3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

ELEGOO Centauri 2 vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

ELEGOO Centauri 2 vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyELEGOO Centauri 2COREXYUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandELEGOOUltiMaker
ClassCOREXYINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)ELEGOO Centauri 2 (page title "Elegoo Centauri 2 | High-Speed CoreXY 3D Printer")[1]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Listed on the ELEGOO US store from 24 June 2026 (Shopify publish date)[3]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$279.00 on us.elegoo.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $299.00[3]Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Sold both bare and as a Centauri 2 Combo. The Combo is the one with multicolour: 4-colour CANVAS printing, RFID filament detection, auto refill and auto tangle detection are all listed Yes for the Combo and dash for the bare machine, and the Combo body measures 500 x 480 x 586 mm and 15.5 kg against 398 x 404 x 490 mm and 13.7 kg. Camera, LED lighting, air filter and the smart exhaust grille are optional expansions on both. Distinct from the Centauri Carbon line, which is enclosed and takes carbon-fibre filament[1][4]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][5][6]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][5][6]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable256 x 256 x 256 mm; printing platform 260 x 260 mm[1]330 x 240 x 300 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)398 x 404 x 490 mm for the bare Centauri 2 (the Combo is 500 x 480 x 586 mm)[1]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2]
Net weight (kg)13.7 kg net, 17.5 kg gross (bare machine; the Combo is 15.5 kg net, 19 kg gross)[1]20.6 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialRigid aluminium frame[1]Fully assembled professional chassis[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY with dual 4260 stepper motors driving X and Y independently[1]Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashThree lead screws with three linear guide rods[1]Not documented
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)"Silent Drive (All Axes)"; no driver part number published[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)500 mm/s or less, with 250 mm/s given as the recommended speed[1]Not documented
Recommended/typical print speed250 mm/s recommended printing speed (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration; default acceleration 10000 mm/s2[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDual-gear direct extruder with one fan[1]Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Brass-hardened steel nozzle, 0.4 mm, titanium-alloy heat break[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)350 C claimed max nozzle temperature - higher than the enclosed Centauri Carbon's 320 C, even though ELEGOO lists ABS, ASA, PET, PETG-CF, PA and PC as not recommended on this machine[1][4]180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit110 C max heated bed temperature at 25 C ambient[1]Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedDual-sided spring steel sheet, textured PEI plus a PLA-specific surface[1]Heated glass build plate[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)121-point auto-levelling plus partial bed levelling, with full-auto calibration[1]Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out sensor, clog detection, auto filament unloading, fan self-check, part-cooling-fan drop detection and power-loss recovery[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)"Powerful Self-Developed Motherboard" is all ELEGOO publishes[1]Not documented
Total rated power draw1100 W at 220 V, 350 W at 110 V rated; 24 V output; 100-240 VAC input[1]500 W maximum power output[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)ELEGOO OS; ElegooSlicer recommended, Orca and Cura supported[1]Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch colour capacitive touch screen - larger than the 4.3-inch panel on the Centauri Carbon[1][4]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Colour touch UI; input formats STL, OBJ, 3MF and STEP[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB and Wi-Fi[1]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)No camera as standard - listed as an optional expansion, as are LED lighting and the air filter[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listIdeal: PLA, PETG, PLA-CF, TPU. Explicitly not recommended: ABS/ABS-CF, ASA/ASA-CF, PET/PET-CF, PETG-CF, PA/PA-CF, PC[1]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)12 months on brand-new machines and parts, but ELEGOO's own table excludes a long list of parts from that: PEI plate / build plate / nozzle kit / PTFE tube / heater / thermistor / hot end / packaging / manual / tools carry no warranty at all, and the extruder, extruder kit and printhead kit get 6 months. Certified pre-owned machines carry no warranty[7]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedXYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. ELEGOO Centauri 2 product page (Centauri 2 Combo vs Centauri 2 side-by-side specification table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. ELEGOO Centauri 2 Shopify product JSON (price and store publish date) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. ELEGOO Centauri Carbon product page (full specification table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. ELEGOO Refund & Warranty policy (warranty period table) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor