Printer comparison
QIDI Plus5 vs Snapmaker J1s
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore QIDI Plus5 comparisonsMore Snapmaker J1s comparisons
| Property | QIDI Plus5COREXY | Snapmaker J1sIDEX |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | QIDI | Snapmaker |
| Class | COREXY | IDEX |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | QIDI Plus5, sold as "QIDI Plus5 3D Printer"[1][2] | Snapmaker J1S High Speed IDEX 3D Printer[3][4] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Launched 5 August 2026, 09:00 EDT / 15:00 CEST[5] | Not documented |
| Launch MSRP (USD) | $749 regular launch price; a launch-window member discount put it under $700[5] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $749.00 for the standard model on us.qidi3d.com, checked Aug 2026. Other variants: Polar Cooler bundle $899.00, Plus5 Combo $899.00, Combo + Polar Cooler $1,049.00. No compare-at price listed[1] | $1,399.00 at MatterHackers, listed as currently unavailable with a pre-order option quoting roughly 5 weeks, checked Aug 2026[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Four purchase variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), and Combo + Polar Cooler. The Polar Cooler is a pre-sale add-on shipping separately, so its specs are not Plus5 specs. Replaces the Plus4 (305x305x280, 450 W + 400 W chamber)[1][5] | The J1s differs from the original J1 by an additional part-cooling fan. Usable volume depends on the print mode: 300 x 200 x 200 mm in default and backup modes, 160 x 200 x 200 in copy mode, 150 x 200 x 200 in mirror mode[3][4] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Current flagship of QIDI's large-format line as of Aug 2026; sits below the Max4 (390x390x340)[1][6] | Not documented |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 320 x 320 x 300 mm advertised — QIDI states this is about 18% more volume than the Plus4[1][2][5] | 300 x 200 x 200 mm in default and backup modes[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 500 x 488 x 558 mm[2] | 539 x 401 x 464 mm[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | 29.0 kg net[2] | 25 kg net[3] |
| Frame construction & material | Enclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[1] | Aluminium-alloy frame with one-piece die casting and linear rails; Snapmaker quotes rail repeatability of +/-0.03 mm in X/Y and +/-0.02 mm in Z[4] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Fully enclosed, with a 3-stage air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[1][2] | Not documented |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | 65 °C, actively heated, 550 W chamber heater — reported as a 37.5% increase in heater power over the Plus4 (manufacturer claim)[2][5] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[2] | IDEX — two independently driven extruders[3][4] |
| X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size) | High-precision linear rails on X[1][5] | Linear rails[4] |
| Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?) | 1.5GT belts, 9 mm wide — wider than the 2GT 6 mm belts common in this class[1][5] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 600 mm/s (manufacturer claim)[2] | 350 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[4] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | <=20,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[2] | 10,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[4] |
| Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping | ||
| Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary) | Resonance compensation listed as a feature; implementation not named on the product page[2] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive with hardened dual gears[2] | Not documented |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Ceramic heating-plate hotend with a bimetal nozzle; 0.4 mm standard, 0.2/0.6/0.8 mm optional[2] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=370 °C claimed[1][2] | 300 °C maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=120 °C claimed, described by QIDI as an even-heating bed[1][2] | 100 °C maximum (manufacturer claim)[3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Aluminium silicone heated bed with a dual-sided textured PEI plate[2] | Custom dual-sided PEI glass plate: glossy glass on one face, PEI coating on the other[3][4] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling using an integrated load cell; QIDI describes it as direct nozzle-contact detection[2][5] | 3-point bed levelling, which Snapmaker contrasts with 9-16 point systems; assisted calibration quoted at about 10 minutes[4] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament run-out sensor, plus a filament cutter[2] | Not documented |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | 3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon; QIDI claims 99.5% capture of airborne particles and dust[1][2][5] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Not documented | 1 GB RAM, 8 GB eMMC; the 5-inch display runs Android[3] |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 100/240 VAC, 50/60 Hz[2] | AC 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 4.4 A max input; DC 24 V, 400 W max output[3] |
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | 400 W maximum output[3] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not stated on the product page. QIDI's slicer ecosystem is QIDI Studio, and Orca/PrusaSlicer are listed as supported[2] | Not named by Snapmaker; the supplied slicer is Luban, with third-party software supported[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4-inch touchscreen, 480 x 320[2] | 5-inch Android display, 1280 x 720[3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz, Ethernet, USB; 32 GB eMMC storage plus USB 2.0 flash drive[2] | Wi-Fi, USB cable, USB flash drive[3] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | AI camera with failure detection, up to 1080p, timelapse supported (low frame rate)[1][2][5] | Not documented |
| LED chamber/toolhead lighting | RGB status light[1] | Not documented |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[2] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, carbon- and glass-fibre-reinforced polymers[2] | PLA, ABS, HIPS, PC, TPU, TPE, PETG, ASA, PP, PVA, PA, PA-GF, PA-CF[3] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Less than 50 dBA claimed by the manufacturer. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | QIDI store terms: 1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[6] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- QIDI Plus5 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech Plus5 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Snapmaker J1S High Speed IDEX 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Snapmaker J1s product page snapmaker.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Plus5 launch write-up 3dprintbeginner.com · 2026-08 · review
- QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor