3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K vs Sovol SV08

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K vs Sovol SV08 — documented properties and sources
PropertyELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16KRESINSovol SV08COREXY
Identity
BrandELEGOOSovol
ClassRESINCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K. Elegoo's product handle is saturn-4-ultra-16k-10inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer. 3DJake item number ELG-50.101.038300[1][2]Sovol SV08 3D Printer[3][4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$649.99 in us.elegoo.com's live Shopify product JSON, in stock, with compare_at_price also $649.99 — no discount active at the time of checking (Aug 2026)[2]$549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[3][4]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Distinct from the earlier Saturn 4 Ultra (12K); the 16K carries a 15120 x 6230 masking LCD with 14 x 19 um pixels. Elegoo also sells it bundled with a Mercury Plus V2.0 wash/cure station and as a pre-owned SKU, neither of which is the printer-only price[1][2]Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[4][5][6][3]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable211.68 x 118.37 x 220 mm[1]350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[3][6]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)327.4 x 329.2 x 548 mm[1]550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[3][6]
Net weight (kg)Not documented21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[6]
Frame construction & materialMetal housing with a flip-up cover and a drip guard[1]Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFlip-up lid (Elegoo's own naming) over an open frame; UV-blocking cover[1]Open frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[3][5]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)MSLA with tilt-release: the vat tilts to peel each layer rather than pulling straight up. Elegoo claims the mechanism cuts curing time by 25%. Single Z axis, Z precision 0.02 mm[1]CoreXY[3]
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documentedTMC2209[3]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)Not documented700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][6]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)Not documented40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][6]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documented<=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[3][6]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedPlanetary-gear direct-drive extruder[3][6]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented<=300 °C claimed[3][6]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[3]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documented<=100 °C claimed[3][6]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedPowder-coated PEI steel plate[3][6]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling, plus intelligent mechanical sensor alarms[1]Inductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[3][6][4]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Not documentedFilament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[3][6]
Electronics & Power
Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded LinuxNot documentedAllwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[3][6]
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)Not documentedConflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[3][6]
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 6 A[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Elegoo EL3D-4.0 system. Slicer is CHITUBOX[1]Klipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[3][6]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB and Wi-Fi, with WLAN file transfer[1]Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[3][6]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera, 1920 x 1080[1]Camera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[3][6]
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?AI camera with print-failure detection[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament list405 nm photopolymer resin; the heated tank is aimed at high-viscosity and high-speed resins. No closed compatibility list published[1]PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[3]
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD10-inch 16K monochrome masking LCD, 15120 x 6230 px, XY pixel pitch 14 x 19 um (manufacturer specification)[1][2]Not documented
Light sourceCOB light source with a Fresnel collimating lens[1]Not documented
Light uniformity & intensityLight energy at the plate quoted as 5 mW/cm2, i.e. 5000 uW/cm2 (manufacturer claim, attributed to the tilt-release and Fresnel optics). No uniformity percentage published and no independent measurement[1]Not documented
Vertical print speedmm/hUp to 150 mm/h (manufacturer claim). Elegoo does not state the layer height or resin type the figure assumes[1]Not documented
Release filmPFA release film. No rated life published[1]Not documented
LCD life & replaceabilityMasking LCD shielded by tempered 9H protective glass. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state user replaceability[1]Not documented
Resin vat & feedingReplaceable resin vat with a dual pour spout and a drip guard. Heated tank with automatic temperature measurement: Elegoo states resin reaches 25 C in 26 minutes from a 5 C ambient at 50% humidity (manufacturer figure). Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K live Shopify product JSON us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor