3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs FlashForge Creator 4

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra vs FlashForge Creator 4 — documented properties and sources
PropertyELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESINFlashForge Creator 4IDEX
Identity
BrandELEGOOFlashForge
ClassRESINIDEX
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[1][2][3]Flashforge Creator 4, sold in A and S configurations (Creator 4A, Creator 4S)[4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[3][2]$10,999.00 at Top 3D Shop with a 2-3 week lead time, checked Aug 2026[4]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[5][1][2][3]Two factory configurations that share the chassis but not the temperature ceiling: Creator 4A ships 2 x HT extruders (320 °C max, no composite support), Creator 4S ships 1 x HT + 1 x HS (360 °C max, supports PA-CF, PA-GF, PP-CF, PPS-CF). A third extruder type, F, is rated 265 °C and intended for flexibles. Any published "360 °C" figure applies only to the HS head[4]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[1]400 x 350 x 500 mm[4]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[1]840 x 675 x 1000 mm (1050 mm on the stand). FlashForge specifies an installation space of at least 1400 x 1500 x 1600 mm[4]
Net weight (kg)Approximately 8.8 kg[1]90 kg net[4]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedFully enclosed professional chassis on a stand[4]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[1]Fully enclosed with HEPA 13 filtration and an actively controlled chamber[4]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Not documentedUp to 65 °C, actively controlled (manufacturer claim)[4]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[1]IDEX — two independently driven extruders on the same gantry[4]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)Not documented10-200 mm/s, adjustable per material. On the 4S the HS head is quoted 100-150 mm/s and the HT head 100-200 mm/s (manufacturer figures)[4]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedDirect drive, two independent extruders, interchangeable modules (F / HT / HS)[4]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documentedDepends on the fitted extruder module: F 265 °C, HT 320 °C, HS 360 °C[4]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm default; 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[4]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documented130 °C maximum (manufacturer claim)[4]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[1]Automatic bed levelling; FlashForge does not name the probe technology in this spec table[4]
Filament Handling & Detection
Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibilityNot documentedTwo spool bays, 1 kg and 2 kg capacity[4]
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[1]AC 100-130 V / 200-240 V, 50-60 Hz, 30 A overcurrent protection[4]
Total rated power drawNot documented2320 W rated[4]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[1]Not named; the supported slicer is FlashPrint[4]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1]7-inch touchscreen, 1024 x 600[4]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB and Wi-Fi[1]USB flash drive, Ethernet, Wi-Fi[4]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[1]Not documented
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?AI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament list405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[1]Standard and engineering plastics on the HT head; the HS head adds PA-CF, PA-GF, PP-CF and PPS-CF. Materials such as PC, PA and carbon fibre are the stated targets for the 130 °C bed[4]
Safety
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Overheating protection activates above 80 °C[1]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Not documented12 months on the printer, 3 months on extruder parts[4]
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[1][3]Not documented
Light source25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[1]Not documented
Light uniformity & intensity92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[1]Not documented
Vertical print speedmm/h150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[1]Not documented
Layer exposure times1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[1]Not documented
LCD life & replaceabilityMasking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[1]Not documented
Resin vat & feedingResin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Flashforge Creator 4 (A/S) product listing with full spec table top3dshop.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor