Printer comparison
Anycubic Photon P1 Max vs Sovol SV08
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Anycubic Photon P1 Max comparisonsMore Sovol SV08 comparisons
| Property | Anycubic Photon P1 MaxRESIN | Sovol SV08COREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Anycubic | Sovol |
| Class | RESIN | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Anycubic Photon P1 Max[1] | Sovol SV08 3D Printer[2][3] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $959 advertised single-unit sale/from price; $999 compare-at, not launch MSRP. Global USD storefront, Other plug/no resin selected; US price, availability, shipping and tax require checkout. Checked 2026-10-17.[1] | $549.00 on sovol3d.com against a $599.00 compare-at price, in stock, checked Aug 2026 (Canada warehouse quoted as shipping end of September)[2][3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Not documented | Sibling SV08 Max is a much larger 500x500x500 machine at $1,099 with a 50 mm3/s flow rate, TMC5160 XY drivers and CAN bus; the SV08 is 30 mm3/s with TMC2209s. Do not carry SV08 Max figures onto the SV08. An eddy-current scanning kit and a 5-inch touchscreen are sold as separate upgrades[3][4][5][2] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 285.5 × 214 × 300 mm (X × Y × Z), advertised 18.3 L; usable volume not independently measured.[1] | 350 x 350 x 345 mm advertised[2][5] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 430 × 414 × 625 mm, manufacturer dimensions; external clearance not specified.[1] | 550 x 537 x 575 mm. Sovol's page says this includes screen and filament holder; 3DJake says it excludes the spool holder[2][5] |
| Net weight (kg) | 23.1 kg (manufacturer specification)[1] | 21.5 kg gross (3DJake). Sovol does not publish a net weight[5] |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame; Sovol states the design is inspired by the Voron 2.4 and that software, firmware and hardware are open source with design files on GitHub, with $2 per unit donated to the Voron project[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Not documented | Open frame as shipped; Sovol sells an enclosure kit separately (an enclosure-kit package is listed for the SV08 Max)[2][4] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Not documented | CoreXY[2] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Dual linear guide rails and ball lead screws (manufacturer specification)[1] | Not documented |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | Not documented | TMC2209[2] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | Not documented | 700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][5] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | Not documented | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][5] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | <=30 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[2][5] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Not documented | Planetary-gear direct-drive extruder[2][5] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | Not documented | <=300 °C claimed[2][5] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm included; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[2] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | <=100 °C claimed[2][5] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Precision-ground steel build platform[1] | Powder-coated PEI steel plate[2][5] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Leveling-Free 3.0 with feedback and pre-print self-check (manufacturer claim)[1] | Inductive sensor plus a pressure (load) sensor. An eddy-current scanning kit is sold as an upgrade[2][5][3] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Not documented | Filament sensor fitted, with filament-runout resume; type and location not published[2][5] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Not documented | Allwinner H616 quad-core Cortex-A53, 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[2][5] |
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | 296 W power supply (manufacturer specification; not measured consumption)[1] | Conflicting: Sovol's spec table says 150 W / 24 V, while 3DJake's table gives a rated power of 1000 W at both 110 V and 220 V. The two are only reconcilable if the bed is mains-heated separately from the 24 V logic supply, which Sovol does not state[2][5] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not documented | Klipper. Sovol publishes the design files on GitHub and describes software, firmware and hardware as fully open source[2][5] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.5-inch resistive touchscreen[1] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi and Ethernet; manufacturer advertises LAN isolation mode.[1] | Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 explicitly not supported)[2][5] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Not documented | Camera listed as fitted by Sovol; 3DJake lists a camera as an accessory. Resolution not published[2][5] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | Manufacturer lists all Anycubic resins; compatibility with other brands not verified.[1] | PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS and others[2] |
| Resin & MSLA | ||
| Masking LCD | 14-inch monochrome 12K masking LCD; 24.8 × 24.8 µm XY pixel pitch (manufacturer specification)[1] | Not documented |
| Light source | COB + Fresnel + mask light source[1] | Not documented |
| Light uniformity & intensity | ≥4000 µW/cm² intensity and 92% uniformity (manufacturer claims)[1] | Not documented |
| Vertical print speedmm/h | 15–25 mm/h at 0.05 mm layers with standard resin (manufacturer claim; not independently measured).[1] | Not documented |
| Layer height range | 0.02–0.15 mm layer height[1] | Not documented |
| Release film | NFEP release film; store separately describes its Wave Release system.[1] | Not documented |
| Resin vat & feeding | 1.9 L vat with dynamic temperature control; auto-fill unit not supported.[1] | Not documented |
| Fume extraction | Optional AirPure 2.0 accessory; filtration efficacy not independently verified.[1] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Anycubic Photon P1 Max official store: single-unit price and specifications Anycubic · 2026-10-17 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor