Printer comparison
Anycubic Photon Mono M7 Max vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Anycubic Photon Mono M7 Max comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | Anycubic Photon Mono M7 MaxRESIN | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Anycubic | UltiMaker |
| Class | RESIN | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Anycubic Photon Mono M7 Max[1] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $749 advertised base sale/from price; $899 compare-at, not launch MSRP. Global USD storefront, Other plug/no resin selected; US price, availability, shipping and tax require checkout. Checked 2026-10-17.[1] | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Not documented | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][3][4] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][3][4] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 298 × 164 × 300 mm (X × Y × Z), advertised 14.7 L; usable volume not independently measured.[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[2] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | Not documented | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2] |
| Net weight (kg) | 24 kg (manufacturer specification)[1] | 20.6 kg[2] |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Fully assembled professional chassis[2] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Not documented | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Dual linear Z rails; manufacturer states 10 µm precision.[1] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Not documented | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[2] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | Not documented | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Laser-engraved aluminium build plate[1] | Heated glass build plate[2] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Four-point manual leveling[1] | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage) | 180 W power supply (manufacturer specification; not measured consumption)[1] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | 500 W maximum power output[2] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not documented | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.3-inch touchscreen[1] | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | USB and Wi-Fi; store still labels LAN as scheduled, so availability is unverified.[1] | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2] |
| Resin & MSLA | ||
| Masking LCD | 13.6-inch monochrome 7K masking LCD, 46 × 46 µm XY pixel pitch (manufacturer specification)[1] | Not documented |
| Light source | COB + Fresnel lens + light-uniformity algorithm[1] | Not documented |
| Light uniformity & intensity | 4500 ±10% µW/cm² (manufacturer specification)[1] | Not documented |
| Vertical print speedmm/h | Standard resin: ≤31 mm/h at 0.05 mm layers; ≤63 mm/h at 0.1 mm. High-speed resin: ≤86 mm/h at 0.1 mm. Manufacturer table also labels ≤63 mm/h as maximum; headline figures differ. No independent measurement added.[1] | Not documented |
| Layer height range | 0.01–0.15 mm layer height[1] | Not documented |
| Release film | Improved ACF film (manufacturer description)[1] | Not documented |
| Resin vat & feeding | ≤1.3 L vat, dynamic resin temperature control and auto-fill/recycling support (manufacturer specifications).[1] | Not documented |
| Fume extraction | Optional air purifier; filtration efficacy not independently verified.[1] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Anycubic Photon Mono M7 Max official store: base price and specifications Anycubic · 2026-10-17 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor