Printer comparison
QIDI Max4 vs Snapmaker J1s
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore QIDI Max4 comparisonsMore Snapmaker J1s comparisons
| Property | QIDI Max4COREXY | Snapmaker J1sIDEX |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | QIDI | Snapmaker |
| Class | COREXY | IDEX |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | QIDI Max4, sold as "Max4 High-Temp 3D Printer"[1][2] | Snapmaker J1S High Speed IDEX 3D Printer[3][4] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not published on QIDI's product page; the machine is listed as the current replacement for the discontinued X-Max 3 (checked Aug 2026)[1][5] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $1,099.00 standard on us.qidi3d.com against a $1,149.00 compare-at price, checked Aug 2026. Variants: Polar Cooler bundle $1,249.00 (was $1,348.00), Max4 Combo $1,249.00 (was $1,299.00), Combo + Polar Cooler $1,399.00[1] | $1,399.00 at MatterHackers, listed as currently unavailable with a pre-order option quoting roughly 5 weeks, checked Aug 2026[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Four variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), Combo + Polar Cooler. Direct replacement for the X-Max 3, which it differs from on every headline figure: 390x390x340 vs 325x325x315, 800 vs 600 mm/s, 370 vs 350 °C. Do not carry X-Max 3 specs across[1][5] | The J1s differs from the original J1 by an additional part-cooling fan. Usable volume depends on the print mode: 300 x 200 x 200 mm in default and backup modes, 160 x 200 x 200 in copy mode, 150 x 200 x 200 in mirror mode[3][4] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Current large-format flagship as of Aug 2026; QIDI's X-Max 3 page directs buyers here[1][5] | Not documented |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 390 x 390 x 340 mm advertised[1][2] | 300 x 200 x 200 mm in default and backup modes[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 558 x 578 x 612 mm[2] | 539 x 401 x 464 mm[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | 46.5 kg net[2] | 25 kg net[3] |
| Frame construction & material | Enclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[1] | Aluminium-alloy frame with one-piece die casting and linear rails; Snapmaker quotes rail repeatability of +/-0.03 mm in X/Y and +/-0.02 mm in Z[4] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Fully enclosed with a 3-in-1 air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[2] | Not documented |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | 65 °C, independent active chamber heating (manufacturer claim), with a 4-pin PWM chamber fan with RPM feedback[2] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[2] | IDEX — two independently driven extruders[3][4] |
| X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size) | Not documented | Linear rails[4] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | 2 mm lead Z screw with an anti-backlash nut[1] | Not documented |
| Stepper motors (frame size, step angle, brand if known) | FOC closed-loop stepper motors[2] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 800 mm/s (manufacturer claim, maximum)[2] | 350 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[4] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 30,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim, maximum)[2] | 10,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[4] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | 40 mm3/s rated flow (manufacturer claim)[2] | Not documented |
| Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping | ||
| Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary) | Input shaper listed as a feature[2] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive, dual hardened-steel gears, 8.9:1 reduction[2] | Not documented |
| Gear ratio & drive gear material | 8.9:1; drive gears hardened steel[2] | Not documented |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Multi-metal hotend with a ceramic heater and a 0.4 mm bimetal nozzle; ceramic throat[2] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=370 °C claimed[1][2] | 300 °C maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][4] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=120 °C claimed on a 390 x 390 mm bed QIDI markets as ultra-uniform (no thermal imaging published)[1][2] | 100 °C maximum (manufacturer claim)[3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Aluminium plate with silicone heater; double-sided magnetic PEI build plate[2] | Custom dual-sided PEI glass plate: glossy glass on one face, PEI coating on the other[3][4] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling; probe technology not named by QIDI[2] | 3-point bed levelling, which Snapmaker contrasts with 9-16 point systems; assisted calibration quoted at about 10 minutes[4] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament run-out sensor and filament tangle detection (tangle mechanism not described), plus a filament cutter[2] | Not documented |
| Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade path | QIDI Box multi-colour unit supported; sold bundled as the Max4 Combo[1][2] | Not documented |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design | Toolhead, model and auxiliary fans are all 4-pin PWM with RPM feedback; mainboard and chamber fans are closed-loop, chamber fan high-power turbo[2] | Not documented |
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | 3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon[2] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Not documented | 1 GB RAM, 8 GB eMMC; the 5-inch display runs Android[3] |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 110 V / 220-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz[2] | AC 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 4.4 A max input; DC 24 V, 400 W max output[3] |
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | 400 W maximum output[3] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not stated on the product page; QIDI Studio, PrusaSlicer and Orca are the supported slicers[2] | Not named by Snapmaker; the supplied slicer is Luban, with third-party software supported[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 5-inch touchscreen, 480 x 800[2] | 5-inch Android display, 1280 x 720[3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, LAN, USB[2] | Wi-Fi, USB cable, USB flash drive[3] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | AI camera with print-failure detection[1][2] | Not documented |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[2] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, and glass- and carbon-fibre-filled polymers[2] | PLA, ABS, HIPS, PC, TPU, TPE, PETG, ASA, PP, PVA, PA, PA-GF, PA-CF[3] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Less than 50 dBA claimed by the manufacturer. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[1] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech Max4 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Snapmaker J1S High Speed IDEX 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Snapmaker J1s product page snapmaker.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI X-Max 3 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor