Printer comparison
ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs UniFormation GKtwo
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra comparisonsMore UniFormation GKtwo comparisons
| Property | ELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESIN | UniFormation GKtwoRESIN |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | ELEGOO | UniFormation |
| Class | RESIN | RESIN |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[1][2][3] | UniFormation GKtwo 10.3" 8K Resin Printer[4][5] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[3][2] | $749.99 on uniformation3d.com but marked Sold out, checked Aug 2026 (the page shows a compare-at price of $0.00, i.e. none set)[4] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[6][1][2][3] | UniFormation lists GKtwo variants by region and bundle (GKtwo ALL, GKtwo ALL UK) rather than by hardware, so the hardware specification is common; what changes is what ships in the box. Not to be confused with the earlier GKone[4] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[1] | 228 x 128 x 245 mm[4][5] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[1] | 350 x 315 x 455 mm[4][5] |
| Net weight (kg) | Approximately 8.8 kg[1] | 20 kg packaged (UniFormation publishes package weight, not net weight)[4][5] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[1] | Open-frame MSLA with a UV-blocking cover[4][5] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[1] | MSLA — photocuring LCD, single Z axis, straight-lift peel[4][5] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[1] | 110/220 V[4][5] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[1] | Not named. Slicers: CHITUBOX, the GKtwo slicer, and Lychee. File format STL[4][5] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1] | 5-inch touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[4][5] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | USB and Wi-Fi[1] | USB file transfer[4][5] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[1] | Not documented |
| Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it? | AI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[1] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | 405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[1] | 402.5-405 nm photopolymer resin. No closed compatibility list published[4][5] |
| Safety | ||
| Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values) | Overheating protection activates above 80 °C[1] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | Printing tolerance +/-0.1 mm for lengths up to 100 mm, +/-0.1% beyond — a manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement[4] |
| Resin & MSLA | ||
| Masking LCD | 7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[1][3] | 10.3-inch masking LCD, 7680 x 4320 px (8K), XY pixel pitch 29.6 um (manufacturer specification)[4][5] |
| Light source | 25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[1] | Photocuring LCD light engine at 402.5-405 nm. UniFormation does not publish the LED count or optical design on this page[4][5] |
| Light uniformity & intensity | 92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[1] | Not documented |
| Vertical print speedmm/h | 150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[1] | Not documented |
| Layer exposure times | 1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[1] | 2-3 s per layer at 0.05 mm layer height (manufacturer figure — one of the few makers here that states the layer height its exposure figure assumes). Sortable value is the midpoint[4][5] |
| Layer height range | Not documented | 0.03, 0.05 and 0.1 mm (three discrete settings, not a continuous range)[4][5] |
| LCD life & replaceability | Masking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[1] | Not documented |
| Resin vat & feeding | Resin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1] | Resin vat capacity 0.7 kg, with built-in resin heating: UniFormation quotes warming to 95 F (35 C) in 8 minutes from 50 F. No auto-refill and no level sensing published[4][5] |
| Fume extraction | Not documented | Built-in odour filter[4][5] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UniFormation GKtwo 10.3" 8K resin printer product page uniformation3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UniFormation GKtwo technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor