3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Creality Ender-3 V4 vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Creality Ender-3 V4 vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyCreality Ender-3 V4BEDSLINGERUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandCrealityUltiMaker
ClassBEDSLINGERINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Creality Ender-3 V4[1]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$369.00 for the Ender-3 V4 Combo on store.creality.com, Aug 2026 - the combo includes the CFS filament system, so this is not a bare-printer price[3]Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Sold as a combo with the CFS multi-material unit. Build volume is 220 x 220 x 235 mm, which is neither the SE/V3's 250 mm nor the KE's 240 mm Z height - three different Z heights across four Ender-3 V3/V4 machines. Several features (filament tangle detection, RFID filament identification) are conditional on the CFS being fitted[1][4][5]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][6][7]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][6][7]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable220 x 220 x 235 mm[1]330 x 240 x 300 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)396 x 359 x 456 mm for the printer alone; 838 x 396 x 456 mm for the combo with the CFS beside it - the combo needs more than twice the bench width[1]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2]
Net weight (kg)6.8 kg (printer net weight)[1]20.6 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedFully assembled professional chassis[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Not documentedDual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)500 mm/s max printing speed (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)12000 mm/s2 max acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDual-gear direct-drive extruder[1]Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit100 C max heatbed temperature[1]Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedHeated glass build plate[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Not documentedAutomatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Power-loss recovery, automatic filament relay and filament tangle detection (tangle detection only with the CFS fitted)[1]Not documented
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathCFS compatible - RFID filament identification and multi-filament printing with the Creality Filament System[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Total rated power drawRated power 900 W; input 100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz[1]500 W maximum power output[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not documentedNot published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?2.8-inch colour touchscreen[1]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Colour touch UI; input shaping and a lighting kit are listed as standard[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB drive, Wi-Fi and Creality Cloud file transfer[1]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listHyper-PLA, PLA, PETG, TPU 95A, ABS, ASA, PLA-CF, PA-CF[1]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Creality's US store states "Up to 12-Month Warranty", a 14-day return and refund window and "Lifetime Customer Support" on its printer product pages. The "up to" wording means the term is not uniform across parts[8]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedXYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Creality Ender-3 V4 product page (full specification table) creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Creality US store - Ender-3 V4 Combo 3D Printer product page (live price) store.creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Creality Ender-3 V3 product page (full specification table) creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Tom's Hardware - Creality Ender 3 V3 KE Review (spec box and Speed Boat Rules Benchy time) tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  6. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Creality US store - K1 3D Printer product page (live price, warranty and returns banner) store.creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor