Printer comparison
ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga vs ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga comparisonsMore ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K comparisons
| Property | ELEGOO OrangeStorm GigaINDUSTRIAL | ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16KRESIN |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | ELEGOO | ELEGOO |
| Class | INDUSTRIAL | RESIN |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga[1] | Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K. Elegoo's product handle is saturn-4-ultra-16k-10inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer. 3DJake item number ELG-50.101.038300[2][3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Listed on the ELEGOO US store from 17 October 2024 (Shopify publish date)[4] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $2,499.00 on us.elegoo.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $3,125.00[4] | $649.99 in us.elegoo.com's live Shopify product JSON, in stock, with compare_at_price also $649.99 — no discount active at the time of checking (Aug 2026)[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Sold bare and in bundles; dual-printhead and quad-printhead upgrade kits are separate products, so a Giga's nozzle count depends on which kit was bought. The four printheads sit on the same X axis and print four copies of the same model in parallel (or the same model in four colours) - this is not an IDEX or a toolchanger[1][5] | Distinct from the earlier Saturn 4 Ultra (12K); the 16K carries a 15120 x 6230 masking LCD with 14 x 19 um pixels. Elegoo also sells it bundled with a Mercury Plus V2.0 wash/cure station and as a pre-owned SKU, neither of which is the printer-only price[2][3] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 800 x 800 x 1000 mm; the platform is 820 x 820 mm made up of four independent 410 x 410 mm PEI plates[1] | 211.68 x 118.37 x 220 mm[2] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 1224 x 1164 x 1425 mm; ELEGOO's maximum size for machine activity is 1224 x 1520 x 1570 mm. This is a floor-standing machine, not a desktop one[1] | 327.4 x 329.2 x 548 mm[2] |
| Net weight (kg) | 104 kg net, 145 kg gross, and it ships in multiple crates (bottom + XY axis components, then two Z-axis components)[1] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | CNC-machined aluminium extrusion frame; the X and Y axes run on linear guides and the machine sits on carbon steel round bases with rubber anti-slip pads[1] | Metal housing with a flip-up cover and a drip guard[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame, no enclosure[1] | Flip-up lid (Elegoo's own naming) over an open frame; UV-blocking cover[2] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Cartesian gantry with a fixed bed - the printhead moves in X and Y on linear guides and the gantry moves in Z, so nothing about the bed moves during a print[1] | MSLA with tilt-release: the vat tilts to peel each layer rather than pulling straight up. Elegoo claims the mechanism cuts curing time by 25%. Single Z axis, Z precision 0.02 mm[2] |
| X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size) | Linear guide on the X axis[1] | Not documented |
| Y-axis guide type | Linear guide on the Y axis[1] | Not documented |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Four lead screws with four linear guide rods[6] | Not documented |
| Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?) | X/Y belts with knob-adjustable tensioners[1] | Not documented |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | "Silent Drive (All Axes)"; no driver part number published[6] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 30-300 mm/s, with 150 mm/s given by ELEGOO as the recommended speed - far below the 500-600 mm/s claimed for desktop machines, which is the honest consequence of moving a gantry this size[1][6] | Not documented |
| Recommended/typical print speed | 150 mm/s recommended printing speed (manufacturer figure)[6] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 5000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration, which is also the default - four times lower than the Centauri machines[6] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Dual-gear direct extruder with 2 fans[6] | Not documented |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Brass nozzle - and note the standard diameter here is 0.6 mm, not the 0.4 mm used across the rest of the ELEGOO range[6] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 100 C max heated bed temperature at 25 C ambient, across four independent 410 x 410 mm PEI magnetic high-temperature platforms[1] | Not documented |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Four independent 410 x 410 mm PEI magnetic platforms rather than one large plate[1] | Not documented |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Manual levelling combined with 100-point auto-levelling (the desktop ELEGOO machines use a 121-point mesh)[6][7] | Automatic levelling, plus intelligent mechanical sensor alarms[2] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament detection and power-loss resume printing[1] | Not documented |
| Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade path | Up to three additional printheads can be added on the X axis for four-nozzle simultaneous printing - four copies of one model at once, or the same model in four colours[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | "Klipper High-Speed Quiet Motherboard" is all ELEGOO publishes[6] | Not documented |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | Not documented | 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 6 A[2] |
| Total rated power draw | 1530 W with a single head, plus 100 W per additional head, to a stated maximum of 1830 W with four nozzles; 100-120 VAC / 220-240 VAC, 50/60 Hz[1][6] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Klipper[6] | Elegoo EL3D-4.0 system. Slicer is CHITUBOX[2] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 10.1-inch colour capacitive touch screen - by far the largest in the ELEGOO range[6] | 4-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[2] |
| On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.) | Colour capacitive touch UI; ElegooSlicer recommended, Orca and Cura supported[6] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, USB and LAN file transfer[1] | USB and Wi-Fi, with WLAN file transfer[2] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Not documented | AI camera, 1920 x 1080[2] |
| Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it? | Not documented | AI camera with print-failure detection[2] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | The product page lists PLA, PETG and TPU; ELEGOO's compare page adds Nylon to the same machine. Either way it is a much shorter list than the Neptune bed-slingers[1][6] | 405 nm photopolymer resin; the heated tank is aimed at high-viscosity and high-speed resins. No closed compatibility list published[2] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 12 months on brand-new machines and parts, but ELEGOO's own table excludes a long list of parts from that: PEI plate / build plate / nozzle kit / PTFE tube / heater / thermistor / hot end / packaging / manual / tools carry no warranty at all, and the extruder, extruder kit and printhead kit get 6 months. Certified pre-owned machines carry no warranty[8] | Not documented |
| Resin & MSLA | ||
| Masking LCD | Not documented | 10-inch 16K monochrome masking LCD, 15120 x 6230 px, XY pixel pitch 14 x 19 um (manufacturer specification)[2][3] |
| Light source | Not documented | COB light source with a Fresnel collimating lens[2] |
| Light uniformity & intensity | Not documented | Light energy at the plate quoted as 5 mW/cm2, i.e. 5000 uW/cm2 (manufacturer claim, attributed to the tilt-release and Fresnel optics). No uniformity percentage published and no independent measurement[2] |
| Vertical print speedmm/h | Not documented | Up to 150 mm/h (manufacturer claim). Elegoo does not state the layer height or resin type the figure assumes[2] |
| Release film | Not documented | PFA release film. No rated life published[2] |
| LCD life & replaceability | Not documented | Masking LCD shielded by tempered 9H protective glass. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state user replaceability[2] |
| Resin vat & feeding | Not documented | Replaceable resin vat with a dual pour spout and a drip guard. Heated tank with automatic temperature measurement: Elegoo states resin reaches 25 C in 26 minutes from a 5 C ambient at 50% humidity (manufacturer figure). Capacity not published; no auto-refill[2] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga product page (Specification table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K live Shopify product JSON us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO OrangeStorm Giga Shopify product JSON (price and store publish date) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO US store 3D printers collection (current line-up, Aug 2026) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO compare-products page, which embeds the full per-model specification JSON for every Neptune, Centauri and OrangeStorm machine us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO Centauri Carbon product page (full specification table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO Refund & Warranty policy (warranty period table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor