coated spring-steel plate[1][9]Powder-coated PEI steel plate[3][8]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling; FlashForge does not name the probe technology on the product page[1]Inductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[3][8][4]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out reminder[1]Filament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[3][8]
Cooling & Air Handling
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Internal plus external circulation with a HEPA and activated-carbon filter[1][9]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded LinuxNot documentedAllwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[3][8]
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)Not documentedConflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[3][8]
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)AC 100-120 V / 200-240 V, 50/60 Hz[1][9]Not documented
Total rated power draw350 W rated[1][9]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not documentedKlipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[3][8]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.3-inch screen[1][9]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[1][9]Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[3][8]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Camera monitoring listed; resolution and framerate not published[1]Camera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[3][8]
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Power-loss recovery, plus automatic shutdown[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA and PETG on the 0.4 mm nozzle; ABS/ASA; TPU, PLA-CF and PETG-CF on 0.6/0.8 mm nozzles[1]PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[3]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Manufacturer claim only, no independent measurement: 50 dB in low-noise mode, 55 dB in standard mode. Distance and method not stated[1]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)FlashForge's Adventurer 5M page states a 12-month limited warranty for that model; the 5M Pro page does not restate it[5]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Flashforge Adventurer 5M Pro product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Flashforge store product feed (live prices and stock) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Flashforge Adventurer 5M product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Flashforge AD5X multicolour 3D printer product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  10. Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review