Printer comparison
QIDI Max4 vs Raise3D Pro3
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
| Property | QIDI Max4COREXY | Raise3D Pro3IDEX |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | QIDI | Raise3D |
| Class | COREXY | IDEX |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | QIDI Max4, sold as "Max4 High-Temp 3D Printer"[1][2] | Raise3D Pro3 3D Printer[3][4] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not published on QIDI's product page; the machine is listed as the current replacement for the discontinued X-Max 3 (checked Aug 2026)[1][5] | Not documented |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $1,099.00 standard on us.qidi3d.com against a $1,149.00 compare-at price, checked Aug 2026. Variants: Polar Cooler bundle $1,249.00 (was $1,348.00), Max4 Combo $1,249.00 (was $1,299.00), Combo + Polar Cooler $1,399.00[1] | $2,999.00 on Raise3D's own store, available, checked Aug 2026[4] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Four variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), Combo + Polar Cooler. Direct replacement for the X-Max 3, which it differs from on every headline figure: 390x390x340 vs 325x325x315, 800 vs 600 mm/s, 370 vs 350 °C. Do not carry X-Max 3 specs across[1][5] | A crowded family with materially different prices: Pro3 $2,999, Pro3 Hyper Speed Package $4,999, Pro3 HS $4,599, Pro3 Plus HS $6,099. Build volume also changes with head count: 300 x 300 x 300 mm single-head, 255 x 300 x 300 mm dual-head. Raise3D's smaller E-series (E2 $1,999, E2CF $2,499, E3 $2,499) and the resin DF2 line are separate machines entirely[4][6][3] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Current large-format flagship as of Aug 2026; QIDI's X-Max 3 page directs buyers here[1][5] | Not documented |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 390 x 390 x 340 mm advertised[1][2] | 300 x 300 x 300 mm with one extruder; 255 x 300 x 300 mm with both[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 558 x 578 x 612 mm[2] | 620 x 626 x 760 mm[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | 46.5 kg net[2] | 52.5 kg net[3] |
| Frame construction & material | Enclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[1] | Fully assembled enclosed professional chassis[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Fully enclosed with a 3-in-1 air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[2] | Enclosed with a HEPA and activated-charcoal filter[3] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | 65 °C, independent active chamber heating (manufacturer claim), with a 4-pin PWM chamber fan with RPM feedback[2] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[2] | Dual-head with an electronic lifting system[3] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | 2 mm lead Z screw with an anti-backlash nut[1] | Not documented |
| Stepper motors (frame size, step angle, brand if known) | FOC closed-loop stepper motors[2] | Not documented |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 800 mm/s (manufacturer claim, maximum)[2] | Not documented |
| Max travel speed | Not documented | Print-head travel speed 30-150 mm/s (manufacturer figure)[3] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 30,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim, maximum)[2] | Not documented |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | 40 mm3/s rated flow (manufacturer claim)[2] | Not documented |
| Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping | ||
| Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary) | Input shaper listed as a feature[2] | Not documented |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive, dual hardened-steel gears, 8.9:1 reduction[2] | Dual print heads, 1.75 mm filament[3] |
| Gear ratio & drive gear material | 8.9:1; drive gears hardened steel[2] | Not documented |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Multi-metal hotend with a ceramic heater and a 0.4 mm bimetal nozzle; ceramic throat[2] | Not documented |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | <=370 °C claimed[1][2] | 300 °C maximum nozzle temperature[3] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm default; 0.2, 0.6, 0.8 and 1.0 mm available[3] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | <=120 °C claimed on a 390 x 390 mm bed QIDI markets as ultra-uniform (no thermal imaging published)[1][2] | 120 °C maximum build-plate temperature, silicone heater[3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Aluminium plate with silicone heater; double-sided magnetic PEI build plate[2] | Flexible steel plate with BuildTak[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling; probe technology not named by QIDI[2] | Mesh levelling with flatness detection[3] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament run-out sensor and filament tangle detection (tangle mechanism not described), plus a filament cutter[2] | Not documented |
| Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade path | QIDI Box multi-colour unit supported; sold bundled as the Max4 Combo[1][2] | Not documented |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design | Toolhead, model and auxiliary fans are all 4-pin PWM with RPM feedback; mainboard and chamber fans are closed-loop, chamber fan high-power turbo[2] | Not documented |
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | 3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon[2] | HEPA filter with activated charcoal[3] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | Not documented | Motion controller Atmel ARM Cortex-M4 at 120 MHz with FPU; logic controller NXP ARM Cortex-A9 quad-core at 1 GHz[3] |
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Not documented | 1 GB RAM, 8 GB onboard flash, embedded Linux[3] |
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 110 V / 220-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz[2] | 100-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz input; 24 V DC, 600 W output[3] |
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | 600 W output[3] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not stated on the product page; QIDI Studio, PrusaSlicer and Orca are the supported slicers[2] | Embedded Linux on the logic controller; slicing is ideaMaker. Firmware base not published[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 5-inch touchscreen, 480 x 800[2] | 7-inch touchscreen, 1024 x 600[3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, LAN, USB[2] | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB 2.0 x2; live camera[3] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | AI camera with print-failure detection[1][2] | Live camera fitted; resolution not published[3] |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[2] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, and glass- and carbon-fibre-filled polymers[2] | PLA, ABS, HIPS, PC, TPU, TPE, PETG, ASA, PP, PVA, nylon, composites and metal/wood-filled grades[3] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Not documented | Under 55 dB(A) while printing, manufacturer figure. No independent measurement; distance and method not stated[3] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[1] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | XYZ step size 0.78125 / 0.78125 / 0.078125 micron (manufacturer specification, not an accuracy measurement)[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech Max4 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Raise3D Pro3 3D Printer listing matterhackers.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Raise3D 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices) shop.raise3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI X-Max 3 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Raise3D E2 3D Printer product page shop.raise3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor