3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

QIDI Max4 vs QIDI Plus5

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

QIDI Max4 vs QIDI Plus5 — documented properties and sources
PropertyQIDI Max4COREXYQIDI Plus5COREXY
Identity
BrandQIDIQIDI
ClassCOREXYCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)QIDI Max4, sold as "Max4 High-Temp 3D Printer"[1][2]QIDI Plus5, sold as "QIDI Plus5 3D Printer"[3][4]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Not published on QIDI's product page; the machine is listed as the current replacement for the discontinued X-Max 3 (checked Aug 2026)[1][5]Launched 5 August 2026, 09:00 EDT / 15:00 CEST[6]
Launch MSRP (USD)Not documented$749 regular launch price; a launch-window member discount put it under $700[6]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$1,099.00 standard on us.qidi3d.com against a $1,149.00 compare-at price, checked Aug 2026. Variants: Polar Cooler bundle $1,249.00 (was $1,348.00), Max4 Combo $1,249.00 (was $1,299.00), Combo + Polar Cooler $1,399.00[1]$749.00 for the standard model on us.qidi3d.com, checked Aug 2026. Other variants: Polar Cooler bundle $899.00, Plus5 Combo $899.00, Combo + Polar Cooler $1,049.00. No compare-at price listed[3]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Four variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), Combo + Polar Cooler. Direct replacement for the X-Max 3, which it differs from on every headline figure: 390x390x340 vs 325x325x315, 800 vs 600 mm/s, 370 vs 350 °C. Do not carry X-Max 3 specs across[1][5]Four purchase variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), and Combo + Polar Cooler. The Polar Cooler is a pre-sale add-on shipping separately, so its specs are not Plus5 specs. Replaces the Plus4 (305x305x280, 450 W + 400 W chamber)[3][6]
Market position: superseded? successor announced?Current large-format flagship as of Aug 2026; QIDI's X-Max 3 page directs buyers here[1][5]Current flagship of QIDI's large-format line as of Aug 2026; sits below the Max4 (390x390x340)[3][1]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable390 x 390 x 340 mm advertised[1][2]320 x 320 x 300 mm advertised — QIDI states this is about 18% more volume than the Plus4[3][4][6]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)558 x 578 x 612 mm[2]500 x 488 x 558 mm[4]
Net weight (kg)46.5 kg net[2]29.0 kg net[4]
Frame construction & materialEnclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[1]Enclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[3]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFully enclosed with a 3-in-1 air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[2]Fully enclosed, with a 3-stage air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[3][4]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)65 °C, independent active chamber heating (manufacturer claim), with a 4-pin PWM chamber fan with RPM feedback[2]65 °C, actively heated, 550 W chamber heater — reported as a 37.5% increase in heater power over the Plus4 (manufacturer claim)[4][6]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)CoreXY[2]CoreXY[4]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Not documentedHigh-precision linear rails on X[3][6]
Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash2 mm lead Z screw with an anti-backlash nut[1]Not documented
Belts (type, width, e.g. Gates?)Not documented1.5GT belts, 9 mm wide — wider than the 2GT 6 mm belts common in this class[3][6]
Stepper motors (frame size, step angle, brand if known)FOC closed-loop stepper motors[2]Not documented
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)800 mm/s (manufacturer claim, maximum)[2]600 mm/s (manufacturer claim)[4]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)30,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim, maximum)[2]<=20,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim)[4]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)40 mm3/s rated flow (manufacturer claim)[2]Not documented
Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping
Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary)Input shaper listed as a feature[2]Resonance compensation listed as a feature; implementation not named on the product page[4]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameDirect drive, dual hardened-steel gears, 8.9:1 reduction[2]Direct drive with hardened dual gears[4]
Gear ratio & drive gear material8.9:1; drive gears hardened steel[2]Not documented
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Multi-metal hotend with a ceramic heater and a 0.4 mm bimetal nozzle; ceramic throat[2]Ceramic heating-plate hotend with a bimetal nozzle; 0.4 mm standard, 0.2/0.6/0.8 mm optional[4]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)<=370 °C claimed[1][2]<=370 °C claimed[3][4]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit<=120 °C claimed on a 390 x 390 mm bed QIDI markets as ultra-uniform (no thermal imaging published)[1][2]<=120 °C claimed, described by QIDI as an even-heating bed[3][4]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedAluminium plate with silicone heater; double-sided magnetic PEI build plate[2]Aluminium silicone heated bed with a dual-sided textured PEI plate[4]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling; probe technology not named by QIDI[2]Automatic levelling using an integrated load cell; QIDI describes it as direct nozzle-contact detection[4][6]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Filament run-out sensor and filament tangle detection (tangle mechanism not described), plus a filament cutter[2]Filament run-out sensor, plus a filament cutter[4]
Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade pathQIDI Box multi-colour unit supported; sold bundled as the Max4 Combo[1][2]Not documented
Cooling & Air Handling
Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting designToolhead, model and auxiliary fans are all 4-pin PWM with RPM feedback; mainboard and chamber fans are closed-loop, chamber fan high-power turbo[2]Not documented
Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA)3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon[2]3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon; QIDI claims 99.5% capture of airborne particles and dust[3][4][6]
Electronics & Power
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)110 V / 220-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz[2]100/240 VAC, 50/60 Hz[4]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Not stated on the product page; QIDI Studio, PrusaSlicer and Orca are the supported slicers[2]Not stated on the product page. QIDI's slicer ecosystem is QIDI Studio, and Orca/PrusaSlicer are listed as supported[4]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?5-inch touchscreen, 480 x 800[2]4-inch touchscreen, 480 x 320[4]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveWi-Fi, LAN, USB[2]Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz, Ethernet, USB; 32 GB eMMC storage plus USB 2.0 flash drive[4]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera with print-failure detection[1][2]AI camera with failure detection, up to 1080p, timelapse supported (low frame rate)[3][4][6]
LED chamber/toolhead lightingNot documentedRGB status light[3]
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[2]Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[4]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament listPLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, and glass- and carbon-fibre-filled polymers[2]PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, carbon- and glass-fibre-reinforced polymers[4]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[1]QIDI store terms: 1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[1]

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. QIDI Tech Max4 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. QIDI Plus5 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. QIDI Tech Plus5 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. QIDI X-Max 3 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. QIDI Plus5 launch write-up 3dprintbeginner.com · 2026-08 · review