3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K vs Sovol Zero

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K vs Sovol Zero — documented properties and sources
PropertyELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16KRESINSovol ZeroCOREXY
Identity
BrandELEGOOSovol
ClassRESINCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K. Elegoo's product handle is saturn-4-ultra-16k-10inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer. 3DJake item number ELG-50.101.038300[1][2]Sovol Zero 3D Printer[3][4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$649.99 in us.elegoo.com's live Shopify product JSON, in stock, with compare_at_price also $649.99 — no discount active at the time of checking (Aug 2026)[2]$389.00 on sovol3d.com against a $499.00 compare-at price, but marked Sold out, checked Aug 2026. Sovol's own announcement article quotes from $359.00[3][4][5]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Distinct from the earlier Saturn 4 Ultra (12K); the 16K carries a 15120 x 6230 masking LCD with 14 x 19 um pixels. Elegoo also sells it bundled with a Mercury Plus V2.0 wash/cure station and as a pre-owned SKU, neither of which is the printer-only price[1][2]No sibling variants at the time of checking. Sovol positions it against the Voron 0 and Bambu Lab P1P. Note the bed and nozzle limits are higher than the larger SV08 (120 vs 100 °C bed, 350 vs 300 °C nozzle), so SV08 figures must not be carried across[3][5][6]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable211.68 x 118.37 x 220 mm[1]152.4 x 152.4 x 152.5 mm advertised[3][5]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)327.4 x 329.2 x 548 mm[1]345 x 420 x 475 mm[3]
Frame construction & materialMetal housing with a flip-up cover and a drip guard[1]Full linear rails on all axes; CoreXY with two motors sharing the moving mass[5]
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFlip-up lid (Elegoo's own naming) over an open frame; UV-blocking cover[1]Fully enclosed[5]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)MSLA with tilt-release: the vat tilts to peel each layer rather than pulling straight up. Elegoo claims the mechanism cuts curing time by 25%. Single Z axis, Z precision 0.02 mm[1]CoreXY[5]
X-axis guide type (rods / linear rails / V-wheels; size)Not documentedLinear rails on all axes[5]
Speed & Acceleration
Max print speed (claimed, mm/s)Not documented1200 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim). Sovol's own material acknowledges 700 mm/s as the realistic figure for detailed prints[3][5]
Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²)Not documented40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[3][5]
Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s)Not documented<=50 mm3/s (manufacturer claim)[3]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedPlanetary-gear direct-drive extruder[3]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Not documentedCeramic heating plate. Brass or hardened-steel nozzles in 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8/1.0 mm[3]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented<=350 °C claimed[3][5]
Stock nozzle material (brass / hardened steel / plated copper / composite tip)Not documentedBrass or hardened steel, buyer's choice[3]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documented<=120 °C claimed; Sovol states the bed is AC-heated[3][5]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedDouble-sided PEI steel plate[3]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling, plus intelligent mechanical sensor alarms[1]Eddy-current scanning combined with pressure (force) sensing — Sovol describes it as an inductive sensor plus force sensor[3][5]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Not documentedFilament sensor fitted; type and location not published[3][5]
Electronics & Power
Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded LinuxNot documentedAllwinner H616, 1 GB RAM, 8 GB eMMC, 64-bit[3]
PSU (brand, wattage, rail voltage)Not documented150 W / 24 V (this is the DC supply; the bed is separately AC-heated per Sovol)[3][5]
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 6 A[1]Not documented
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Elegoo EL3D-4.0 system. Slicer is CHITUBOX[1]Not named on the product page beyond OTA updates and OrcaSlicer support; Sovol markets the machine as open source[3][5]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1]Not documented
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB and Wi-Fi, with WLAN file transfer[1]Ethernet and Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz, WPA2 only (WPA3 not supported)[3][5]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera, 1920 x 1080[1]Built-in camera for monitoring; resolution not published[3][5]
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?AI camera with print-failure detection[1]Not documented
Calibration Routines & QoL
Assembly level & time from unbox to first printNot documentedArrives preassembled[5]
Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery
Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?)Not documentedPower-loss recovery supported; mechanism not published[3][5]
Materials Support
Officially supported filament list405 nm photopolymer resin; the heated tank is aimed at high-viscosity and high-speed resins. No closed compatibility list published[1]PLA, PETG, TPU, PETG-CF, ABS, ASA, PA, PC[3]
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD10-inch 16K monochrome masking LCD, 15120 x 6230 px, XY pixel pitch 14 x 19 um (manufacturer specification)[1][2]Not documented
Light sourceCOB light source with a Fresnel collimating lens[1]Not documented
Light uniformity & intensityLight energy at the plate quoted as 5 mW/cm2, i.e. 5000 uW/cm2 (manufacturer claim, attributed to the tilt-release and Fresnel optics). No uniformity percentage published and no independent measurement[1]Not documented
Vertical print speedmm/hUp to 150 mm/h (manufacturer claim). Elegoo does not state the layer height or resin type the figure assumes[1]Not documented
Release filmPFA release film. No rated life published[1]Not documented
LCD life & replaceabilityMasking LCD shielded by tempered 9H protective glass. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state user replaceability[1]Not documented
Resin vat & feedingReplaceable resin vat with a dual pour spout and a drip guard. Heated tank with automatic temperature measurement: Elegoo states resin reaches 25 C in 26 minutes from a 5 C ambient at 50% humidity (manufacturer figure). Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K live Shopify product JSON us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Sovol Zero 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  5. Sovol Zero announcement article (Sovol blog) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor