3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K vs FlashForge AD5X

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K vs FlashForge AD5X — documented properties and sources
PropertyELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16KRESINFlashForge AD5XCOREXY
Identity
BrandELEGOOFlashForge
ClassRESINCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K. Elegoo's product handle is saturn-4-ultra-16k-10inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer. 3DJake item number ELG-50.101.038300[1][2]Flashforge AD5X, sold as "AD5X - Multicolor 3D Printer for High-Speed, Full-Color Printing"[3][4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$649.99 in us.elegoo.com's live Shopify product JSON, in stock, with compare_at_price also $649.99 — no discount active at the time of checking (Aug 2026)[2]$399.00 sale against a $549.00 compare-at price on flashforge.com, in stock, with a further $50 off at checkout, checked Aug 2026. A refurbished AD5X is listed at $315.00[3][4]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Distinct from the earlier Saturn 4 Ultra (12K); the 16K carries a 15120 x 6230 masking LCD with 14 x 19 um pixels. Elegoo also sells it bundled with a Mercury Plus V2.0 wash/cure station and as a pre-owned SKU, neither of which is the printer-only price[1][2]Shares the 220 mm Adventurer chassis with the 5M and 5M Pro but differs on the points that matter: 300 °C nozzle (vs 280 °C), 4-colour IFS unit, NO air filtration, NO auto shutdown, and a 300 mm/s print speed against a 600 mm/s travel speed. 3DJake and eolasprints both describe it as open-frame[3][5][6][7]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable211.68 x 118.37 x 220 mm[1]220 x 220 x 220 mm advertised[3][5]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)327.4 x 329.2 x 548 mm[1]Not documented
Frame construction & materialMetal housing with a flip-up cover and a drip guard[1]Not documented
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFlip-up lid (Elegoo's own naming) over an open frame; UV-blocking cover[1]Open frame, no enclosure and no air filtration — FlashForge's own table records "Air Filtration: No". Chamber lighting and remote monitoring are listed as expandable options rather than fitted[3][6]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)MSLA with tilt-release: the vat tilts to peel each layer rather than pulling straight up. Elegoo claims the mechanism cuts curing time by 25%. Single Z axis, Z precision 0.02 mm[1]CoreXY[6]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)Not documentedFlashForge publishes two separate figures: max travel speed 600 mm/s and max print speed 300 mm/s. The 300 mm/s print figure is the one that describes printing[3][5]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)Not documented20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][5]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedDirect drive, one extruder, fed by the 4-colour Intelligent Filament System (IFS)[3]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented300 °C claimed[3][5]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm default; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[3][5]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documented110 °C claimed[3][5]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedPEI flexible spring-steel sheet[3][5]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling, plus intelligent mechanical sensor alarms[1]Automatic levelling; probe technology not named[3][5]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Not documentedFilament detection fitted; type and location not published[3][5]
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathNot documentedFour-colour printing via the integrated Intelligent Filament System (IFS), which handles filament switching[3]
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 6 A[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Elegoo EL3D-4.0 system. Slicer is CHITUBOX[1]Not named by FlashForge; the supported slicers are Orca-Flashforge and OrcaSlicer[3]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB and Wi-Fi, with WLAN file transfer[1]USB, Ethernet, Wi-Fi[3][5]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera, 1920 x 1080[1]Not documented
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?AI camera with print-failure detection[1]Not documented
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Not documentedPower-outage recovery supported; mechanism not published[3][5]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament list405 nm photopolymer resin; the heated tank is aimed at high-viscosity and high-speed resins. No closed compatibility list published[1]PETG, PLA, TPU95A, TPU64D-75D, PLA-CF, PETG-CF[3][5]
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD10-inch 16K monochrome masking LCD, 15120 x 6230 px, XY pixel pitch 14 x 19 um (manufacturer specification)[1][2]Not documented
Light sourceCOB light source with a Fresnel collimating lens[1]Not documented
Light uniformity & intensityLight energy at the plate quoted as 5 mW/cm2, i.e. 5000 uW/cm2 (manufacturer claim, attributed to the tilt-release and Fresnel optics). No uniformity percentage published and no independent measurement[1]Not documented
Vertical print speedmm/hUp to 150 mm/h (manufacturer claim). Elegoo does not state the layer height or resin type the figure assumes[1]Not documented
Release filmPFA release film. No rated life published[1]Not documented
LCD life & replaceabilityMasking LCD shielded by tempered 9H protective glass. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state user replaceability[1]Not documented
Resin vat & feedingReplaceable resin vat with a dual pour spout and a drip guard. Heated tank with automatic temperature measurement: Elegoo states resin reaches 25 C in 26 minutes from a 5 C ambient at 50% humidity (manufacturer figure). Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K live Shopify product JSON us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Flashforge AD5X multicolour 3D printer product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Flashforge store product feed (live prices and stock) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. FlashForge AD5X technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review
  7. Flashforge Adventurer 5M Pro product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor