Printer comparison
ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K vs Snapmaker Artisan
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K comparisonsMore Snapmaker Artisan comparisons
| Property | ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16KRESIN | Snapmaker ArtisanIDEX |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | ELEGOO | Snapmaker |
| Class | RESIN | IDEX |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K. Elegoo's product handle is saturn-4-ultra-16k-10inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer. 3DJake item number ELG-50.101.038300[1][2] | Snapmaker Artisan 3-in-1 (3D printing, laser, CNC)[3] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $649.99 in us.elegoo.com's live Shopify product JSON, in stock, with compare_at_price also $649.99 — no discount active at the time of checking (Aug 2026)[2] | $2,996.00 against a $5,046.00 compare-at price on us.snapmaker.com, but marked Unavailable, checked Aug 2026[3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Distinct from the earlier Saturn 4 Ultra (12K); the 16K carries a 15120 x 6230 masking LCD with 14 x 19 um pixels. Elegoo also sells it bundled with a Mercury Plus V2.0 wash/cure station and as a pre-owned SKU, neither of which is the printer-only price[1][2] | The 3D-printing work area depends on which nozzle is used: 350 x 400 x 400 mm in dual-nozzle mode, 375 x 400 x 400 with the left nozzle only, 400 x 400 x 400 with the right nozzle only. The bed is also zoned: a 260 x 260 mm inner zone reaches 110 °C while the outer zone stops at 80 °C. A quoted "400x400x400 / 110 °C" therefore describes no single real configuration. Laser module is 10 W or 40 W[3] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 211.68 x 118.37 x 220 mm[1] | 350 x 400 x 400 mm in dual-nozzle mode (400 x 400 x 400 with the right nozzle alone)[3] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 327.4 x 329.2 x 548 mm[1] | 580 x 620 x 634 mm bare; 665 x 943 x 705 mm with the enclosure[3] |
| Net weight (kg) | Not documented | Snapmaker publishes package weights rather than a net weight: 37.3 kg (package A) plus 25.2 kg (package B); the premium bundle splits as 37.3 + 19.5 + 1.91 kg[3] |
| Frame construction & material | Metal housing with a flip-up cover and a drip guard[1] | Not documented |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Flip-up lid (Elegoo's own naming) over an open frame; UV-blocking cover[1] | Enclosure available; the enclosed footprint is quoted separately at 665 x 943 x 705 mm[3] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | MSLA with tilt-release: the vat tilts to peel each layer rather than pulling straight up. Elegoo claims the mechanism cuts curing time by 25%. Single Z axis, Z precision 0.02 mm[1] | IDEX — two independently driven print heads[3] |
| Z-axis: leadscrew count & type, sync mechanism, anti-backlash | Not documented | Z-axis lead 8 mm; X and Y leads 40 mm[3] |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | Not documented | TMC2209[3] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | Not documented | 180 mm/s maximum recommended print speed (manufacturer figure — a recommendation, not a peak claim)[3] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | Not documented | 300 °C maximum (manufacturer claim)[3] |
| Stock nozzle size & sizes included in box | Not documented | 0.4 mm standard; 0.2, 0.6 and 0.8 mm optional[3] |
| Stock nozzle material (brass / hardened steel / plated copper / composite tip) | Not documented | Brass standard, hardened steel optional[3] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | Not documented | 110 °C in the 260 x 260 mm inner zone; 80 °C in the outer zone[3] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Not documented | Dual-sided textured PEI sheet[3] |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling, plus intelligent mechanical sensor alarms[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 6 A[1] | Not documented |
| Total rated power draw | Not documented | Integrated controller rated 300 W + 450 W[3] |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Elegoo EL3D-4.0 system. Slicer is CHITUBOX[1] | Not named by Snapmaker; the controller runs Android and the supplied software is Snapmaker Luban, with third-party software supported[3] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 4-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1] | 7-inch touchscreen[3] |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | USB and Wi-Fi, with WLAN file transfer[1] | Wi-Fi, USB cable, USB flash drive[3] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | AI camera, 1920 x 1080[1] | Not documented |
| Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it? | AI camera with print-failure detection[1] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | 405 nm photopolymer resin; the heated tank is aimed at high-viscosity and high-speed resins. No closed compatibility list published[1] | PLA, ABS, ASA, PETG, TPU (>=90 Shore A), breakaway support, PVA, HIPS, nylon, and carbon/glass-fibre reinforced variants[3] |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | Repeatability +/-0.05 mm (manufacturer specification, not an independent measurement)[3] |
| Resin & MSLA | ||
| Masking LCD | 10-inch 16K monochrome masking LCD, 15120 x 6230 px, XY pixel pitch 14 x 19 um (manufacturer specification)[1][2] | Not documented |
| Light source | COB light source with a Fresnel collimating lens[1] | Not documented |
| Light uniformity & intensity | Light energy at the plate quoted as 5 mW/cm2, i.e. 5000 uW/cm2 (manufacturer claim, attributed to the tilt-release and Fresnel optics). No uniformity percentage published and no independent measurement[1] | Not documented |
| Vertical print speedmm/h | Up to 150 mm/h (manufacturer claim). Elegoo does not state the layer height or resin type the figure assumes[1] | Not documented |
| Release film | PFA release film. No rated life published[1] | Not documented |
| LCD life & replaceability | Masking LCD shielded by tempered 9H protective glass. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state user replaceability[1] | Not documented |
| Resin vat & feeding | Replaceable resin vat with a dual pour spout and a drip guard. Heated tank with automatic temperature measurement: Elegoo states resin reaches 25 C in 26 minutes from a 5 C ambient at 50% humidity (manufacturer figure). Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K live Shopify product JSON us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Snapmaker Artisan 3-in-1 product page us.snapmaker.com · 2026-08 · vendor