3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Anycubic Kobra X vs ANYCUBIC Photon Mono M5s

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Anycubic Kobra X vs ANYCUBIC Photon Mono M5s — documented properties and sources
PropertyAnycubic Kobra XBEDSLINGERANYCUBIC Photon Mono M5sRESIN
Identity
BrandAnycubicAnycubic
ClassBEDSLINGERRESIN
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Anycubic Kobra X (store variant title "Kobra X (4 Colors)")[1]ANYCUBIC Photon Mono M5s[2][3]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Listed on the Anycubic store from 25 December 2025 (Shopify publish date)[4]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$299.00 with a US plug on store.anycubic.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $399.00 ($344.00 for the EU plug variant). The collection page headline reads "Kobra X - Price from $289"[4][5]$609.00 on store.anycubic.com, with the compare-at price also $609.00, but marked Sold out, checked Aug 2026. 3DJake also shows it sold out and delisted[2][3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Same 260 mm cube and the same machine dimensions as the Kobra 4 (455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm) - the difference is that the Kobra X has native 4-colour printing built in, expandable to 19 colours, where the Kobra 4 needs an ACE 2 Pro for any multicolour at all. The Kobra X also takes a wider filament list (adds PVA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, ASA) but still needs an ACE 2 Pro for active drying[1][6]Older and smaller than the M7 family: 12K LCD (11520 x 5120) vs 14K, 218 x 123 x 200 mm vs 223 x 126 x 230, an LED-matrix light source rather than COB + Fresnel, and 105 vs 150-170 mm/h on high-speed resin. Note Anycubic's spec table lists the machine dimensions in H x W x D order[2][3][7][8]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable260 x 260 x 260 mm[1]218 x 123 x 200 mm (Anycubic quotes 5.4 L; the table writes it as 200 x 218 x 123 mm in H x W x D order)[2][3]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm for the printer; the ACE 2 Pro, if added, is a separate 368 x 291.5 x 236.5 mm unit[1]460 x 270 x 290 mm (H x W x D per Anycubic; 3DJake writes 270 x 290 x 460 mm)[2][3]
Net weight (kg)About 9.5 kg for the printer (Anycubic's own figure is approximate); packaged 13.2 kg bare or 18 kg as the Combo[1]8.9 kg[2][3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[1]Open-frame MSLA with a UV-blocking cover[2]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Anycubic does not state a construction type for the Kobra X, but its dimensions, price and feature set match the gantry/bed-slinger Kobra 4 rather than the CoreXY S1 series[1][6]MSLA, single Z axis on double linear guides, straight-lift peel[2][3]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlashNot documentedDouble linear guides, 10 um precision[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)600 mm/s maximum print speed (manufacturer claim), 300 mm/s recommended[1]Not documented
Recommended/typical print speed300 mm/s recommended print speed (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration, 10000 mm/s2 recommended[1]Not documented
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive ("short distance extrusion")[1]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Hardened-steel nozzle, 0.4 mm standard, expandable to 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C maximum nozzle temperature[1]Not documented
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit100 C maximum hotbed temperature on a PEI spring steel build plate[1]Not documented
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedLaser-engraved aluminium-alloy build platform[2][3]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)LeviQ 3.0 auto-levelling with Z-offset and area levelling[1]Levelling-free design[2][3]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament detection with auto resume, entanglement detection and power-loss resume[1]Not documented
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathNative 4-colour printing built in, expandable to 19 colours; active drying still needs a separate ACE 2 Pro[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Total rated power drawNot documented100 W rated[2][3]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Kobra OS with pressure advance and flow calibration supported[1]Not documented
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?Not documented4.3-inch TFT touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[2][3]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Control from the printer, the slicing software, the Anycubic app and USB (print only); AI spaghetti detection and object skip supported[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drivePrinter UI, slicing software, Anycubic app and USB drive (print only)[1]USB Type-A 2.0 and Wi-Fi[2][3]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Standard HD camera fitted, 720p[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, PETG, TPU, PVA, PLA-CF, PETG-CF, ASA[1]405 nm photopolymer resin; no closed compatibility list published on this page[2]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)48 dB or less - a manufacturer figure with no mode, distance or method stated[1]Not documented
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)One year on the complete machine (excluding gifted and second-hand machines), with component warranty periods that vary by part; the period starts on the delivery date and is suspended while a replacement is in transit. Anycubic states it will follow longer local statutory periods where they apply[9]Not documented
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCDNot documented10.1-inch monochrome masking LCD at 12K, 11,520 x 5,120 px, 480:1 contrast, XY pixel pitch 19 x 24 um (manufacturer specification)[2][3]
Light sourceNot documentedLED matrix UV light source. Anycubic does not publish wavelength or collimating optics for this model[2][3]
Vertical print speedmm/hNot documented105 mm/h with high-speed resin, 70 mm/h with standard resin (manufacturer claims; Anycubic labels these average printing speeds and does not state the layer height assumed)[2][3]
LCD life & replaceabilityNot documentedSwappable scratchproof screen protector film over the masking LCD. Anycubic publishes no rated screen life in hours[3]
Resin vat & feedingNot documentedUnibody resin vat with scale lines. Capacity not published; no auto-refill and no level sensing stated for this model[2]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Anycubic Kobra X product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Anycubic Photon Mono M5s product page store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Anycubic Photon Mono M5s technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Anycubic Kobra X Shopify product JSON (variant prices and store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Anycubic store 3D printers collection (current line-up and headline prices, Aug 2026) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Anycubic Kobra 4 product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. Anycubic Photon Mono M7 product page store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Anycubic Photon Mono M7 Pro product page store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. Anycubic refund and warranty policy store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor