Printer comparison
Creality Ender-5 Max vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Creality Ender-5 Max comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | Creality Ender-5 MaxCOREXY | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Creality | UltiMaker |
| Class | COREXY | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Creality Ender-5 Max[1] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $749.00 on store.creality.com, Aug 2026[3] | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | A cube-frame CoreXY machine where the bed drops in Z - Creality itself calls the class "bed droppers". Do not read Ender-3 V3 figures across: this is a 400 mm cube at 700 mm/s claimed, on a different frame entirely. An optional enclosure is sold for engineering filaments[1] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][4][5] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][4][5] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 400 x 400 x 400 mm[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[2] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | Not documented | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2] |
| Net weight (kg) | Not documented | 20.6 kg[2] |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Fully assembled professional chassis[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame as sold; Creality offers an optional enclosure to raise ambient temperature for engineering filaments[1] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY on a rigid all-metal frame, with the bed moving in Z (Creality's own term is a "bed dropper")[1] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2] |
| X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size) | Precise linear rail on the X axis[1] | Not documented |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Z axis assisted by two linear rods[1] | Not documented |
| Stepper motors (frame size, step angle, brand if known) | 42-76 stepper motors on both the X and Y axes[1] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 700 mm/s max printing speed (Creality Lab claim, with Hyper Series filament recommended for quality at speed); the page also quotes 500 mm/s in the same block, so the two figures need care[1] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 20000 mm/s2 max acceleration (Creality Lab claim)[1] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct-drive extruder with dual tempered gears, which Creality says passed 500 hours of continuous-extrusion durability testing[1] | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[2] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | Not documented | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Not documented | Heated glass build plate[2] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | 64-point fully automatic bed levelling[1] | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | 500 W maximum power output[2] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not documented | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | Not documented | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | WLAN multi-printer management for print farms, with a tri-colour indicator light[1] | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | Creality's US store states "Up to 12-Month Warranty", a 14-day return and refund window and "Lifetime Customer Support" on its printer product pages. The "up to" wording means the term is not uniform across parts[6] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Creality Ender-5 Max product page creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Creality US store - Ender-5 Max 3D Printer product page (live price) store.creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Creality US store - K1 3D Printer product page (live price, warranty and returns banner) store.creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor