3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs QIDI Plus4

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs QIDI Plus4 — documented properties and sources
PropertyELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESINQIDI Plus4COREXY
Identity
BrandELEGOOQIDI
ClassRESINCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[1][2][3]QIDI Plus4, sold as "Plus4 3D Printer". QIDI's own wiki files it under X-Plus4[4][5]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Not documentedAnnounced September 2024; QIDI ran launch promotional pricing in the week of 20-27 September 2024 (secondary reporting, not a QIDI press release)[6]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[3][2]$649.00 on us.qidi3d.com for the Plus4 + 1 filament variant against a $799.00 compare-at price; $699.00 on qidi3d.com against $799.00. Checked Aug 2026[4][5]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[7][1][2][3]Two purchasable variants: Plus4 + Filament x1 at $649 and Plus4 Combo + Filament x1 at $799 (Combo adds the QIDI Box multi-material unit). Distinct from the older X-Plus 3 (280x280x270, 350 °C) and from the newer Plus5 (320x320x300)[5][4]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded at the top of the large-format line by the Plus5, launched 5 August 2026 with 18% more build volume; Plus4 still listed and in stock Aug 2026[8][9]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[1]305 x 305 x 280 mm advertised. No independently measured usable envelope found[4][6]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[1]505 x 487 x 550 mm[6]
Net weight (kg)Approximately 8.8 kg[1]32 kg gross (3DJake). QIDI does not publish a net weight on the product page[6]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedEnclosed CoreXY chassis with double-layer chamber insulation; QIDI does not publish a frame material breakdown[4]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[1]Fully enclosed, double-layer insulated chamber with second-generation active heating to 65 °C[4][6]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Not documented65 °C, actively heated by a 400 W heater which QIDI says reaches setpoint in about 8 minutes (manufacturer claim)[4][6]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[1]CoreXY[6]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashNot documentedDual independent Z motors on 10 mm linear shafts and screws[4]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)Not documented600 mm/s (manufacturer claim, tool-head maximum)[6]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)Not documented<=20,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[6]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedDirect drive with hardened steel dual gears, 1.75 mm filament[4][6]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Not documentedSecond-generation 80 W bimetal hotend with a multi-metal composite hardened-tip nozzle; 0.4 mm standard, 0.2/0.5/0.8 mm optional[4][6]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented<=370 °C claimed. No firmware max_temp verified for this model[4][6]
Heater cartridge power (W)Not documented80 W hotend heater (manufacturer figure)[4]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documentedConflicting manufacturer figures: QIDI's own Plus4 page states a 100 °C bed temperature, 3DJake's spec table states <=120 °C. Not resolved; the lower vendor-published figure is used as the sortable value[4][6]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documented6 mm aluminium-substrate heated bed with a double-sided textured PEI plate[4][6]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[1]Full-auto calibration; QIDI markets "hands-free automatic" levelling and does not name the probe technology on the product page[4][6]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Not documentedFilament run-out sensor, plus a filament cutter and filament tangle detection (tangle mechanism not described)[6]
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathNot documentedQIDI Box multi-material unit supported; sold bundled as the Plus4 Combo[4][5]
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designNot documentedAuxiliary part-cooling fan plus a chamber circulation fan; fan sizes and duct design not published[6]
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[1]100-240 VAC, 50/60 Hz[6]
Total rated power drawNot documented450 W plus 400 W for chamber heating (rated)[6]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[1]Klipper v0.12, described by QIDI as open source. Fork details and current release not published on the product page[4]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1]5-inch touchscreen, 800 x 480[4][6]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB and Wi-Fi[1]Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, Ethernet, USB[4][6]
Cloud service & phone app; LAN-only mode possible?Not documentedMobile and computer control, remote cloud or LAN-only operation[4]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[1]Built-in low-frame-rate camera, up to 1080p, timelapse supported[4][6]
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?AI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[1]Not documented
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printNot documentedQIDI claims about 10 minutes from unbox to printing[4]
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Not documentedPower-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[6]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament list405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[1]PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, PA-CF/GF, PET-CF/GF, PPA-CF/GF, PPS-CF and other CF/GF-filled polymers[4][6]
Safety
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Overheating protection activates above 80 °C[1]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Not documented1-year coverage, 14-day no-reason return, 30-day price protection[4]
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[1][3]Not documented
Light source25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[1]Not documented
Light uniformity & intensity92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[1]Not documented
Vertical print speedmm/h150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[1]Not documented
Layer exposure times1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[1]Not documented
LCD life & replaceabilityMasking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[1]Not documented
Resin vat & feedingResin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. QIDI Plus4 product page (global store) qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. QIDI Plus4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. QIDI Tech Plus4 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. QIDI Plus5 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. QIDI Plus5 launch write-up 3dprintbeginner.com · 2026-08 · review