3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs Sovol SV08 Max

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs Sovol SV08 Max — documented properties and sources
PropertyELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESINSovol SV08 MaxCOREXY
Identity
BrandELEGOOSovol
ClassRESINCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[1][2][3]Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer[4][5]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[3][2]$1,099.00 on sovol3d.com against a $1,299.00 compare-at price (15% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026[4][5]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[6][1][2][3]Much larger sibling of the SV08. Differences that matter in a spec box: 500x500x500 vs 350x350x345, 50 vs 30 mm3/s, TMC5160 XY drivers vs TMC2209, CAN bus, HDMI output, dual 0.4 mm nozzles in the box, and a separately sold chamber-heating module. A chamber heating module for the SV08 Max is listed at $69[4][7][8][5]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[1]500 x 500 x 500 mm advertised[4][7]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[1]700 x 710 x 750 mm excluding the spool holder. Shipping cartons: 810 x 820 x 360 mm plus a 775 x 728 x 155 mm enclosure-kit box[4][7]
Net weight (kg)Approximately 8.8 kg[1]Not documented
Frame construction & materialNot documentedAluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame supplied as a kit; Sovol ships it in two cartons, one of which is an enclosure kit[4]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[1]Enclosure kit shipped with the machine (separate carton). A chamber-heating module is sold separately at $69[4][5]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[1]CoreXY[4][7]
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documentedZ axis 4 x TMC2209; A axis 1 x TMC5160; B axis 1 x TMC5160. Toolhead communication over CAN bus[4][7]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)Not documented700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[4][7]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)Not documented40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[4][7]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documented50 mm3/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[4][7]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedDirect drive with auxiliary (assisted) filament feeding[4][7]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Not documentedCeramic heater. Two 0.4 mm nozzles supplied as standard; 0.4/0.6/0.8 mm optional[4][7]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented<=300 °C claimed[4][7]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documented<=100 °C claimed[4][7]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[1]Not stated on the SV08 Max page; the SV08 family uses an inductive sensor plus pressure sensor[4]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Not documentedFilament runout detection plus filament tangle/clog detection. Sovol does not describe the tangle or clog mechanism[4][7]
Electronics & Power
Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded LinuxNot documented1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[4][7]
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[1]Klipper (3DJake's table renders it as "Clipper"). OrcaSlicer is the supported slicer[4][7]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB and Wi-Fi[1]USB, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, HDMI, Ethernet[4][7]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[1]Not documented
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?AI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[1]Not documented
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Not documentedPower-loss resume printing supported; mechanism not published[4][7]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament list405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[1]1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list on this page[4][7]
Safety
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Overheating protection activates above 80 °C[1]Not documented
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[1][3]Not documented
Light source25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[1]Not documented
Light uniformity & intensity92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[1]Not documented
Vertical print speedmm/h150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[1]Not documented
Layer exposure times1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[1]Not documented
LCD life & replaceabilityMasking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[1]Not documented
Resin vat & feedingResin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Sovol SV08 Max technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor