3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Bambu Lab A2L vs Markforged Mark Two

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Bambu Lab A2L vs Markforged Mark Two — documented properties and sources
PropertyBambu Lab A2LBEDSLINGERMarkforged Mark TwoINDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandBambu LabMarkforged
ClassBEDSLINGERINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Bambu Lab A2L[1]Markforged Mark Two, current generation listed as Gen 2[2][3]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Pre-orders opened 1 June 2026 (Tom's Hardware spec box); Tom's Hardware review published 27 June 2026[4]Gen 2 dated 2024[2]
Launch MSRP (USD)$469 standalone, $569 Combo at launch[4]From $20,000 (approximately EUR 20,000)[2]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)From $469.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026[5]Not documented
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Standalone and Combo (with AMS lite) SKUs, and an optional cutting/drawing module (blade cutter and pen plotter, 300x300 mm cutting area) that is a separate attachment, not a printer variant. Do not carry A1 or A1 mini figures across: the A2L is a different, much larger machine at 12.8 kg[1][4]A no-WiFi Gen 2 variant is sold alongside the standard Gen 2 at the same list price; connectivity is therefore not implied by the model name. Sits between the Onyx Pro (fibreglass only) and the X7 (much larger, 330 x 270 x 200 mm). Pricing note: No live USD listing found. CAD Micro lists the Mark Two (Gen 2) at CA$22,386.00, and separately a Gen 2 no-WiFi variant at the same CA$22,386.00, checked Aug 2026 — Canadian dollars, not USD[3][6][7]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable330 x 320 x 325 mm (manufacturer figure)[1]6.5 L (Aniwaa's figure). Exact XYZ not stated on the sources checked[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)544 x 529 x 505 mm[1]584 x 330 x 355 mm[2]
Net weight (kg)12.8 kg net[1]16 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialAluminium and steel chassis with a plastic outer frame; Tom's Hardware describes a triangular gantry frame the base drops into[1]Not documented
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[1]Enclosed desktop cabinet[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Cartesian bed-slinger - Tom's Hardware's assembly description has the heatbed bolting to a Y-carriage inside the gantry frame[4]Continuous fibre deposition combined with fused filament fabrication[2]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashNot published in the spec sheet; no teardown source found that documents the Z drive[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)500 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)10 m/s2 = 10000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)28 mm3/s claimed, measured by Bambu on a 150 mm round single-wall model in Bambu PLA Basic at 220 C - note this test uses PLA, unlike the ABS-based figures Bambu quotes for its enclosed machines, so it is not directly comparable[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive with a servo extruder motor and hardened-steel extruder gears; built-in filament cutter[1]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Stainless-steel nozzle; 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported. Bambu's A2L sheet does not state whether the hotend is all-metal[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1]Not documented
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documentedLayer thickness down to 0.1 mm in Z[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit80 C max heatbed temperature[1]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedTextured PEI plate included; Engineering Plate and Cool Plate SuperTack also supported[1]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic bed levelling with automatic Z: Tom's Hardware confirms the nozzle is used as the probe and the machine can re-check level before each print[4]Not documented
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Yes - run-out sensor, filament odometry, tangle sensor and clumping detection[1]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designPart-cooling fan and hotend cooling fan, both closed-loop controlled. No auxiliary part-cooling fan and no chamber fan[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[8]Not documented
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?3.5-inch 240x320 touchscreen[1]Not documented
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only (802.11 b/g/n), Bambu-Bus, microSD card. Ethernet not available[1]Not documented
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Built-in low-frame-rate camera, up to 1080p, timelapse supported[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listSuitable: PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA. PLA-CF and PETG-CF suitable only after fitting a hardened-steel nozzle. ABS, ASA, PA, PC and PET are listed as not recommended on the compare page[1][9]Composites with carbon, glass and Kevlar-reinforced polymers; elastomers (TPU); thermoplastics including PLA and polyamides[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[10]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Review scores from major outlets (list outlet + score + date)Tom's Hardware: Editor's Choice, rating 4.5 out of 5 in the page's structured data (27 June 2026)[4]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Bambu Lab A2L Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  2. Markforged Mark Two (Gen 2) specification page aniwaa.com · 2026-08 · doc
  3. Markforged 3D printer collection (live prices, CAD) shop.cadmicro.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Tom's Hardware - Bambu Lab A2L 3D printer review, 27 June 2026 tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  5. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Markforged X7 (Gen 2) specification page aniwaa.com · 2026-08 · doc
  7. Markforged Onyx One desktop composite 3D printer listing exbuild.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  9. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  10. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor