3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Bambu Lab A2L vs Voron 0.2

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Bambu Lab A2L vs Voron 0.2 — documented properties and sources
PropertyBambu Lab A2LBEDSLINGERVoron 0.2COREXY
Identity
BrandBambu LabVoron Design
ClassBEDSLINGERCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Bambu Lab A2L[1]Voron 0.2, current revision R1. Sold under kit vendors' names: "Voron V0.2-S1 (R1) 3D Printer Kit by LDO & HoneyBadger", "Voron 0.2 R1 Latest Version CoreXY 3D Printer Kit" (Formbot)[2][3]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Pre-orders opened 1 June 2026 (Tom's Hardware spec box); Tom's Hardware review published 27 June 2026[4]Not documented
Launch MSRP (USD)$469 standalone, $569 Combo at launch[4]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)From $469.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026[5]There is no single price: Voron is an open design and kits come from several vendors. Formbot's kit is $328.06 (was $349.00, 6% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026. The LDO & HoneyBadger V0.2-S1 kit is $639.99 but sold out. Neither figure includes printed parts unless the option is selected[2][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Standalone and Combo (with AMS lite) SKUs, and an optional cutting/drawing module (blade cutter and pen plotter, 300x300 mm cutting area) that is a separate attachment, not a printer variant. Do not carry A1 or A1 mini figures across: the A2L is a different, much larger machine at 12.8 kg[1][4]Two things get conflated. First, revision: R1 is the current one, adding a filament-runout sensor, MR85 bearings and fastener changes. Second, kit vendor: the LDO/HoneyBadger S1 kit ships an SKR Pico, E3D Revo, HoneyBadger dual-sided PEI/CF bed and 200 W supply, while the Formbot kit ships a TZ V6 or Dragon hotend and a 150 W supply, so hotend and PSU specs are vendor-specific, not model-specific. Printed parts are an extra on both[2][3]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable330 x 320 x 325 mm (manufacturer figure)[1]120 x 120 x 120 mm[2][3]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)544 x 529 x 505 mm[1]Not documented
Net weight (kg)12.8 kg net[1]Not documented
Frame construction & materialAluminium and steel chassis with a plastic outer frame; Tom's Hardware describes a triangular gantry frame the base drops into[1]Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame with acrylic panels (LDO kit); the LDO/HoneyBadger build uses a 100 mm top hat. X axis on a genuine HIWIN rail, Y and Z on HoneyBadger stainless rails[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[1]Enclosed by acrylic panels in the LDO kit[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Cartesian bed-slinger - Tom's Hardware's assembly description has the heatbed bolting to a Y-carriage inside the gantry frame[4]CoreXY with the build plate moving in Z[2][3]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Not documentedGenuine HIWIN linear rail on X in the LDO kit[2]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashNot published in the spec sheet; no teardown source found that documents the Z drive[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)500 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim)[1]250 mm/s max print speed, 300 mm/s max travel (Formbot kit listing). This is a kit-vendor figure, not a Voron Design specification[3]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)10 m/s2 = 10000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)28 mm3/s claimed, measured by Bambu on a 150 mm round single-wall model in Bambu PLA Basic at 220 C - note this test uses PLA, unlike the ABS-based figures Bambu quotes for its enclosed machines, so it is not directly comparable[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive with a servo extruder motor and hardened-steel extruder gears; built-in filament cutter[1]Direct drive in a Mini Stealthburner toolhead with a picobilical board and umbilical cable (LDO kit)[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Stainless-steel nozzle; 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported. Bambu's A2L sheet does not state whether the hotend is all-metal[1]Kit-dependent: E3D Revo (Voron edition) in the LDO kit; TZ V6, Dragon standard-flow or Dragon high-flow in the Formbot kit[2][3]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]300 °C on the Formbot kit listing. The LDO kit's E3D Revo has its own limit, not stated on the listing[3]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit80 C max heatbed temperature[1]110 °C (Formbot kit listing)[3]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedTextured PEI plate included; Engineering Plate and Cool Plate SuperTack also supported[1]HoneyBadger dual-sided P-series plate in the LDO kit: smooth black PEI on one face, carbon fibre on the other, on a Kirigami mount with an edge-to-edge polyimide film heater[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic bed levelling with automatic Z: Tom's Hardware confirms the nozzle is used as the probe and the machine can re-check level before each print[4]Not documented
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Yes - run-out sensor, filament odometry, tangle sensor and clumping detection[1]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designPart-cooling fan and hotend cooling fan, both closed-loop controlled. No auxiliary part-cooling fan and no chamber fan[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Not documentedKit-dependent. LDO kit: SKR Pico (LDO Edition) with a Raspberry Pi 4B as host[2]
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)Not documented200 W (LDO kit) or 150 W (Formbot kit)[2][3]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[6]Klipper[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?3.5-inch 240x320 touchscreen[1]Not documented
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only (802.11 b/g/n), Bambu-Bus, microSD card. Ethernet not available[1]Not documented
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Built-in low-frame-rate camera, up to 1080p, timelapse supported[1]Not documented
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printNot documentedSelf-assembly kit. Printed parts are not included in the LDO kit (sourced separately, e.g. through Voron's Print It Forward); the Formbot kit offers them as an option[2][3]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listSuitable: PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA. PLA-CF and PETG-CF suitable only after fitting a hardened-steel nozzle. ABS, ASA, PA, PC and PET are listed as not recommended on the compare page[1][7]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[8]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Review scores from major outlets (list outlet + score + date)Tom's Hardware: Editor's Choice, rating 4.5 out of 5 in the page's structured data (27 June 2026)[4]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Bambu Lab A2L Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  2. Voron V0.2-S1 (R1) kit by LDO & HoneyBadger fabreeko.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Voron 0.2 R1 CoreXY kit (Formbot) formbot3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Tom's Hardware - Bambu Lab A2L 3D printer review, 27 June 2026 tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  5. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  7. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor