3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Bambu Lab A1 vs ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Bambu Lab A1 vs ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra — documented properties and sources
PropertyBambu Lab A1BEDSLINGERELEGOO Mars 5 UltraRESIN
Identity
BrandBambu LabELEGOO
ClassBEDSLINGERRESIN
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Bambu Lab A1. Store title: "Bambu Lab A1 3D Printer"; spec page header "Bambu Lab A1 - Technical Specifications"[1]ELEGOO Mars 5 Ultra. Elegoo's product handle is mars-5-ultra-9k-7inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[2][3][4]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Announced and first shipped in the northern autumn/winter of 2023. Bambu Lab's own recall notice states A1 units were supplied from 1 December 2023; Tom's Hardware published its A1 review on 14 December 2023, so retail units were in reviewers' hands by then[5][6]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)From $299.00 (base A1) on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026, during an advertised Back-to-School sale; the A1 product page shows $399.00 with the A1 Combo (A1 + AMS lite) swatch selected[7][8]$269.00 in Elegoo's live US product feed, in stock, checked Aug 2026. The Mars 5 Series collection page rendered $259.00 against a $338.00 compare-at price on the same day, so the two Elegoo surfaces disagree by $10[4][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Two SKUs on one product page: A1 (printer only) and A1 Combo (adds the AMS lite four-spool unit); the printer hardware is identical. Do NOT confuse with the A1 mini (180 mm cube, single Z leadscrew, 80 C bed, 2.4-in screen) or the newer A2L (330x320x325 mm). Contamination example found in the wild: Tom's Hardware's A1 review spec box prints a 2.4-inch screen and a 385x410x430 mm footprint (both A1 mini figures) and titles a section "Included in the box: Bambu Lab A1 Mini", while Bambu's own A1 spec sheet says 3.5-inch screen and 465x410x430 mm[1][6][8]Not a trim of the Mars 5 — a different imaging stack and a different release mechanism: 7-inch 9K LCD and 18 um pixels vs 6.6-inch 4K and 35 um, 150 vs 70 mm/h, tilt-release vs straight lift, an AI camera, and Wi-Fi added. Seven bundle SKUs pair it with Mercury Plus V2.0/V3.0 or Mercury XS at $363-$432[9][2][3][4]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Still sold new in Aug 2026 alongside the newer and larger A2L ($469 base), which Bambu positions as the mega-size A-series machine[7][10]Not documented
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable256 x 256 x 256 mm (manufacturer figure)[1]153.36 x 77.76 x 165 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)465 x 410 x 430 mm per Bambu's own tech-spec sheet. Tom's Hardware's spec box prints 385 x 410 x 430 mm for the same machine - that is the A1 mini's width, treat Bambu's figure as authoritative. Add clearance behind for Y-axis bed travel and above for the spool[1][6]260 x 268 x 451.5 mm[2]
Net weight (kg)8.3 kg net[1]Approximately 8.8 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialSteel plus extruded aluminium chassis; Bambu markets all-metal rails and a cover-protected drive system[1][11]Not documented
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure or door; no official enclosure is sold for the A1[1]Open-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Cartesian bed-slinger: toolhead moves in X on the gantry beam, heatbed moves in Y, gantry moves in Z. Bambu's own wiki calls it a Cartesian coordinate motion system; Bambu's marketing page describes it as a "Bed Slinger with CoreXY Speed", which is a comparison, not a kinematic claim[12][11]MSLA with tilt-release: the resin tank tilts after each layer to peel the part rather than pulling straight up. Single Z axis[2]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Linear rail: "a high-precision linear rail and a beam", toolhead on a linear guide slider (Bambu wiki). Rail size not published[12]Not documented
Y-axis guide typeLinear rail: heatbed mounted on a guide-rail slider, belt-driven in Y[12]Not documented
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashDual linear rods plus dual leadscrews with nuts, both leadscrews driven from one stepper through a synchronous belt with a quick tensioner and a tension-detection algorithm[12]Not documented
Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?)Three adjustable belt tensioners (X, Y, Z); a Belt Tension Monitor watches tension and reports out-of-range belts[12]Not documented
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not published. Bambu's wiki says only that the mainboard "incorporates stepper motor drivers"; no driver part number is given and no teardown source was found that names one[12]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)500 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)10000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim). Tom's Hardware notes the moving-bed mass is why the A1 does not reach the P1S/X1 20000 mm/s2 figure[1][6]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)28 mm3/s claimed, measured by Bambu on a 150x150 mm single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive, hardened-steel extruder gears, integrated in the toolhead with a filament cutter and filament hub[1][12]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)All-metal integrated hotend (nozzle and heatsink combined in one unit) with a quick-swap clip - Bambu markets it as popping in and out with one clip. Stainless-steel nozzle, 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.6/0.8 mm optional[1][11][12]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C claimed max hot-end temperature; firmware limit not published[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit100 C max build-plate temperature (both the spec sheet and the wiki give 100 C)[1][12]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedTextured PEI plate included; Bambu Cool Plate, High Temperature Plate and Dual-Texture PEI Plate also compatible[1]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Nozzle-touch probing: the hotend carries an eddy-current sensor that detects nozzle-to-bed contact, giving both automatic bed mesh and automatic Z-offset with no paper method. The same eddy-current sensor doubles as the Y-axis resonance sensor[12][6]Automatic levelling, one click, via an intelligent mechanical sensor. One-Click Self-Check routine. Alarms for resin shortage, residue detection and levelling failure[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Yes - filament run-out sensor, plus filament odometry and a filament-tangle sensor. The tangle sensor is a Hall sensor reading a magnet in the toolhead filament hub: excessive feed resistance pulls the hub down, moving the magnet toward the sensor[1][12]Not documented
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathOptional AMS lite (four spools, sold in the A1 Combo); connecting the enclosed-printer AMS / AMS 2 Pro / AMS HT to an A1 additionally requires an AMS HUB accessory (SA013)[8]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designOne custom 5015 centrifugal part-cooling fan with two opposing air outlets aimed at the nozzle; closed-loop (RPM-feedback) control[1][12]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Single mainboard carrying a low-power dual-core SoC (with Wi-Fi and Bluetooth basebands and RF), a dual-core MCU and a single-core MCU, plus the stepper drivers. Bambu's spec sheet names the motion controller as a dual-core Cortex-M4. Exact chip markings not published[1]Not documented
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)Not documented100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[2]
Total rated power draw100-240 VAC 50/60 Hz; max power 1300 W at 220 V, 350 W at 110 V. Bed heater wattage is not published separately[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[13]Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicer is CHITUBOX[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?3.5-inch 320x240 IPS touchscreen[1]4.0-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen UI plus Bambu Handy mobile app and Bambu Studio PC application; Bambu describes the on-device UI as a simplified guided touchscreen system[1][11]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi 2.4 GHz only (IEEE 802.11 b/g/n, 2412-2472 MHz), Bambu-Bus for the AMS lite, microSD card slot. No Ethernet, no USB host port[1]USB and Wi-Fi[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Built-in low-rate monitoring camera, up to 1080p, timelapse supported; Bambu's marketing calls out a physical lens cover. Frame rate is not stated for the A1 (the P1 series camera is specified at 0.5 fps)[1][11]AI camera fitted; Elegoo does not publish its resolution for this model[2]
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?Not documentedAI camera detects empty build plates and print errors[2]
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printAbout 95% pre-assembled; a handful of screws attach the gantry to the base, then the filament wiper and spool holder[6]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listIdeal: PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA. Not recommended: ABS, ASA, PC, PA, PET, carbon/glass-fibre reinforced polymers - the machine is open-frame and the bed stops at 100 C[1]405 nm photopolymer resin. No compatibility list published on this listing[2]
Safety
Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values)Not documentedOverheating protection activates above 80 °C[2]
Known safety incidents / recalls / fire reports (with sources)Recalled in the US in cooperation with the CPSC: A1 units sold before 30 January 2024 (serial numbers with 'A' as the sixth digit) could suffer heatbed cable damage leading to a short circuit, electric shock or fire. 19 reports of damaged cables, one with observed sparking, no injuries. Remedy was refund plus $80 voucher, or heatbed+cable replacement by a trained technician plus $120 voucher. Current production ships a Kevlar-reinforced heatbed cable with thicker insulation and extended strain relief[5][8]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Manufacturer claim only: bambulab.com states "Silent Mode Under 48 dB" with active motor noise cancelling; the US store page for both the A1 and the A1 mini carries identical copy claiming "49dB Whisper-Quiet Operation". No microphone-based independent measurement with a stated distance was found; Tom's Hardware only says it is "much more quiet than the current crop of speed freak machines"[11][8][6]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[14]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Review scores from major outlets (list outlet + score + date)Tom's Hardware: Editor's Choice, rating 4.5 out of 5 in the page's structured data (14 December 2023)[6]Not documented
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCDNot documented7-inch 9K monochrome masking LCD, 8520 x 4320 px, XY pixel pitch 18 x 18 um (manufacturer specification)[2][4]
Light sourceNot documented25-LED COB light source emitting a 405 nm UV beam (manufacturer specification)[2]
Light uniformity & intensityNot documented92% light uniformity claimed by Elegoo. No intensity figure published, and no independent measurement[2]
Vertical print speedmm/hNot documented150 mm/h maximum, which Elegoo attributes to the tilt-release mechanism (manufacturer claim). Elegoo also offers switchable slow and fast print modes but does not state the layer height the figure assumes[2]
Layer exposure timesNot documented1.5-3 s layer cure time (manufacturer figure; layer height not stated). Sortable value is the midpoint[2]
LCD life & replaceabilityNot documentedMasking LCD protected by a scratch-resistant tempered 9H glass cover that also guards against resin leakage. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state whether the user can replace the LCD[2]
Resin vat & feedingNot documentedResin tank supplied with the machine; resin-shortage and residue-detection alarms fitted. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Bambu Lab A1 - Technical Specifications bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Bambu Lab - Bambu Lab Recalls A1 3D Printers in the US bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Tom's Hardware - Bambu Lab A1 Review, Denise Bertacchi, 14 December 2023 tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  7. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Bambu Lab A1 store page (A1 / A1 Combo variants) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  10. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  11. Bambu Lab A1 product page bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  12. Bambu Lab Wiki - A1 introduction wiki.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · doc
  13. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  14. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor