3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs Markforged Onyx One

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs Markforged Onyx One — documented properties and sources
PropertyELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESINMarkforged Onyx OneINDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandELEGOOMarkforged
ClassRESININDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[1][2][3]Markforged Onyx One Desktop 3D Printer[4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[3][2]Not documented
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[5][1][2][3]The defining limitation: the Onyx One prints Onyx only and has NO continuous-fibre reinforcement. The Onyx Pro adds fibreglass, the Mark Two adds the full continuous-fibre range, and the X7 is a much larger industrial machine. Onyx One specifications must never be read from Mark Two or X-series material lists[4][6][7]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[1]12.6 x 5.2 x 6.1 in (approximately 320 x 132 x 155 mm)[4]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[1]Not documented
Net weight (kg)Approximately 8.8 kg[1]Not documented
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[1]Enclosed desktop cabinet[4]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedSingle extruder — plastic only, no fibre channel[4]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[1]Proprietary; slicing and print management run in Markforged's cloud-based Eiger software[4]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB and Wi-Fi[1]Not documented
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[1]Not documented
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?AI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament list405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[1]Onyx only — Markforged's nylon filled with chopped carbon fibre. Markforged claims parts 1.4x stronger than ABS and heat deflection to 293 °F (145 °C)[4]
Safety
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Overheating protection activates above 80 °C[1]Not documented
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[1][3]Not documented
Light source25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[1]Not documented
Light uniformity & intensity92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[1]Not documented
Vertical print speedmm/h150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[1]Not documented
Layer exposure times1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[1]Not documented
LCD life & replaceabilityMasking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[1]Not documented
Resin vat & feedingResin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Markforged Onyx One desktop composite 3D printer listing exbuild.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Markforged Mark Two (Gen 2) specification page aniwaa.com · 2026-08 · doc
  7. Markforged X7 (Gen 2) specification page aniwaa.com · 2026-08 · doc