3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Anycubic Kobra X vs Bambu Lab A2L

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Anycubic Kobra X vs Bambu Lab A2L — documented properties and sources
PropertyAnycubic Kobra XBEDSLINGERBambu Lab A2LBEDSLINGER
Identity
BrandAnycubicBambu Lab
ClassBEDSLINGERBEDSLINGER
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Anycubic Kobra X (store variant title "Kobra X (4 Colors)")[1]Bambu Lab A2L[2]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Listed on the Anycubic store from 25 December 2025 (Shopify publish date)[3]Pre-orders opened 1 June 2026 (Tom's Hardware spec box); Tom's Hardware review published 27 June 2026[4]
Launch MSRP (USD)Not documented$469 standalone, $569 Combo at launch[4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$299.00 with a US plug on store.anycubic.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $399.00 ($344.00 for the EU plug variant). The collection page headline reads "Kobra X - Price from $289"[3][5]From $469.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026[6]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Same 260 mm cube and the same machine dimensions as the Kobra 4 (455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm) - the difference is that the Kobra X has native 4-colour printing built in, expandable to 19 colours, where the Kobra 4 needs an ACE 2 Pro for any multicolour at all. The Kobra X also takes a wider filament list (adds PVA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, ASA) but still needs an ACE 2 Pro for active drying[1][7]Standalone and Combo (with AMS lite) SKUs, and an optional cutting/drawing module (blade cutter and pen plotter, 300x300 mm cutting area) that is a separate attachment, not a printer variant. Do not carry A1 or A1 mini figures across: the A2L is a different, much larger machine at 12.8 kg[2][4]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable260 x 260 x 260 mm[1]330 x 320 x 325 mm (manufacturer figure)[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm for the printer; the ACE 2 Pro, if added, is a separate 368 x 291.5 x 236.5 mm unit[1]544 x 529 x 505 mm[2]
Net weight (kg)About 9.5 kg for the printer (Anycubic's own figure is approximate); packaged 13.2 kg bare or 18 kg as the Combo[1]12.8 kg net[2]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedAluminium and steel chassis with a plastic outer frame; Tom's Hardware describes a triangular gantry frame the base drops into[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[1]Open frame, no enclosure[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Anycubic does not state a construction type for the Kobra X, but its dimensions, price and feature set match the gantry/bed-slinger Kobra 4 rather than the CoreXY S1 series[1][7]Cartesian bed-slinger - Tom's Hardware's assembly description has the heatbed bolting to a Y-carriage inside the gantry frame[4]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashNot documentedNot published in the spec sheet; no teardown source found that documents the Z drive[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)600 mm/s maximum print speed (manufacturer claim), 300 mm/s recommended[1]500 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim)[2]
Recommended/typical print speed300 mm/s recommended print speed (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration, 10000 mm/s2 recommended[1]10 m/s2 = 10000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[2]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documented28 mm3/s claimed, measured by Bambu on a 150 mm round single-wall model in Bambu PLA Basic at 220 C - note this test uses PLA, unlike the ABS-based figures Bambu quotes for its enclosed machines, so it is not directly comparable[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive ("short distance extrusion")[1]Direct drive with a servo extruder motor and hardened-steel extruder gears; built-in filament cutter[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Hardened-steel nozzle, 0.4 mm standard, expandable to 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm[1]Stainless-steel nozzle; 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported. Bambu's A2L sheet does not state whether the hotend is all-metal[2]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C maximum nozzle temperature[1]300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit100 C maximum hotbed temperature on a PEI spring steel build plate[1]80 C max heatbed temperature[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedTextured PEI plate included; Engineering Plate and Cool Plate SuperTack also supported[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)LeviQ 3.0 auto-levelling with Z-offset and area levelling[1]Automatic bed levelling with automatic Z: Tom's Hardware confirms the nozzle is used as the probe and the machine can re-check level before each print[4]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament detection with auto resume, entanglement detection and power-loss resume[1]Yes - run-out sensor, filament odometry, tangle sensor and clumping detection[2]
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathNative 4-colour printing built in, expandable to 19 colours; active drying still needs a separate ACE 2 Pro[1]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designNot documentedPart-cooling fan and hotend cooling fan, both closed-loop controlled. No auxiliary part-cooling fan and no chamber fan[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Kobra OS with pressure advance and flow calibration supported[1]Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[8]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?Not documented3.5-inch 240x320 touchscreen[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Control from the printer, the slicing software, the Anycubic app and USB (print only); AI spaghetti detection and object skip supported[1]Touchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[2]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drivePrinter UI, slicing software, Anycubic app and USB drive (print only)[1]2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only (802.11 b/g/n), Bambu-Bus, microSD card. Ethernet not available[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Standard HD camera fitted, 720p[1]Built-in low-frame-rate camera, up to 1080p, timelapse supported[2]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, PETG, TPU, PVA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, ASA[1]Suitable: PLA, PETG, TPU, PVA. PLA-CF and PETG-CF suitable only after fitting a hardened-steel nozzle. ABS, ASA, PA, PC and PET are listed as not recommended on the compare page[2][9]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)48 dB or less - a manufacturer figure with no mode, distance or method stated[1]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)One year on the complete machine (excluding gifted and second-hand machines), with component warranty periods that vary by part; the period starts on the delivery date and is suspended while a replacement is in transit. Anycubic states it will follow longer local statutory periods where they apply[10]2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[11]
Independently Measured Performance
Review scores from major outlets (list outlet + score + date)Not documentedTom's Hardware: Editor's Choice, rating 4.5 out of 5 in the page's structured data (27 June 2026)[4]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Anycubic Kobra X product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Bambu Lab A2L Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
  3. Anycubic Kobra X Shopify product JSON (variant prices and store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Tom's Hardware - Bambu Lab A2L 3D printer review, 27 June 2026 tomshardware.com · 2026-08 · review
  5. Anycubic store 3D printers collection (current line-up and headline prices, Aug 2026) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Anycubic Kobra 4 product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  9. Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  10. Anycubic refund and warranty policy store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  11. Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor