Printer comparison
QIDI Plus5 vs UltiMaker Factor 4
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore QIDI Plus5 comparisonsMore UltiMaker Factor 4 comparisons
| Property | QIDI Plus5COREXY | UltiMaker Factor 4INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | QIDI | UltiMaker |
| Class | COREXY | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | QIDI Plus5, sold as "QIDI Plus5 3D Printer"[1][2] | UltiMaker Factor 4[3] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Launched 5 August 2026, 09:00 EDT / 15:00 CEST[4] | Announced 22 April 2024, shown at HANNOVER MESSE 2024 (22-26 April) and TCT Asia (7-9 May 2024)[3] |
| Launch MSRP (USD) | $749 regular launch price; a launch-window member discount put it under $700[4] | Starting at approximately $20,000[3] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $749.00 for the standard model on us.qidi3d.com, checked Aug 2026. Other variants: Polar Cooler bundle $899.00, Plus5 Combo $899.00, Combo + Polar Cooler $1,049.00. No compare-at price listed[1] | Not documented |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Four purchase variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), and Combo + Polar Cooler. The Polar Cooler is a pre-sale add-on shipping separately, so its specs are not Plus5 specs. Replaces the Plus4 (305x305x280, 450 W + 400 W chamber)[1][4] | Shares the 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope with the UltiMaker S5, S7 and S8, which is the single most contaminated figure in UltiMaker's range. What separates the Factor 4 is the actively controlled 70 °C build volume, the climate-controlled 6-spool material station holding humidity below 15%, and HEPA filtration. UltiMaker also sells a Factor 4 Plus[3] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Current flagship of QIDI's large-format line as of Aug 2026; sits below the Max4 (390x390x340)[1][5] | Not documented |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 320 x 320 x 300 mm advertised — QIDI states this is about 18% more volume than the Plus4[1][2][4] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 500 x 488 x 558 mm[2] | Not documented |
| Net weight (kg) | 29.0 kg net[2] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Enclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[1] | Not documented |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Fully enclosed, with a 3-stage air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[1][2] | Enclosed with actively controlled chamber airflow and a HEPA filter[3] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | 65 °C, actively heated, 550 W chamber heater — reported as a 37.5% increase in heater power over the Plus4 (manufacturer claim)[2][4] | Build volume temperature controlled up to 70 °C with actively controlled chamber airflow (manufacturer specification)[3] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[2] | Direct-drive dual extrusion; kinematic layout not stated in the source checked[3] |
| X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size) | High-precision linear rails on X[1][4] | Not documented |
| Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?) | 1.5GT belts, 9 mm wide — wider than the 2GT 6 mm belts common in this class[1][4] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 600 mm/s (manufacturer claim)[2] | Not documented |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | <=20,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[2] | Not documented |
| Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping | ||
| Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary) | Resonance compensation listed as a feature; implementation not named on the product page[2] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive with hardened dual gears[2] | Direct-drive dual extrusion[3] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Ceramic heating-plate hotend with a bimetal nozzle; 0.4 mm standard, 0.2/0.6/0.8 mm optional[2] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=370 °C claimed[1][2] | 340 °C maximum with the high-temperature print core (manufacturer claim)[3] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=120 °C claimed, described by QIDI as an even-heating bed[1][2] | Not documented |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Aluminium silicone heated bed with a dual-sided textured PEI plate[2] | Not documented |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling using an integrated load cell; QIDI describes it as direct nozzle-contact detection[2][4] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament run-out sensor, plus a filament cutter[2] | Not documented |
| Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibility | Not documented | Automatic climate-controlled material handling and storage station holding humidity below 15%, storing up to six spools[3] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | 3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon; QIDI claims 99.5% capture of airborne particles and dust[1][2][4] | HEPA filter[3] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 100/240 VAC, 50/60 Hz[2] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not stated on the product page. QIDI's slicer ecosystem is QIDI Studio, and Orca/PrusaSlicer are listed as supported[2] | Not documented |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4-inch touchscreen, 480 x 320[2] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz, Ethernet, USB; 32 GB eMMC storage plus USB 2.0 flash drive[2] | Not documented |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | AI camera with failure detection, up to 1080p, timelapse supported (low frame rate)[1][2][4] | Not documented |
| LED chamber/toolhead lighting | RGB status light[1] | Not documented |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[2] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, carbon- and glass-fibre-reinforced polymers[2] | UltiMaker-branded PPS CF, PLA, Tough PLA, Nylon, PETG, PET CF and PVA, plus validated third-party materials from BASF Forward AM, Kimya, Polymaker, LEHVOSS and Jabil[3] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | QIDI store terms: 1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[5] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | Dimensional accuracy within +/-0.2 mm or +/-0.2% of feature nominal length; UltiMaker states it tested over 95% print-completion success. Manufacturer figures, not independent measurements[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- QIDI Plus5 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech Plus5 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker Factor 4: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
- QIDI Plus5 launch write-up 3dprintbeginner.com · 2026-08 · review
- QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor