Printer comparison
Anycubic Kobra 2 Neo vs UltiMaker S5
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Anycubic Kobra 2 Neo comparisonsMore UltiMaker S5 comparisons
| Property | Anycubic Kobra 2 NeoBEDSLINGER | UltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Anycubic | UltiMaker |
| Class | BEDSLINGER | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Anycubic Kobra 2 Neo[1] | UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[2] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Listed on the Anycubic store from 31 August 2023 (Shopify publish date), the same day as the Kobra 2 Plus and Kobra 2 Max[1][3][4] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $249.00 on store.anycubic.com, Aug 2026 - higher than the better-specified Kobra 2 at $169 on the same day, which is a listing quirk rather than a positioning statement[1][5] | Starting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[2] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Lowest model of the Kobra 2 family. Same 220 x 220 x 250 mm build volume as the Kobra 2 and Kobra 2 Pro but the slowest of the three (250 mm/s max, 150 mm/s typical against 300/200 and 500/300), and the only one with a 2.4-inch knob-driven screen instead of a 4.3-inch touchscreen[1][5][6] | Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[2][7][8] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[2][7][8] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 250 x 220 x 220 mm stated HWD, i.e. 220 x 220 x 250 mm; 12.1 L[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[2] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 485 x 440 x 440 mm stated HWD - footprint about 440 x 440 mm[1] | 495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[2] |
| Net weight (kg) | 7.3 kg[1] | 20.6 kg[2] |
| Frame construction & material | Not documented | Fully assembled professional chassis[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open frame, no enclosure[1] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Cartesian bed-slinger with a gantry frame structure built from 5 modules[1] | Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[2] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 250 mm/s maximum print speed (Anycubic Lab figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Recommended/typical print speed | 150 mm/s recommended print speed (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[2] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Integrated direct extruder[1] | Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[2] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[2] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 260 C nozzle temperature ceiling; 0.4 mm replaceable nozzle[1] | 180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[2] |
| Heater cartridge power (W) | 60 W hot end (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[2] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 110 C hotbed temperature ceiling[1] | Heated glass bed, 20-140 °C[2] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Not documented | Heated glass build plate[2] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Anycubic LeviQ 2.0 automatic levelling with intelligent Z-offset compensation[1] | Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[2] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design | 7000 rpm cooling fan (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | 500 W maximum power output[2] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Marlin - Anycubic states it applies "linear propulsion and input shaping functions in Marlin firmware", which makes this one of the few Anycubic machines with a named firmware base rather than the later Kobra OS branding[1][9] | Not published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[2] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 2.4-inch LCD knob screen - not a touchscreen[1] | 4.7-inch colour touchscreen[2] |
| On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.) | Knob-driven UI, redesigned by Anycubic for the Kobra 2 generation[1] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Not documented | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[2] |
| Calibration Routines & QoL | ||
| Assembly level & time from unbox to first print | Five modules with a gantry frame design, described by Anycubic as easy assembly and low maintenance[1] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, ABS, PETG, TPU (Kobra 2 family list)[5] | Not documented |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[2] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | One year on the complete machine (excluding gifted and second-hand machines), with component warranty periods that vary by part; the period starts on the delivery date and is suspended while a replacement is in transit. Anycubic states it will follow longer local statutory periods where they apply[10] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[2] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Anycubic Kobra 2 Neo store page and Shopify product JSON (Tech Specs block, price, store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic Kobra 2 Plus store page and Shopify product JSON (Tech Specs block, price, store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic Kobra 2 Max store page and Shopify product JSON (Tech Specs block, price, store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic Kobra 2 store page and Shopify product JSON (Tech Specs block, price, store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic Kobra 2 Pro store page and Shopify product JSON (Tech Specs block, price, store publish date) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic Kobra 4 product page (Specifications table) store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Anycubic refund and warranty policy store.anycubic.com · 2026-08 · vendor