3D Printing Info

Printer comparison

ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K vs Prusa CORE One L+

Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.

2 selected · all documented properties

ELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16K vs Prusa CORE One L+ — documented properties and sources
PropertyELEGOO Saturn 4 Ultra 16KRESINPrusa CORE One L+COREXY
Identity
BrandELEGOOPrusa Research
ClassRESINCOREXY
Identity & Market
Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first)Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K. Elegoo's product handle is saturn-4-ultra-16k-10inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer. 3DJake item number ELG-50.101.038300[1][2]Prusa CORE One L+[3]
Release date (announcement and actual shipping)Not documentedThe CORE One L+ refresh was announced on 13 August 2026 and went on sale immediately, with the first assembled units shipping at once; it adds GT1.5 belts and an integrated nozzle wiper to the CORE One L[4]
Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry)$649.99 in us.elegoo.com's live Shopify product JSON, in stock, with compare_at_price also $649.99 — no discount active at the time of checking (Aug 2026)[2]$1,850.93 on prusa3d.com, Aug 2026; $1,925.00 with the Advanced Filtration bundle. Prusa's own comparison text on the CORE One+ page quotes "from $1,799", which does not match the live e-shop price[5][6]
Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk)Distinct from the earlier Saturn 4 Ultra (12K); the 16K carries a 15120 x 6230 masking LCD with 14 x 19 um pixels. Elegoo also sells it bundled with a Mercury Plus V2.0 wash/cure station and as a pre-owned SKU, neither of which is the printer-only price[1][2]Larger sibling of the CORE One+ (Gen 2): 300 x 300 x 330 mm against 250 x 220 x 270 mm, 60 C chamber against 55 C, 21.9 kg against 22.5 kg (the L is the lighter of the two despite being larger). A CORE One L to CORE One L+ upgrade kit exists, so "CORE One L" and "CORE One L+" are different revisions. A Critical Infrastructure Edition is also listed[3][6][5]
Physical & Frame
Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable211.68 x 118.37 x 220 mm[1]300 x 300 x 330 mm, which Prusa states as 29.7 litres[3]
Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang)327.4 x 329.2 x 548 mm[1]469 x 521 x 635 mm[3]
Net weight (kg)Not documented21.9 kg (48.3 lb)[3]
Frame construction & materialMetal housing with a flip-up cover and a drip guard[1]Not documented
Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lidFlip-up lid (Elegoo's own naming) over an open frame; UV-blocking cover[1]Fully enclosed with a chamber door-open sensor and an active convection heated chamber up to 60 C; advanced filtration is an optional add-on[3]
Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred)Not documentedActive convection chamber heating, maximum 60 C (manufacturer figure)[3]
Kinematics & Motion Hardware
Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other)MSLA with tilt-release: the vat tilts to peel each layer rather than pulling straight up. Elegoo claims the mechanism cuts curing time by 25%. Single Z axis, Z precision 0.02 mm[1]CoreXY - stated in Prusa's CORE One+ comparison table[6]
Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?)Not documentedTrinamic drivers on the custom xBuddy mainboard (Prusa's CORE One L+ specification says "custom 32-bit xBuddy mainboard with STM32 processor & Trinamic drivers"; it does not give the driver part number)[3]
Vibration Compensation / Input Shaping
Input shaping supported? Implementation (Klipper IS / Marlin ZV / proprietary)Not documentedInput Shaper and Phase Stepping with an integrated accelerometer[3]
Extruder
Type (direct drive / bowden) & design nameNot documentedNextruder direct drive with a 10:1 planetary gear system; all-metal hotend with an aluminium heatsink and a tool-free quick-swap nozzle system[3]
Gear ratio & drive gear materialNot documented10:1 planetary gearbox[3]
Hotend & Nozzle
Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?)Not documentedTool-free quick-swap nozzle system; Prusa brass high-flow CHT 0.4 mm pre-mounted plus an abrasive-resistant 0.4 mm nozzle in the box[3]
Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values)Not documented290 C claimed max nozzle temperature. The optional HT hotend that raises this to 400 C was announced for September 2026 availability, so it is not a shipping specification as of Aug 2026[3][4]
Heated Bed & Surface
Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limitNot documented120 C max heatbed temperature[3]
Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sidedNot documentedMagnetic heatbed with removable dual-sided PEI spring-steel sheets; a satin powder-coated sheet is supplied[3]
Leveling & Z-Offset
Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe)Automatic levelling, plus intelligent mechanical sensor alarms[1]High-precision load-cell sensor - fully automatic first-layer calibration and mesh bed levelling restricted to the print area[3]
Filament Handling & Detection
Filament runout sensor (type, location)Not documentedTwo filament sensors, plus a chamber door-open sensor and five Semitec thermistors[3]
Electronics & Power
Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist)Not documentedCustom 32-bit xBuddy mainboard with an STM32 processor[3]
Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto)100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 6 A[1]Not documented
Total rated power drawNot documentedStandby 16 W, preheating about 630 W, average printing about 90 W on PLA and about 215 W on ASA (manufacturer figures)[3]
Firmware & Openness
Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary)Elegoo EL3D-4.0 system. Slicer is CHITUBOX[1]Open-source Prusa Buddy firmware. The source tree (prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware-Buddy on GitHub) explicitly covers the Original Prusa MINI/MINI+, MK4, XL and CORE One and was last pushed to in August 2026. Updates are applied from a USB drive, through Prusa Connect or through the Prusa mobile app[7][8]
Connectivity, UI & Camera
Display: size, type, touch?4-inch capacitive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1]3.5-inch 65k-colour touch screen (CORE One family)[6]
On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.)Not documentedOn-device touch UI with Prusa Connect and Prusa mobile app remote control[6]
WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-driveUSB and Wi-Fi, with WLAN file transfer[1]Ethernet, NFC receiver and Wi-Fi through a physically removable module, which Prusa offers for high-security offline installations[3]
Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps)AI camera, 1920 x 1080[1]Not documented
Camera features: live monitor, timelapse, AI failure detection (spaghetti detection) — how real is it?AI camera with print-failure detection[1]Not documented
Materials Support
Officially supported filament list405 nm photopolymer resin; the heated tank is aimed at high-viscosity and high-speed resins. No closed compatibility list published[1]PLA, PETG, Flex, PVA, PC, PP, CPE, PVB, and with Advanced Filtration also ABS, ASA, HIPS and PA[3]
Safety
Thermal runaway protection (verify in firmware source if at all possible)Not documentedOpen-source firmware on the xBuddy platform, which carries hardware overcurrent protection cutting heater and heatbed power above 15 A[9][7]
Reliability, Support & Ecosystem
Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes)Not documented2-year warranty for consumers in the EU, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year for EU enterprises and 1 year for the rest of the world, which includes the United States. A printer bought from a reseller or privately carries 1 year from the original delivery date and is handled by the reseller. Prusa advertises 24/7 chat and e-mail support in seven languages[10][8]
Resin & MSLA
Masking LCD10-inch 16K monochrome masking LCD, 15120 x 6230 px, XY pixel pitch 14 x 19 um (manufacturer specification)[1][2]Not documented
Light sourceCOB light source with a Fresnel collimating lens[1]Not documented
Light uniformity & intensityLight energy at the plate quoted as 5 mW/cm2, i.e. 5000 uW/cm2 (manufacturer claim, attributed to the tilt-release and Fresnel optics). No uniformity percentage published and no independent measurement[1]Not documented
Vertical print speedmm/hUp to 150 mm/h (manufacturer claim). Elegoo does not state the layer height or resin type the figure assumes[1]Not documented
Release filmPFA release film. No rated life published[1]Not documented
LCD life & replaceabilityMasking LCD shielded by tempered 9H protective glass. Elegoo publishes no rated screen life in hours and does not state user replaceability[1]Not documented
Resin vat & feedingReplaceable resin vat with a dual pour spout and a drip guard. Heated tank with automatic temperature measurement: Elegoo states resin reaches 25 C in 26 minutes from a 5 C ambient at 50% humidity (manufacturer figure). Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1]Not documented

Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.

Sources for this comparison

  1. Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  2. Elegoo Saturn 4 Ultra 16K live Shopify product JSON us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  3. Prusa CORE One L+ product page (CORE One L+ Technical Specifications) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  4. Prusa blog - Better Prints, Easier Use: Prusa XL+, CORE One L+ and CORE One+ (Gen 2), Our Big Product Update (published 13 August 2026) blog.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc
  5. Prusa 3D printers category listing with live e-shop prices, Aug 2026 prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  6. Prusa CORE One+ (Gen 2) product page (Technical Parameters + CORE One+/MK4S/CORE One L comparison) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  7. GitHub - prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware-Buddy (firmware for MINI, MK4, XL and CORE One) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
  8. Original Prusa MK4S 3D Printer product page (Technical Parameters + CORE One+/MK4S/XL comparison table) prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
  9. Prusa blog - Original Prusa MK4 is here (published 29 March 2023), including the MK4 specification table and launch prices blog.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc
  10. Prusa Knowledge Base - Warranty help.prusa3d.com · 2026-08 · doc