3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Bambu Lab X1-Carbon vs ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Bambu Lab X1-Carbon vs ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra — documented properties and sources
PropertyBambu Lab X1-CarbonCOREXYELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESIN
Identity
BrandBambu LabELEGOO
ClassCOREXYRESIN
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Bambu Lab X1-Carbon (X1C); spec PDF header "Bambu Lab X1-Carbon - Technical Specifications"[1]ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[2][3][4]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Announced 23 May 2022; Kickstarter pre-orders opened 31 May 2022 and ran to 30 June 2022, with shipment stated to start immediately after the campaign closed in July 2022[5]Not documented
Launch MSRP (USD)$1199 MSRP for the X1-Carbon, $1449 for the X1-Carbon Combo (with AMS); Kickstarter early-bird was $849 / $999. The non-carbon X1 was $999 MSRP[5]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)Not documented$269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[4][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Three related SKUs at launch: X1 (steel nozzle, no carbon rails, $999), X1-Carbon ($1199) and X1-Carbon Combo (X1C + AMS, $1449). The X1E is a separate business-focused machine, not a trim level: it adds active chamber heating to 60 C, Ethernet with 802.1X, a HEPA/carbon filter stack, a 320 C hot end and a Smooth PEI plate, and weighs 16 kg against the X1C's 14.13 kg[5][6][1]Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[7][2][3][4]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Discontinued. In Aug 2026 the X1-Carbon is absent from the Bambu Lab US store 3D-printer collection, /products/x1-carbon redirects to that collection, and the regional stores (EU, Asia, AU, CA) redirect to the same place; only X1-series spare parts remain in the store sitemap. Its market slot is now held by the X2D. No live first-party price could be recorded[8]Not documented
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable256 x 256 x 256 mm advertised (manufacturer figure)[1]153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)389 x 389 x 457 mm[1]260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[2]
Net weight (kg)14.13 kg net[1]Approximately 8.8 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialWelded steel chassis with an aluminium and glass shell - Bambu's launch release contrasts the welded chassis with the bolted frames of most consumer machines[1][5]Not documented
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFully enclosed, aluminium and glass, with a door sensor and an activated-carbon air filter. No active chamber heating (that is the X1E's addition)[1][6]Open-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY driven by two stepper motors with one belt each; Tom's Hardware confirms the XY gantry is fixed in Z and the platform drops during printing[9][10]MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[2]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Carbon-fibre X rail - Bambu's launch release calls it a "featherlight full-carbon X rail" and credits it for the 20000 mm/s2 acceleration figure; Tom's Hardware describes carbon-fibre rails on the X axis[5][10]Not documented
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashThree leadscrews driven from a single stepper motor through a belt, moving the whole bed in Z; three manual levelling knobs under the bed, no motorised Z-tilt[9][10]Not documented
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not published; no teardown source found that names the driver part[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)500 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20 m/s2 = 20000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)32 mm3/s claimed, measured by Bambu on a 150x150 mm single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive with hardened-steel extruder gears; the service part is the "Hardened Steel Extruder Unit (X1 series)"[1]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)All-metal all-in-one hotend - nozzle integrated into the heatblock, joined to the heatsink by a thin metal tube, replaced as a unit. Hardened-steel nozzle as standard, 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.6/0.8 mm optional[1][9]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max hot-end temperature[1]Not documented
Heater cartridge power (W)Not published. Bambu's own X1-series troubleshooting page states the ceramic heater measures about 12 ohm at room temperature, which at the 24 V rail works out to roughly 48 W - a derived figure, not a manufacturer rating[11]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit110 C at 220 V, 120 C at 110 V max build-plate temperature (Bambu's spec sheet gives both; the wiki text quotes 110 C)[1][9]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedFlexible steel plate; Cool Plate and Engineering Plate included, High Temperature Plate optional[1]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Nozzle-touch probing on three ceramic force (piezo) sensors under the heatbed, plus a separate toolhead micro-lidar (advertised 7 um resolution) used for first-layer inspection and flow calibration rather than for bed mesh[12][10][1]Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Yes - filament run-out sensor and door sensor; filament odometry only with an AMS fitted[1]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designPart-cooling fan, hot-end fan, control-board fan, chamber temperature regulator fan and auxiliary part-cooling fan, all closed-loop controlled[1]Not documented
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)Chamber temperature regulator fan plus an activated-carbon filter[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Motion controller dual-core Cortex-M4; application processor quad ARM A7 at 1.2 GHz with a 2 TOPS NPU; 4 GB eMMC. Board model and chip markings not published[1]Not documented
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)Not documented100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[2]
Total rated power draw100-240 VAC 50-60 Hz; 1000 W at 220 V, 350 W at 110 V[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[13]Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch 1280x720 touchscreen[1]4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen plus Bambu Handy app and Bambu Studio; on-device job control and monitoring[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi 2.4 GHz (802.11 b/g/n) and Bambu-Bus; 4 GB eMMC plus a microSD card reader. No Ethernet - that is the X1E's addition[1][6]USB and Wi-Fi[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Built-in 1920x1080 chamber monitoring camera[1]AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[2]
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?Not documentedAI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[2]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, PETG, TPU, ABS, ASA, PET supported; PA and PC listed Ideal; carbon/glass-fibre reinforced polymers listed Ideal (the machine ships with a hardened-steel nozzle)[1]405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[2]
Safety
Thermal runaway protection (verify in firmware source if at all possible)A firmware over-temperature protection exists and is documented by Bambu: HMS_0300-0200-0001-0003 is raised when the heater runs at full power but fails to bring the nozzle to target within time, which Bambu describes as "a safety mechanism designed to prevent potential damage to the device or other risks in case of a temperature control failure". Firmware is closed-source, so the exact thresholds cannot be verified[11][13]Not documented
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Not documentedOverheating protection activates above 80 °C[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[14]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Review scores from major outlets (list outlet + score + date)Tom's Hardware: Editor's Choice, rating 4.5 out of 5 in the page's structured data (12 February 2024)[10]Not documented
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCDNot documented7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[2][4]
Light sourceNot documented25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[2]
Light uniformity & intensityNot documented92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[2]
Vertical print speedmm/hNot documented150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[2]
Layer exposure timesNot documented1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[2]
LCD life & replaceabilityNot documentedMasking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[2]
Resin vat & feedingNot documentedResin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Bambu Lab X1-Carbon - Technical Specifications (PDF) public-cdn.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · doc
  2. Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. PRNewswire - Bambu Lab Launches X1 Series, 23 May 2022 (Kickstarter dates and MSRP table) prnewswire.com · 2026-08 · doc
  6. Bambu Lab X1E Technical Specification (PDF) cdn1.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · doc
  7. Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. Bambu Lab Wiki - X1 introduction wiki.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · doc
  10. Tom's Hardware - Bambu Lab X1-Carbon 3D Printer review, Andrew Sink, 12 February 2024 tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  11. Bambu Lab Wiki - HMS_0300-0200-0001-0003: nozzle heater over-temperature (X1 series) wiki.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · doc
  12. Bambu Lab Wiki - Replace the Heatbed Sensor Unit / Heatbed Piezo Interface Board wiki.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · doc
  13. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  14. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor