Printer comparison
Anycubic Kobra X vs Sovol SV08 Max
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Anycubic Kobra X comparisonsMore Sovol SV08 Max comparisons
| Property | Anycubic Kobra XBEDSLINGER | Sovol SV08 MaxCOREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Anycubic | Sovol |
| Class | BEDSLINGER | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Anycubic Kobra X (store variant title "Kobra X (4 Colors)")[1] | Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer[2][3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Listed on the Anycubic store from 25 December 2025 (Shopify publish date)[4] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $299.00 with a US plug on store.anycubic.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $399.00 ($344.00 for the EU plug variant). The collection page headline reads "Kobra X - Price from $289"[4][5] | $1,099.00 on sovol3d.com against a $1,299.00 compare-at price (15% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026[2][3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Same 260 mm cube and the same machine dimensions as the Kobra 4 (455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm) - the difference is that the Kobra X has native 4-colour printing built in, expandable to 19 colours, where the Kobra 4 needs an ACE 2 Pro for any multicolour at all. The Kobra X also takes a wider filament list (adds PVA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, ASA) but still needs an ACE 2 Pro for active drying[1][6] | Much larger sibling of the SV08. Differences that matter in a spec box: 500x500x500 vs 350x350x345, 50 vs 30 mm3/s, TMC5160 XY drivers vs TMC2209, CAN bus, HDMI output, dual 0.4 mm nozzles in the box, and a separately sold chamber-heating module. A chamber heating module for the SV08 Max is listed at $69[2][7][8][3] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 260 x 260 x 260 mm[1] | 500 x 500 x 500 mm advertised[2][7] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm for the printer; the ACE 2 Pro, if added, is a separate 368 x 291.5 x 236.5 mm unit[1] | 700 x 710 x 750 mm excluding the spool holder. Shipping cartons: 810 x 820 x 360 mm plus a 775 x 728 x 155 mm enclosure-kit box[2][7] |
| Net weight (kg) | About 9.5 kg for the printer (Anycubic's own figure is approximate); packaged 13.2 kg bare or 18 kg as the Combo[1] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame supplied as a kit; Sovol ships it in two cartons, one of which is an enclosure kit[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame, no enclosure[1] | Enclosure kit shipped with the machine (separate carton). A chamber-heating module is sold separately at $69[2][3] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Anycubic does not state a construction type for the Kobra X, but its dimensions, price and feature set match the gantry/bed-slinger Kobra 4 rather than the CoreXY S1 series[1][6] | CoreXY[2][7] |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | Not documented | Z axis 4 x TMC2209; A axis 1 x TMC5160; B axis 1 x TMC5160. Toolhead communication over CAN bus[2][7] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 600 mm/s maximum print speed (manufacturer claim), 300 mm/s recommended[1] | 700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][7] |
| Recommended/typical print speed | 300 mm/s recommended print speed (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 20000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration, 10000 mm/s2 recommended[1] | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][7] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | 50 mm3/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][7] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive ("short distance extrusion")[1] | Direct drive with auxiliary (assisted) filament feeding[2][7] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Hardened-steel nozzle, 0.4 mm standard, expandable to 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm[1] | Ceramic heater. Two 0.4 mm nozzles supplied as standard; 0.4/0.6/0.8 mm optional[2][7] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 C maximum nozzle temperature[1] | <=300 °C claimed[2][7] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 100 C maximum hotbed temperature on a PEI spring steel build plate[1] | <=100 °C claimed[2][7] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | LeviQ 3.0 auto-levelling with Z-offset and area levelling[1] | Not stated on the SV08 Max page; the SV08 family uses an inductive sensor plus pressure sensor[2] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament detection with auto resume, entanglement detection and power-loss resume[1] | Filament runout detection plus filament tangle/clog detection. Sovol does not describe the tangle or clog mechanism[2][7] |
| Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade path | Native 4-colour printing built in, expandable to 19 colours; active drying still needs a separate ACE 2 Pro[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Not documented | 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[2][7] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Kobra OS with pressure advance and flow calibration supported[1] | Klipper (3DJake's table renders it as "Clipper"). OrcaSlicer is the supported slicer[2][7] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.) | Control from the printer, the slicing software, the Anycubic app and USB (print only); AI spaghetti detection and object skip supported[1] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Printer UI, slicing software, Anycubic app and USB drive (print only)[1] | USB, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, HDMI, Ethernet[2][7] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Standard HD camera fitted, 720p[1] | Not documented |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Not documented | Power-loss resume printing supported; mechanism not published[2][7] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, ASA[1] | 1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list on this page[2][7] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | 48 dB or less - a manufacturer figure with no mode, distance or method stated[1] | Not documented |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | One year on the complete machine (excluding gifted and second-hand machines), with component warranty periods that vary by part; the period starts on the delivery date and is suspended while a replacement is in transit. Anycubic states it will follow longer local statutory periods where they apply[9] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Anycubic Kobra X product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic Kobra X Shopify product JSON (variant prices and store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic store 3D printers collection (current line-up and headline prices, Aug 2026) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic Kobra 4 product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 Max technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic refund and warranty policy store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor