3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

AnkerMake M5 vs UltiMaker S5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

AnkerMake M5 vs UltiMaker S5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyAnkerMake M5BEDSLINGERUltiMaker S5INDUSTRIAL
Identity
BrandAnkerMakeUltiMaker
ClassBEDSLINGERINDUSTRIAL
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)AnkerMake M5. AnkerMake has since been rebranded eufyMake, and ankermake.com now redirects to eufymake.com[1][2]UltiMaker S5 3D Printer[3]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)Not documentedStarting at $6,950 at MatterHackers, in stock, checked Aug 2026[3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Paired with the cheaper M5C, which is smaller (220x220x250 vs 235x235x250), has a higher flow rate (35 vs 24 mm3/s) but no screen, no camera and no AI recognition. The M5's headline 500 mm/s is a high-speed-mode figure; its default is 250 mm/s[1][4][2]Three generations share the same 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope and are easy to confuse: S5 (280 °C nozzle, glass bed to 140 °C, 4.7-inch screen), S7 (PEI-coated flexible plate, Wi-Fi 5 GHz added, $5,999) and S8 (340 °C, 500 mm/s, 50,000 mm/s2, PEI plate to 120 °C). Build-volume figures alone will not tell them apart[3][5][6]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?3DJake lists the M5 as sold out and no longer stocked. The brand has been folded into eufyMake[1][2]Superseded by the S7 and then the S8, but still sold[3][5][6]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable235 x 235 x 250 mm[1][2]330 x 240 x 300 mm[3]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)Not documented495 x 585 x 780 mm assembled with the spool holder[3]
Net weight (kg)Not documented20.6 kg[3]
Frame construction & materialNot documentedFully assembled professional chassis[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidOpen frame[1]Not documented
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)Cartesian bedslinger[1]Dual-extrusion gantry with an articulating nozzle-lifting print head. UltiMaker does not publish the kinematic layout in this spec table[3]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)250 mm/s default; 500 mm/s in high-speed mode (manufacturer figures)[1]Not documented
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)5,000 mm/s2 in high-speed mode (manufacturer claim)[1]Not documented
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)24 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[2]Build speed under 24 mm3/s (manufacturer figure)[3]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect-drive extruder[1]Dual-geared feeder rated for advanced composites; dual extrusion with swappable print cores[3]
Filament diameterNot documented2.85 mm[3]
Hotend & Nozzle
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented180-280 °C nozzle temperature range; heat-up under 2 minutes[3]
Heater cartridge power (W)60 W heating block, quoted by AnkerMake as reaching 200 °C[1]Not documented
Stock nozzle size & sizes included in boxNot documented0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[3]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documentedHeated glass bed, 20-140 °C[3]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedScratch-resistant PEI-coated magnetic build plate[1]Heated glass build plate[3]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic 7 x 7 levelling; probe technology not named[1]Automatic advanced levelling; probe technology not stated in this table[3]
Mesh grid size (probe point count — firmware evidence)49 points (7 x 7)[1]Not documented
Electronics & Power
Total rated power drawNot documented500 W maximum power output[3]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not documentedNot published; print preparation is UltiMaker Cura and UltiMaker Essentials[3]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4.3-inch colour LCD touchscreen[1]4.7-inch colour touchscreen[3]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi and USB-C[1]Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[3]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)1080p camera with AI recognition and time-lapse[1][2]Not documented
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printAssembly kit; AnkerMake quotes about 15 minutes[1]Not documented
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Not documentedUnder 50 dBA operating sound, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3]
Independently Measured Performance
Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers)Print accuracy quoted at 0.1 mm (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[1]XYZ resolution 6.9 / 6.9 / 2.5 micron (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. AnkerMake M5 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. AnkerMake M5C review and spec summary (eufyMake) eufymake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. UltiMaker S5 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. AnkerMake M5C technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. UltiMaker S7 product listing shop3duniverse.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. UltiMaker S8 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor