3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

Snapmaker J1s vs Sovol SV08 Max

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

Snapmaker J1s vs Sovol SV08 Max — documented properties and sources
PropertySnapmaker J1sIDEXSovol SV08 MaxCOREXY
Identity
BrandSnapmakerSovol
ClassIDEXCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Snapmaker J1S High Speed IDEX 3D Printer[1][2]Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer[3][4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$1,399.00 at MatterHackers, listed as currently unavailable with a pre-order option quoting roughly 5 weeks, checked Aug 2026[1]$1,099.00 on sovol3d.com against a $1,299.00 compare-at price (15% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026[3][4]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)The J1s differs from the original J1 by an additional part-cooling fan. Usable volume depends on the print mode: 300 x 200 x 200 mm in default and backup modes, 160 x 200 x 200 in copy mode, 150 x 200 x 200 in mirror mode[1][2]Much larger sibling of the SV08. Differences that matter in a spec box: 500x500x500 vs 350x350x345, 50 vs 30 mm3/s, TMC5160 XY drivers vs TMC2209, CAN bus, HDMI output, dual 0.4 mm nozzles in the box, and a separately sold chamber-heating module. A chamber heating module for the SV08 Max is listed at $69[3][5][6][4]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable300 x 200 x 200 mm in default and backup modes[1]500 x 500 x 500 mm advertised[3][5]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)539 x 401 x 464 mm[1]700 x 710 x 750 mm excluding the spool holder. Shipping cartons: 810 x 820 x 360 mm plus a 775 x 728 x 155 mm enclosure-kit box[3][5]
Net weight (kg)25 kg net[1]Not documented
Frame construction & materialAluminium-alloy frame with one-piece die casting and linear rails; Snapmaker quotes rail repeatability of +/-0.03 mm in X/Y and +/-0.02 mm in Z[2]Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame supplied as a kit; Sovol ships it in two cartons, one of which is an enclosure kit[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidNot documentedEnclosure kit shipped with the machine (separate carton). A chamber-heating module is sold separately at $69[3][4]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)IDEX — two independently driven extruders[1][2]CoreXY[3][5]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Linear rails[2]Not documented
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documentedZ axis 4 x TMC2209; A axis 1 x TMC5160; B axis 1 x TMC5160. Toolhead communication over CAN bus[3][5]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)350 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2]700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][5]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)10,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2]40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][5]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documented50 mm3/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][5]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedDirect drive with auxiliary (assisted) filament feeding[3][5]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Not documentedCeramic heater. Two 0.4 mm nozzles supplied as standard; 0.4/0.6/0.8 mm optional[3][5]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)300 °C maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][2]<=300 °C claimed[3][5]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit100 °C maximum (manufacturer claim)[1]<=100 °C claimed[3][5]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedCustom dual-sided PEI glass plate: glossy glass on one face, PEI coating on the other[1][2]Not documented
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)3-point bed levelling, which Snapmaker contrasts with 9-16 point systems; assisted calibration quoted at about 10 minutes[2]Not stated on the SV08 Max page; the SV08 family uses an inductive sensor plus pressure sensor[3]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Not documentedFilament runout detection plus filament tangle/clog detection. Sovol does not describe the tangle or clog mechanism[3][5]
Electronics & Power
Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux1 GB RAM, 8 GB eMMC; the 5-inch display runs Android[1]1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[3][5]
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)AC 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 4.4 A max input; DC 24 V, 400 W max output[1]Not documented
Total rated power draw400 W maximum output[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not named by Snapmaker; the supplied slicer is Luban, with third-party software supported[1]Klipper (3DJake's table renders it as "Clipper"). OrcaSlicer is the supported slicer[3][5]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch Android display, 1280 x 720[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi, USB cable, USB flash drive[1]USB, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, HDMI, Ethernet[3][5]
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Not documentedPower-loss resume printing supported; mechanism not published[3][5]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, ABS, HIPS, PC, TPU, TPE, PETG, ASA, PP, PVA, PA, PA-GF, PA-CF[1]1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list on this page[3][5]
Noise & Power Consumption
Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method)Less than 50 dBA claimed by the manufacturer. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Snapmaker J1S High Speed IDEX 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Snapmaker J1s product page snapmaker.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Sovol SV08 Max technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor