Printer comparison
Raise3D Pro3 vs UltiMaker Factor 4
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Raise3D Pro3 comparisonsMore UltiMaker Factor 4 comparisons
| Property | Raise3D Pro3IDEX | UltiMaker Factor 4INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Raise3D | UltiMaker |
| Class | IDEX | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Raise3D Pro3 3D Printer[1][2] | UltiMaker Factor 4[3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not documented | Announced 22 April 2024, shown at HANNOVER MESSE 2024 (22-26 April) and TCT Asia (7-9 May 2024)[3] |
| Launch MSRP (USD) | Not documented | Starting at approximately $20,000[3] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $2,999.00 on Raise3D's own store, available, checked Aug 2026[2] | Not documented |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | A crowded family with materially different prices: Pro3 $2,999, Pro3 Hyper Speed Package $4,999, Pro3 HS $4,599, Pro3 Plus HS $6,099. Build volume also changes with head count: 300 x 300 x 300 mm single-head, 255 x 300 x 300 mm dual-head. Raise3D's smaller E-series (E2 $1,999, E2CF $2,499, E3 $2,499) and the resin DF2 line are separate machines entirely[2][4][1] | Shares the 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope with the UltiMaker S5, S7 and S8, which is the single most contaminated figure in UltiMaker's range. What separates the Factor 4 is the actively controlled 70 °C build volume, the climate-controlled 6-spool material station holding humidity below 15%, and HEPA filtration. UltiMaker also sells a Factor 4 Plus[3] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 300 x 300 x 300 mm with one extruder; 255 x 300 x 300 mm with both[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 620 x 626 x 760 mm[1] | Not documented |
| Net weight (kg) | 52.5 kg net[1] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Fully assembled enclosed professional chassis[1] | Not documented |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Enclosed with a HEPA and activated-charcoal filter[1] | Enclosed with actively controlled chamber airflow and a HEPA filter[3] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Not documented | Build volume temperature controlled up to 70 °C with actively controlled chamber airflow (manufacturer specification)[3] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | Dual-head with an electronic lifting system[1] | Direct-drive dual extrusion; kinematic layout not stated in the source checked[3] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max travel speed | Print-head travel speed 30-150 mm/s (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Dual print heads, 1.75 mm filament[1] | Direct-drive dual extrusion[3] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 °C maximum nozzle temperature[1] | 340 °C maximum with the high-temperature print core (manufacturer claim)[3] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm default; 0.2, 0.6, 0.8 and 1.0 mm available[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 120 °C maximum build-plate temperature, silicone heater[1] | Not documented |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Flexible steel plate with BuildTak[1] | Not documented |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Mesh levelling with flatness detection[1] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibility | Not documented | Automatic climate-controlled material handling and storage station holding humidity below 15%, storing up to six spools[3] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | HEPA filter with activated charcoal[1] | HEPA filter[3] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | Motion controller Atmel ARM Cortex-M4 at 120 MHz with FPU; logic controller NXP ARM Cortex-A9 quad-core at 1 GHz[1] | Not documented |
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | 1 GB RAM, 8 GB onboard flash, embedded Linux[1] | Not documented |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 100-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz input; 24 V DC, 600 W output[1] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | 600 W output[1] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Embedded Linux on the logic controller; slicing is ideaMaker. Firmware base not published[1] | Not documented |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 7-inch touchscreen, 1024 x 600[1] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB 2.0 x2; live camera[1] | Not documented |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Live camera fitted; resolution not published[1] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, ABS, HIPS, PC, TPU, TPE, PETG, ASA, PP, PVA, nylon, composites and metal/wood-filled grades[1] | UltiMaker-branded PPS CF, PLA, Tough PLA, Nylon, PETG, PET CF and PVA, plus validated third-party materials from BASF Forward AM, Kimya, Polymaker, LEHVOSS and Jabil[3] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Under 55 dB(A) while printing, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[1] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | XYZ step size 0.78125 / 0.78125 / 0.078125 micron (manufacturer specification, not an accuracy measurement)[1] | Dimensional accuracy within +/-0.2 mm or +/-0.2% of feature nominal length; UltiMaker states it tested over 95% print-completion success. Manufacturer figures, not independent measurements[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Raise3D Pro3 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Raise3D 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices) shop.raise3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker Factor 4: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
- Raise3D E2 3D Printer product page shop.raise3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor