3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Bambu Lab X2D vs FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Bambu Lab X2D vs FlashForge Guider 3 Ultra — documented properties and sources
PropertyBambu Lab X2DCOREXYFlashForge Guider 3 UltraINDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandBambu LabFlashForge
ClassCOREXYINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Bambu Lab X2D; spec PDF header "X2D Spec"[1]Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra; the FlashForge spec table gives the machine name as "Guider 3 Ultra"[2]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)From $649.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026; the compare page shows the same $649 figure[3]$2,399.00 against a $3,499.00 regular price on flashforge.com, but the listing checked is the refurbished SKU and is marked Sold out (Aug 2026)[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Dual-nozzle machine: a main hotend with a permanent-magnet synchronous extruder motor and an auxiliary hotend with a plain stepper motor, so the two nozzles are not equivalent. Bambu publishes four different build volumes depending on which nozzle is used, and a shorter list of materials for the auxiliary nozzle. Physical dimensions (392x406x478 mm) are shared with the P2S but the X2D is 16.25 kg against the P2S's 14.9 kg[1][4]Top of the Guider 3 series. Build size depends on which head is used: 330 x 330 x 600 mm with one extruder, 300 x 330 x 600 mm with both. Siblings Guider 3 (300x250x340) and Guider 3 Plus (350x350x600) are both single-extruder. A refurbished SKU exists alongside the new machine, so check which one a price refers to[2][5][6]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Current model, launched into the slot vacated by the discontinued X1-Carbon[3]Not documented
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usableMain nozzle 256 x 256 x 260 mm; auxiliary nozzle 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; dual-nozzle printing 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; total volume for two nozzles 256 x 256 x 260 mm. The sortable figure below is the main-nozzle volume[1]330 x 330 x 600 mm with a single extruder; 300 x 330 x 600 mm when both extruders are in use[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)392 x 406 x 478 mm[1]635 x 550 x 1070 mm; packaging 775 x 690 x 1235 mm[2]
Net weight (kg)16.25 kg net[1]70 kg net, 86 kg gross[2]
Frame construction & materialPlastic and steel chassis; plastic, glass and metal outer frame[1]Enclosed professional chassis; FlashForge describes a lightweight, stable structure for high-speed operation[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFully enclosed with a door sensor, active chamber heating to 65 C, and a G3 + H12 HEPA + granulated coconut-shell carbon filter stack with an external exhaust fan[1]Closed design with an air filter fitted[2]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Active chamber heating, maximum 65 C (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY - not stated in the spec sheet; Bambu groups the X2D with its enclosed CoreXY machines and publishes the same 20000 mm/s2 acceleration figure[1]CoreXY with two extruders, per a third-party buyer's guide. FlashForge's own spec table does not state the kinematics[7][2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)1000 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[1]10-500 mm/s printing speed, 500 mm/s maximum travel speed (manufacturer figures)[2]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)40 mm3/s, measured by Bambu on a 250 mm round single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[1]Not documented
Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping
Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary)Not documentedActive vibration compensation, which FlashForge says was enhanced for this model. Implementation not named[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameTwo direct-drive extruders: main extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a Bambu high-precision permanent-magnet synchronous motor, auxiliary extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a stepper motor[1]Two extruders[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Dual hardened-steel nozzles; 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported; built-in filament cutter[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]350 °C maximum extruder temperature (manufacturer claim)[2]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm default; 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit120 C max heatbed temperature[1]120 °C bed setting supported (manufacturer figure)[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedFlexible steel plate, Textured PEI included; Smooth PEI, Cool Plate SuperTack and Engineering Plate supported[1]Replaceable flexible steel-plate platform, magnetic. No glass bed[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Not documentedFull-auto one-click levelling; probe technology not named[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Yes - run-out sensor, tangle sensor and door sensor; odometry with AMS[1]Filament run-out reminder[2]
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designPart-cooling fan, hotend cooling fan, main control board fan, chamber heat-circulation fan, auxiliary part-cooling fan and external exhaust fan, all closed-loop controlled[1]Not documented
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Not documentedAir filter fitted; filter media not specified in the FlashForge table[2]
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Motion controller dual-core Cortex-M4 plus single-core Cortex-M7; application processor quad-core ARM with a dedicated NPU (2 TOPS per the compare page)[1][8]Not documented
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)Not documentedAC 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz[2]
Total rated power drawHigh-voltage version 1600 W at 220 V, low-voltage version 1100 W at 110 V; steady state 250 W printing PLA and 550 W printing PC at 25 C ambient[1]850 W maximum[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[9]Not named; slicers are Orca-Flashforge and FlashPrint 5, with OrcaSlicer listed as compatible[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch 1280x720 touchscreen[1]7-inch touch LCD[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveDual-band Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n), built-in 8 GB eMMC and a USB port; Ethernet not available, no network kill switch, no 802.1X[1]USB, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, plus cloud[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Two cameras: live-view 1920x1080 and a toolhead camera at 1600x1200[1]Remote camera monitoring and time-lapse video supported; resolution not published[2]
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Not documentedPower-loss recovery supported; mechanism not published. Automatic shutdown also supported[2]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listMain hotend: PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, TPU, support materials, PET, PA, PC, PVA and carbon/glass-fibre reinforced PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, PA6, PAHT, PPA, PET. Auxiliary hotend drops PPA-CF/GF and excludes PLA Aero; PLA Silk, PETG-CF, ASA-CF, PA6-CF, TPU for AMS and PA/PET support material are flagged "print with caution" on the auxiliary nozzle[1]PLA, ABS, HIPS, ASA, PETG, CoPA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, PAHT-CF, PAHT-GF, PET-CF, PET-GF, PA12-CF, PA-CF, PA-GF, NexPA-CF25[2]
Safety
Certifications (UL/ETL/CE/FCC — verify, don't assume)Not documentedCE, FCC, RoHS (as printed in FlashForge's own spec table)[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[10]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Bambu Lab X2D Spec (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  2. Flashforge Guider 3 Ultra product page (refurbished listing) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Bambu Lab P2S Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  5. FlashForge Guider 3 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. FlashForge Guider 3 Plus technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review
  8. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  10. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor