3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Bambu Lab X2D vs Sovol SV08

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Bambu Lab X2D vs Sovol SV08 — documented properties and sources
PropertyBambu Lab X2DCOREXYSovol SV08COREXY
Identity
BrandBambu LabSovol
ClassCOREXYCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Bambu Lab X2D; spec PDF header "X2D Spec"[1]Sovol SV08 3D Printer[2][3]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)From $649.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026; the compare page shows the same $649 figure[4]$549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[2][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Dual-nozzle machine: a main hotend with a permanent-magnet synchronous extruder motor and an auxiliary hotend with a plain stepper motor, so the two nozzles are not equivalent. Bambu publishes four different build volumes depending on which nozzle is used, and a shorter list of materials for the auxiliary nozzle. Physical dimensions (392x406x478 mm) are shared with the P2S but the X2D is 16.25 kg against the P2S's 14.9 kg[1][5]Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[3][6][7][2]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Current model, launched into the slot vacated by the discontinued X1-Carbon[4]Not documented
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usableMain nozzle 256 x 256 x 260 mm; auxiliary nozzle 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; dual-nozzle printing 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; total volume for two nozzles 256 x 256 x 260 mm. The sortable figure below is the main-nozzle volume[1]350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[2][7]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)392 x 406 x 478 mm[1]550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[2][7]
Net weight (kg)16.25 kg net[1]21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[7]
Frame construction & materialPlastic and steel chassis; plastic, glass and metal outer frame[1]Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFully enclosed with a door sensor, active chamber heating to 65 C, and a G3 + H12 HEPA + granulated coconut-shell carbon filter stack with an external exhaust fan[1]Open frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[2][6]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Active chamber heating, maximum 65 C (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY - not stated in the spec sheet; Bambu groups the X2D with its enclosed CoreXY machines and publishes the same 20000 mm/s2 acceleration figure[1]CoreXY[2]
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documentedTMC2209[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)1000 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[1]700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][7]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][7]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)40 mm3/s, measured by Bambu on a 250 mm round single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[1]<=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[2][7]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameTwo direct-drive extruders: main extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a Bambu high-precision permanent-magnet synchronous motor, auxiliary extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a stepper motor[1]Planetary-gear direct-drive extruder[2][7]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Dual hardened-steel nozzles; 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported; built-in filament cutter[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]<=300 °C claimed[2][7]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit120 C max heatbed temperature[1]<=100 °C claimed[2][7]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedFlexible steel plate, Textured PEI included; Smooth PEI, Cool Plate SuperTack and Engineering Plate supported[1]Powder-coated PEI steel plate[2][7]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Not documentedInductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[2][7][3]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Yes - run-out sensor, tangle sensor and door sensor; odometry with AMS[1]Filament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[2][7]
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designPart-cooling fan, hotend cooling fan, main control board fan, chamber heat-circulation fan, auxiliary part-cooling fan and external exhaust fan, all closed-loop controlled[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Motion controller dual-core Cortex-M4 plus single-core Cortex-M7; application processor quad-core ARM with a dedicated NPU (2 TOPS per the compare page)[1][8]Not documented
Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded LinuxNot documentedAllwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[2][7]
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)Not documentedConflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[2][7]
Total rated power drawHigh-voltage version 1600 W at 220 V, low-voltage version 1100 W at 110 V; steady state 250 W printing PLA and 550 W printing PC at 25 C ambient[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[9]Klipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[2][7]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch 1280x720 touchscreen[1]Not documented
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveDual-band Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n), built-in 8 GB eMMC and a USB port; Ethernet not available, no network kill switch, no 802.1X[1]Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[2][7]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Two cameras: live-view 1920x1080 and a toolhead camera at 1600x1200[1]Camera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[2][7]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listMain hotend: PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, TPU, support materials, PET, PA, PC, PVA and carbon/glass-fibre reinforced PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, PA6, PAHT, PPA, PET. Auxiliary hotend drops PPA-CF/GF and excludes PLA Aero; PLA Silk, PETG-CF, ASA-CF, PA6-CF, TPU for AMS and PA/PET support material are flagged "print with caution" on the auxiliary nozzle[1]PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[10]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Bambu Lab X2D Spec (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  2. Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Bambu Lab P2S Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  6. Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  10. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor