3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Anycubic Vyper vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Anycubic Vyper vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyAnycubic VyperBEDSLINGERUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandAnycubicUltiMaker
ClassBEDSLINGERINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Anycubic Vyper[1]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Listed on the Anycubic store from 22 May 2021 (Shopify publish date)[1]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$359.00 on store.anycubic.com, Aug 2026, with the compare-at price also $359.00 (no discount running) - notably more than the newer and much faster Kobra 2 at $169[1][3]Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)A 2021-generation machine still on sale next to the far faster Kobra line. Its defining differences from every Kobra here: a Bowden extruder rather than direct drive, a 180 mm/s ceiling rather than 300-600 mm/s, and 16-point levelling rather than LeviQ 2.0/3.0. Do not read Kobra performance figures onto it[1][3][4]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][5][6]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Effectively superseded by the Kobra line, but still listed for sale on the Anycubic store in Aug 2026[1]Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][5][6]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable260 x 245 x 245 mm stated as HWD, i.e. 245 x 245 x 260 mm in the usual X x Y x Z order; Anycubic quotes a 15.6 L build volume[1]330 x 240 x 300 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)516 x 508 x 457 mm stated as HWD, so the desk footprint is about 508 x 457 mm[1]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2]
Net weight (kg)10 kg[1]20.6 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedFully assembled professional chassis[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Cartesian bed-slinger[1]Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2]
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)TMC2209 silent drivers on a 32-bit mainboard with a Cortex-M3 class main control chip - one of the few Anycubic machines where the driver part number is published[1]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)180 mm/s maximum print speed with 80 mm/s recommended (manufacturer figures)[1]Not documented
Recommended/typical print speed80 mm/s typical/recommended print speed (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameAnycubic's own Bowden extruder - not direct drive[1]Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)260 C operational nozzle temperature ceiling[1]180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit110 C operational hot bed temperature ceiling[1]Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedPEI-coated stainless spring steel magnetic flexible platform, chosen by Anycubic over carborundum glass to avoid arching[1]Heated glass build plate[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)16-point automatic levelling[1]Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2]
Electronics & Power
Total rated power draw100-240 V AC 50/60 Hz input; 24 V / 14.6 A (350 W) output[1]500 W maximum power output[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not documentedNot published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.3-inch LCD touch-control screen[1]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveTransFlash (microSD) card; USB cable connection is flagged by Anycubic as being for expert users only[1]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2]
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printModular design with 4 major pre-assembled modules[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, ABS, PETG, TPU and wood-filled filament[1]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)One year on the complete machine (excluding gifted and second-hand machines), with component warranty periods that vary by part; the period starts on the delivery date and is suspended while a replacement is in transit. Anycubic states it will follow longer local statutory periods where they apply[7]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedXYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Anycubic Vyper store page and Shopify product JSON (Tech Specs block, price, store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Anycubic Kobra 2 store page and Shopify product JSON (Tech Specs block, price, store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Anycubic Kobra 4 product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Anycubic refund and warranty policy store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor