3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Creality K2 vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Creality K2 vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyCreality K2COREXYUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandCrealityUltiMaker
ClassCOREXYINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Creality K2[1]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)Not documentedStarting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Smallest of three K2 machines that share a product page. K2: 260 mm cube, no chamber heating, 100 C bed, 300 C nozzle, 8 GB storage, one air filter, one auxiliary cooling fan, 720p camera, no RFID reader, no Ethernet. K2 Pro: 300 mm cube, 60 C chamber, 110 C bed, RFID, Ethernet, 32 GB. K2 Plus: 350 mm cube, 350 C nozzle, 120 C bed, 30000 mm/s2, dual air filters, auto belt tensioning, 1080p camera, dual-band Wi-Fi. A K2 SE also exists as a separate model[1]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][3][4]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][3][4]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable260 x 260 x 260 mm[1]330 x 240 x 300 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)404 x 436 x 545 mm[1]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2]
Net weight (kg)18.3 kg[1]20.6 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedFully assembled professional chassis[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidEnclosed, but with no chamber temperature control - Creality's table gives a max chamber temperature for the K2 Pro and K2 Plus and a dash for the K2. One air filter fitted[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY - Creality groups the K2 series with its CoreXY flagships and quotes 600 mm/s with step-servo motors on the X and Y axes[1]Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2]
Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?)Manual belt tensioning (the K2 Plus is auto-adjusted)[1]Not documented
Stepper motors (frame size, step angle, brand if known)Step-servo motors on the X and Y axes and the extruder (the K2 Plus adds them on Z)[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)600 mm/s max printing speed (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 max acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedDual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2]
Heater cartridge power (W)70 W rated hotend power[1]Not documented
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit100 C max heatbed temperature - the lowest in the K2 family[1]Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedHeated glass build plate[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Smart auto levelling fitted; unlike the K2 Pro and Plus there is no nozzle AI camera, so there is no automatic flow-rate calibration[1]Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2]
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designOne auxiliary cooling fan and one air filter[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Total rated power drawNot documented500 W maximum power output[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Creality OS, a Klipper derivative. Creality publishes the K2 firmware source as CrealityOfficial/K2_Series_Klipper on GitHub under GPL-3.0, last pushed March 2026[5][6][1]Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4-inch touchscreen[1]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touch UI with alarm sounds; no built-in RFID reader[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi 2.4 GHz, USB drive and a Creality 485 port; no Ethernet. 8 GB eMMC storage[1]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)One chamber camera, 720p at 30 fps[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, PETG, PET, ABS, PLA-CF - a shorter list than the K2 Pro and Plus, which add ASA, PA-CF and PPA-CF[1]Not documented
Safety
Thermal runaway protection (verify in firmware source if at all possible)Not verified directly. Creality publishes the K2-series firmware as CrealityOfficial/K2_Series_Klipper (GPL-3.0); upstream Klipper ships the verify_heater thermal-runaway check, but whether the stock configuration enables it was not checked here[5][6]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Creality's US store states "Up to 12-Month Warranty", a 14-day return and refund window and "Lifetime Customer Support" on its printer product pages. The "up to" wording means the term is not uniform across parts[7]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedXYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Creality K2 series product page, including the Compare K2 Series table (K2 / K2 Pro / K2 Plus) creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. GitHub API - CrealityOfficial/K2_Series_Klipper repository metadata (GPL-3.0, last push Mar 2026) api.github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  6. GitHub - CrealityOfficial organisation repositories (per-model firmware sources) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  7. Creality US store - K1 3D Printer product page (live price, warranty and returns banner) store.creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor