3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Anycubic Kobra 4 vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Anycubic Kobra 4 vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyAnycubic Kobra 4BEDSLINGERUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandAnycubicUltiMaker
ClassBEDSLINGERINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Anycubic Kobra 4[1]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Listed on the Anycubic store from 29 May 2026 (Shopify publish date)[3]Not documented
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$279.00 with a US plug on store.anycubic.com, Aug 2026, against a compare-at price of $379.00 ($320.90 for the EU plug variant)[3]Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Shares its 260 mm cube volume and its exact machine dimensions (455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm) with the Kobra X, so those two cannot be told apart on size. The difference is multicolour: the Kobra X ships with native 4-colour capability, while the Kobra 4 needs an ACE 2 Pro unit for multicolour and drying. The Kobra 4 also has a smaller 3.5-inch screen where the Kobra 3 and S1 use 4.3-inch panels[1][4][5]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][6][7]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Not documentedSuperseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][6][7]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable260 x 260 x 260 mm[1]330 x 240 x 300 mm[2]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)455.4 x 445.3 x 461.3 mm for the printer; the optional ACE 2 Pro is a separate 368 x 291.5 x 236.5 mm unit[1]495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2]
Net weight (kg)9.9 kg for the printer (ACE 2 Pro 3.7 kg); packaged 12.6 kg bare or 17.5 kg as the Combo[1]20.6 kg[2]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedFully assembled professional chassis[2]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame, no enclosure[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Anycubic's table gives the construction as "Gantry system" - a bed-slinger, not CoreXY[1]Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)600 mm/s maximum print speed (manufacturer claim), 300 mm/s the default[1]Not documented
Recommended/typical print speed300 mm/s default print speed (manufacturer figure)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)20000 mm/s2 maximum acceleration, 10000 mm/s2 recommended[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documentedBuild speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive ("short distance extrusion")[1]Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[2]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Hardened-steel nozzle, 0.4 mm standard with 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[1]Not documented
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 C maximum nozzle temperature[1]180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2]
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit100 C maximum hotbed temperature on a PEI spring steel build plate[1]Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedHeated glass build plate[2]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)LeviQ 3.0 49-point auto-levelling with Z-offset; Anycubic claims levelling repeatability under 0.02 mm and states no manual compensation is needed[1]Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament detection with auto resume, entanglement detection and power-loss resume[1]Not documented
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathMulticolour and active drying both require the separate ACE 2 Pro unit; Anycubic quotes 4 independent brushless feed motors in that unit[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Total rated power drawNot documented500 W maximum power output[2]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Kobra OS with pressure advance and flow calibration; a built-in accelerometer drives vibration compensation[1]Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?3.5-inch capacitive touchscreen - smaller than the 4.3-inch panels on the Kobra 3 and S1 series[1][5][8]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Touchscreen plus Anycubic Slicer, the Anycubic app and USB; AI spaghetti detection and object skip supported[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB, Anycubic Slicer and the Anycubic app[1]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)Standard HD camera fitted, 720p[1]Not documented
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printAnycubic claims assembly and first print within 15 minutes[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, PETG, TPU 95A - and Anycubic notes TPU 95A cannot be used through the ACE 2 Pro[1]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)48 dB or less in standard mode and 45 dB or less in silent print mode - manufacturer figures with no distance or method stated[1]Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)One year on the complete machine (excluding gifted and second-hand machines), with component warranty periods that vary by part; the period starts on the delivery date and is suspended while a replacement is in transit. Anycubic states it will follow longer local statutory periods where they apply[9]Not documented
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Not documentedXYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2]
Benchmark print times (source + settings)Anycubic claims a 14-minute Benchy - a manufacturer figure with no slicer settings published, not an independent measurement[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Anycubic Kobra 4 product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Anycubic Kobra 4 Shopify product JSON (variant prices and store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Anycubic Kobra X product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Anycubic Kobra 3 Combo product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  8. Anycubic Kobra S1 product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. Anycubic refund and warranty policy store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor