3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Anycubic Kobra X vs Anycubic Photon P1 Max

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Anycubic Kobra X vs Anycubic Photon P1 Max — documented properties and sources
PropertyAnycubic Kobra XBEDSLINGERAnycubic Photon P1 MaxRESIN
Identity
BrandAnycubicAnycubic
ClassBEDSLINGERRESIN
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Anycubic Kobra X (store variant title "Kobra X (4 Colors)")[1]Anycubic Photon P1 Max[2]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Listed on the Anycubic store from 25 December 2025 (Shopify publish date)[3]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$299.00 with a US plug on store.anycubic.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $399.00 ($344.00 for the EU plug variant). The collection page headline reads "Kobra X - Price from $289"[3][4]$959 advertised single-unit sale/from price; $999 compare-at, not launch MSRP. Global USD storefront, Other plug/no resin selected; US price, availability, shipping and tax require checkout. Checked 2026-10-17.[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Same 260 mm cube and the same machine dimensions as the Kobra 4 (455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm) - the difference is that the Kobra X has native 4-colour printing built in, expandable to 19 colours, where the Kobra 4 needs an ACE 2 Pro for any multicolour at all. The Kobra X also takes a wider filament list (adds PVA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, ASA) but still needs an ACE 2 Pro for active drying[1][5]Not documented
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable260 x 260 x 260 mm[1]285.5 × 214 × 300 mm (X × Y × Z), advertised 18.3 L; usable volume not independently measured.[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm for the printer; the ACE 2 Pro, if added, is a separate 368 x 291.5 x 236.5 mm unit[1]430 × 414 × 625 mm, manufacturer dimensions; external clearance not specified.[2]
Net weight (kg)About 9.5 kg for the printer (Anycubic's own figure is approximate); packaged 13.2 kg bare or 18 kg as the Combo[1]23.1 kg (manufacturer specification)[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Anycubic does not state a construction type for the Kobra X, but its dimensions, price and feature set match the gantry/bed-slinger Kobra 4 rather than the CoreXY S1 series[1][5]Not documented
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashNot documentedDual linear guide rails and ball lead screws (manufacturer specification)[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)600 mm/s maximum print speed (manufacturer claim), 300 mm/s recommended[1]Not documented
Recommended/typical print speed300 mm/s recommended print speed (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration, 10000 mm/s2 recommended[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive ("short distance extrusion")[1]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Hardened-steel nozzle, 0.4 mm standard, expandable to 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C maximum nozzle temperature[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit100 C maximum hotbed temperature on a PEI spring steel build plate[1]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedPrecision-ground steel build platform[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)LeviQ 3.0 auto-levelling with Z-offset and area levelling[1]Leveling-Free 3.0 with feedback and pre-print self-check (manufacturer claim)[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament detection with auto resume, entanglement detection and power-loss resume[1]Not documented
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathNative 4-colour printing built in, expandable to 19 colours; active drying still needs a separate ACE 2 Pro[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)Not documented296 W power supply (manufacturer specification; not measured consumption)[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Kobra OS with pressure advance and flow calibration supported[1]Not documented
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?Not documented4.5-inch resistive touchscreen[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Control from the printer, the slicing software, the Anycubic app and USB (print only); AI spaghetti detection and object skip supported[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drivePrinter UI, slicing software, Anycubic app and USB drive (print only)[1]Wi-Fi and Ethernet; manufacturer advertises LAN isolation mode.[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Standard HD camera fitted, 720p[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, PETG, TPU, PVA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, ASA[1]Manufacturer lists all Anycubic resins; compatibility with other brands not verified.[2]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)48 dB or less - a manufacturer figure with no mode, distance or method stated[1]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)One year on the complete machine (excluding gifted and second-hand machines), with component warranty periods that vary by part; the period starts on the delivery date and is suspended while a replacement is in transit. Anycubic states it will follow longer local statutory periods where they apply[6]Not documented
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCDNot documented14-inch monochrome 12K masking LCD; 24.8 × 24.8 µm XY pixel pitch (manufacturer specification)[2]
Light sourceNot documentedCOB + Fresnel + mask light source[2]
Light uniformity & intensityNot documented≥4000 µW/cm² intensity and 92% uniformity (manufacturer claims)[2]
Vertical print speedmm/hNot documented15–25 mm/h at 0.05 mm layers with standard resin (manufacturer claim; not independently measured).[2]
Layer height rangeNot documented0.02–0.15 mm layer height[2]
Release filmNot documentedNFEP release film; store separately describes its Wave Release system.[2]
Resin vat & feedingNot documented1.9 L vat with dynamic temperature control; auto-fill unit not supported.[2]
Fume extractionNot documentedOptional AirPure 2.0 accessory; filtration efficacy not independently verified.[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Anycubic Kobra X product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Anycubic Photon P1 Max official store: single-unit price and specifications Anycubic · 2026-10-17 · vendor
  3. Anycubic Kobra X Shopify product JSON (variant prices and store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Anycubic store 3D printers collection (current line-up and headline prices, Aug 2026) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Anycubic Kobra 4 product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Anycubic refund and warranty policy store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor