Printer comparison
FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro vs QIDI Max4
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro comparisonsMore QIDI Max4 comparisons
| Property | FlashForge Adventurer 5M ProCOREXY | QIDI Max4COREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | FlashForge | QIDI |
| Class | COREXY | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Flashforge Adventurer 5M Pro; FlashForge's own spec table gives the machine name as "Adventurer 5M PRO" and the store abbreviates it AD5M Pro[1][2] | QIDI Max4, sold as "Max4 High-Temp 3D Printer"[3][4] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not documented | Not published on QIDI's product page; the machine is listed as the current replacement for the discontinued X-Max 3 (checked Aug 2026)[3][5] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $449.00 sale against a $599.00 regular price on flashforge.com, in stock, with a further $80 auto-applied in cart, checked Aug 2026. FlashForge's own product feed lists the first variant at $399.00, so the price you see depends on the variant selected. A refurbished AD5M Pro is listed at $339.00[1][2] | $1,099.00 standard on us.qidi3d.com against a $1,149.00 compare-at price, checked Aug 2026. Variants: Polar Cooler bundle $1,249.00 (was $1,348.00), Max4 Combo $1,249.00 (was $1,299.00), Combo + Polar Cooler $1,399.00[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Enclosed sibling of the open-frame Adventurer 5M (same 220 mm cube, same 280 °C nozzle, same 600 mm/s, but 100 °C bed vs 110 °C and no filtration). Also distinct from the AD5X, which shares the chassis but has a 300 °C nozzle, a 4-colour IFS unit and no air filtration. Refurbished units of all three are sold separately[1][6][7][2] | Four variants at the US store: Standard, Polar Cooler bundle, Combo (adds QIDI Box), Combo + Polar Cooler. Direct replacement for the X-Max 3, which it differs from on every headline figure: 390x390x340 vs 325x325x315, 800 vs 600 mm/s, 370 vs 350 °C. Do not carry X-Max 3 specs across[3][5] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Not documented | Current large-format flagship as of Aug 2026; QIDI's X-Max 3 page directs buyers here[3][5] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 220 x 220 x 220 mm advertised[1][8] | 390 x 390 x 340 mm advertised[3][4] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 380 x 400 x 453 mm excluding the spool holder[1][8] | 558 x 578 x 612 mm[4] |
| Net weight (kg) | Not documented | 46.5 kg net[4] |
| Frame construction & material | All-metal CoreXY structure (FlashForge writes it "CoXY")[1] | Enclosed CoreXY chassis; QIDI does not publish a frame-material breakdown[3] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Enclosed. Dual-layer HEPA plus activated-carbon filtration on both internal and external circulation; FlashForge claims 99% capture of particles and VOCs[1][8] | Fully enclosed with a 3-in-1 air filter (G3 pre-filter + H12 HEPA + coconut-shell activated carbon)[4] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Not documented | 65 °C, independent active chamber heating (manufacturer claim), with a 4-pin PWM chamber fan with RPM feedback[4] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY[1][9] | CoreXY[4] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Not documented | 2 mm lead Z screw with an anti-backlash nut[3] |
| Stepper motors (frame size, step angle, brand if known) | Not documented | FOC closed-loop stepper motors[4] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 600 mm/s maximum travel speed (FlashForge's own table labels the 600 mm/s figure "Max Travel Speed", not print speed)[1][8] | 800 mm/s (manufacturer claim, maximum)[4] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 20,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[1][8] | 30,000 mm/s2 (manufacturer claim, maximum)[4] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | Not documented | 40 mm3/s rated flow (manufacturer claim)[4] |
| Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping | ||
| Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary) | Not documented | Input shaper listed as a feature[4] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Direct drive, one extruder[1][8] | Direct drive, dual hardened-steel gears, 8.9:1 reduction[4] |
| Gear ratio & drive gear material | Not documented | 8.9:1; drive gears hardened steel[4] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Not documented | Multi-metal hotend with a ceramic heater and a 0.4 mm bimetal nozzle; ceramic throat[4] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 280 °C claimed[1][8] | <=370 °C claimed[3][4] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | 0.4 mm standard; 0.25, 0.6 and 0.8 mm available[1] | Not documented |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Conflicting manufacturer figures: FlashForge's own spec table says 100 °C platform temperature, 3DJake's table says 110 °C. Lower vendor figure used as the sortable value[1][8] | <=120 °C claimed on a 390 x 390 mm bed QIDI markets as ultra-uniform (no thermal imaging published)[3][4] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Flexible removable PEI-coated spring-steel plate[1][8] | Aluminium plate with silicone heater; double-sided magnetic PEI build plate[4] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling; FlashForge does not name the probe technology on the product page[1] | Automatic levelling; probe technology not named by QIDI[4] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Filament run-out reminder[1] | Filament run-out sensor and filament tangle detection (tangle mechanism not described), plus a filament cutter[4] |
| Multi-material/multi-color capability or official upgrade path | Not documented | QIDI Box multi-colour unit supported; sold bundled as the Max4 Combo[3][4] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design | Not documented | Toolhead, model and auxiliary fans are all 4-pin PWM with RPM feedback; mainboard and chamber fans are closed-loop, chamber fan high-power turbo[4] |
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | Internal plus external circulation with a HEPA and activated-carbon filter[1][8] | 3-in-1 filtration: G3 pre-filter, H12 HEPA, coconut-shell activated carbon[4] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | AC 100-120 V / 200-240 V, 50/60 Hz[1][8] | 110 V / 220-240 V AC, 50/60 Hz[4] |
| Total rated power draw | 350 W rated[1][8] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not documented | Not stated on the product page; QIDI Studio, PrusaSlicer and Orca are the supported slicers[4] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4.3-inch screen[1][8] | 5-inch touchscreen, 480 x 800[4] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Wi-Fi, Ethernet, USB[1][8] | Wi-Fi, LAN, USB[4] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Camera monitoring listed; resolution and framerate not published[1] | AI camera with print-failure detection[3][4] |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Power-loss recovery, plus automatic shutdown[1] | Power-loss recovery listed; mechanism not published[4] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | PLA and PETG on the 0.4 mm nozzle; ABS/ASA; TPU, PLA-CF and PETG-CF on 0.6/0.8 mm nozzles[1] | PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU, PA, PC, and glass- and carbon-fibre-filled polymers[4] |
| Noise & Power Consumption | ||
| Noise: claimed dB and independently measured dB (distance/method) | Manufacturer claim only, no independent measurement: 50 dB in low-noise mode, 55 dB in standard mode. Distance and method not stated[1] | Not documented |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | FlashForge's Adventurer 5M page states a 12-month limited warranty for that model; the 5M Pro page does not restate it[6] | 1-year coverage, lifetime tech guidance, 14-day no-reason return[3] |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Flashforge Adventurer 5M Pro product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Flashforge store product feed (live prices and stock) flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Max4 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI Tech Max4 technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- QIDI X-Max 3 product page (US store) us.qidi3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Flashforge Adventurer 5M product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Flashforge AD5X multicolour 3D printer product page flashforge.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- FlashForge Adventurer 5M Pro technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Flashforge printer buyer's guide, 5M to Creator 5 eolasprints.com · 2026-08 · review