Printer comparison
Anycubic Kobra X vs Bambu Lab X2D
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Anycubic Kobra X comparisonsMore Bambu Lab X2D comparisons
| Property | Anycubic Kobra XBEDSLINGER | Bambu Lab X2DCOREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Anycubic | Bambu Lab |
| Class | BEDSLINGER | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Anycubic Kobra X (store variant title "Kobra X (4 Colors)")[1] | Bambu Lab X2D; spec PDF header "X2D Spec"[2] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Listed on the Anycubic store from 25 December 2025 (Shopify publish date)[3] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $299.00 with a US plug on store.anycubic.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $399.00 ($344.00 for the EU plug variant). The collection page headline reads "Kobra X - Price from $289"[3][4] | From $649.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026; the compare page shows the same $649 figure[5] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Same 260 mm cube and the same machine dimensions as the Kobra 4 (455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm) - the difference is that the Kobra X has native 4-colour printing built in, expandable to 19 colours, where the Kobra 4 needs an ACE 2 Pro for any multicolour at all. The Kobra X also takes a wider filament list (adds PVA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, ASA) but still needs an ACE 2 Pro for active drying[1][6] | Dual-nozzle machine: a main hotend with a permanent-magnet synchronous extruder motor and an auxiliary hotend with a plain stepper motor, so the two nozzles are not equivalent. Bambu publishes four different build volumes depending on which nozzle is used, and a shorter list of materials for the auxiliary nozzle. Physical dimensions (392x406x478 mm) are shared with the P2S but the X2D is 16.25 kg against the P2S's 14.9 kg[2][7] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Current model, launched into the slot vacated by the discontinued X1-Carbon[5] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 260 x 260 x 260 mm[1] | Main nozzle 256 x 256 x 260 mm; auxiliary nozzle 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; dual-nozzle printing 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; total volume for two nozzles 256 x 256 x 260 mm. The sortable figure below is the main-nozzle volume[2] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm for the printer; the ACE 2 Pro, if added, is a separate 368 x 291.5 x 236.5 mm unit[1] | 392 x 406 x 478 mm[2] |
| Net weight (kg) | About 9.5 kg for the printer (Anycubic's own figure is approximate); packaged 13.2 kg bare or 18 kg as the Combo[1] | 16.25 kg net[2] |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Plastic and steel chassis; plastic, glass and metal outer frame[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame, no enclosure[1] | Fully enclosed with a door sensor, active chamber heating to 65 C, and a G3 + H12 HEPA + granulated coconut-shell carbon filter stack with an external exhaust fan[2] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Not documented | Active chamber heating, maximum 65 C (manufacturer figure)[2] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Anycubic does not state a construction type for the Kobra X, but its dimensions, price and feature set match the gantry/bed-slinger Kobra 4 rather than the CoreXY S1 series[1][6] | CoreXY - not stated in the spec sheet; Bambu groups the X2D with its enclosed CoreXY machines and publishes the same 20000 mm/s2 acceleration figure[2] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 600 mm/s maximum print speed (manufacturer claim), 300 mm/s recommended[1] | 1000 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[2] |
| Recommended/typical print speed | 300 mm/s recommended print speed (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 20000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration, 10000 mm/s2 recommended[1] | 20000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[2] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | 40 mm3/s, measured by Bambu on a 250 mm round single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[2] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive ("short distance extrusion")[1] | Two direct-drive extruders: main extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a Bambu high-precision permanent-magnet synchronous motor, auxiliary extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a stepper motor[2] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Hardened-steel nozzle, 0.4 mm standard, expandable to 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm[1] | Dual hardened-steel nozzles; 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported; built-in filament cutter[2] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 C maximum nozzle temperature[1] | 300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[2] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 100 C maximum hotbed temperature on a PEI spring steel build plate[1] | 120 C max heatbed temperature[2] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Not documented | Flexible steel plate, Textured PEI included; Smooth PEI, Cool Plate SuperTack and Engineering Plate supported[2] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | LeviQ 3.0 auto-levelling with Z-offset and area levelling[1] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament detection with auto resume, entanglement detection and power-loss resume[1] | Yes - run-out sensor, tangle sensor and door sensor; odometry with AMS[2] |
| Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade path | Native 4-colour printing built in, expandable to 19 colours; active drying still needs a separate ACE 2 Pro[1] | Not documented |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design | Not documented | Part-cooling fan, hotend cooling fan, main control board fan, chamber heat-circulation fan, auxiliary part-cooling fan and external exhaust fan, all closed-loop controlled[2] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | Not documented | Motion controller dual-core Cortex-M4 plus single-core Cortex-M7; application processor quad-core ARM with a dedicated NPU (2 TOPS per the compare page)[2][8] |
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | High-voltage version 1600 W at 220 V, low-voltage version 1100 W at 110 V; steady state 250 W printing PLA and 550 W printing PC at 25 C ambient[2] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Kobra OS with pressure advance and flow calibration supported[1] | Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[9] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | Not documented | 5-inch 1280x720 touchscreen[2] |
| On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.) | Control from the printer, the slicing software, the Anycubic app and USB (print only); AI spaghetti detection and object skip supported[1] | Touchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[2] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Printer UI, slicing software, Anycubic app and USB drive (print only)[1] | Dual-band Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n), built-in 8 GB eMMC and a USB port; Ethernet not available, no network kill switch, no 802.1X[2] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Standard HD camera fitted, 720p[1] | Two cameras: live-view 1920x1080 and a toolhead camera at 1600x1200[2] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, ASA[1] | Main hotend: PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, TPU, support materials, PET, PA, PC, PVA and carbon/glass-fibre reinforced PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, PA6, PAHT, PPA, PET. Auxiliary hotend drops PPA-CF/GF and excludes PLA Aero; PLA Silk, PETG-CF, ASA-CF, PA6-CF, TPU for AMS and PA/PET support material are flagged "print with caution" on the auxiliary nozzle[2] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | 48 dB or less - a manufacturer figure with no mode, distance or method stated[1] | Not documented |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | One year on the complete machine (excluding gifted and second-hand machines), with component warranty periods that vary by part; the period starts on the delivery date and is suspended while a replacement is in transit. Anycubic states it will follow longer local statutory periods where they apply[10] | 2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[11] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Anycubic Kobra X product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Bambu Lab X2D Spec (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
- Anycubic Kobra X Shopify product JSON (variant prices and store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic store 3D printers collection (current line-up and headline prices, Aug 2026) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic Kobra 4 product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Bambu Lab P2S Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
- Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
- Anycubic refund and warranty policy store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor