3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Creality Ender-3 V3 vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Creality Ender-3 V3 vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyCreality Ender-3 V3BEDSLINGERUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandCrealityUltiMaker
ClassBEDSLINGERINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Creality Ender-3 V3, marketed as a CoreXZ machine[1]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$239.00 on store.creality.com, Aug 2026 (listed as "Ender-3 V3 CoreXZ 3D Printer")[3]Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Do not confuse with the Ender-3 V3 SE or KE, which are cheaper and slower and use a conventional bed-slinger gantry - only the V3 and V3 Plus use CoreXZ. The V3 Plus is the same idea scaled to 300 x 300 x 330 mm. Creality's own spec table gives the V3 a 110 C bed, where the SE, KE, V4 and K1 series stop at 100 C[1][4][5]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][6][7]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][6][7]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable220 x 220 x 250 mm[1]330 x 240 x 300 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)358 x 374 x 498 mm[1]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2]
Net weight (kg)7.83 kg net (Creality); Tom's Hardware rounds it to 7.8 kg[1][8]20.6 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedFully assembled professional chassis[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXZ kinematics - the X and Z axes are coupled and driven together, with the bed still moving in Y[1]Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)600 mm/s max printing speed (manufacturer claim; Creality Lab states the typical speed is 300 mm/s)[1][4]Not documented
Recommended/typical print speed300 mm/s typical printing speed (Creality Lab figure quoted on the sibling V3 Plus page for the same CoreXZ platform)[4]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 max acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNew high-speed direct-drive extruder[1]Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Quick-swap nozzle with a hardened steel tip integrated with the heatbreak (Creality's "unicorn" nozzle), replaced as a unit[1][8]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit110 C max heatbed temperature - higher than the rest of the Ender-3 V3 family[1]Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedPEI flexible build plate, removable spring steel[1]Heated glass build plate[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Auto levelling with automatic Z offset (Creality states auto levelling; Tom's Hardware records "Automatic + Z")[1][8]Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out sensor fitted[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)32-bit mainboard (Creality does not name the board or MCU)[1]Not documented
Total rated power drawRated power 350 W; input 100-120 V / 200-240 V, 50/60 Hz[1]500 W maximum power output[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Creality Print slicing ecosystem; input shaping with an included G-sensor accelerometer. Creality does not name the firmware base on the V3 page (the sibling KE page states Creality OS is Klipper-based)[1][9]Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.3-inch HD colour touchscreen[1]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Colour touch UI; power-loss recovery; file transfer from USB drive, WLAN or Creality Cloud[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi; USB drive, WLAN and Creality Cloud file transfer[1]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera optional, not fitted as standard[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, TPU, PETG, ABS, PLA-CF, PETG-CF and Creality CR-carbon[1]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Creality's US store states "Up to 12-Month Warranty", a 14-day return and refund window and "Lifetime Customer Support" on its printer product pages. The "up to" wording means the term is not uniform across parts[10]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedXYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2]
Benchmark print times (source + settings)Benchy in 14 minutes 54 seconds under Speed Boat Rules in ordinary grey PLA - independently measured by Tom's Hardware[8]Not documented
Review scores from major outlets (list outlet + score + date)Tom's Hardware rating 4.5 out of 5 in the page's structured data[8]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Creality Ender-3 V3 product page (full specification table) creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Creality US store - Ender-3 V3 CoreXZ 3D Printer product page (live price) store.creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Creality Ender-3 V3 Plus product page creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Creality Ender-3 V4 product page (full specification table) creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Tom's Hardware - Creality Ender 3 V3 Review (spec box and Speed Boat Rules Benchy time) tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  9. Creality Ender-3 V3 KE product page creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  10. Creality US store - K1 3D Printer product page (live price, warranty and returns banner) store.creality.com · 2026-08 · vendor