Printer comparison
ELEGOO Mars 5 vs UltiMaker Factor 4
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore ELEGOO Mars 5 comparisonsMore UltiMaker Factor 4 comparisons
| Property | ELEGOO Mars 5RESIN | UltiMaker Factor 4INDUSTRIAL |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | ELEGOO | UltiMaker |
| Class | RESIN | INDUSTRIAL |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | ELEGOO Mars 5. Elegoo's own product handle spells the configuration out: mars-5-4k-6-6inch-monochrome-lcd-resin-3d-printer[1][2][3] | UltiMaker Factor 4[4] |
| Release date (announcement and actual shipping) | Not documented | Announced 22 April 2024, shown at HANNOVER MESSE 2024 (22-26 April) and TCT Asia (7-9 May 2024)[4] |
| Launch MSRP (USD) | Not documented | Starting at approximately $20,000[4] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | $179.00 on us.elegoo.com against a $225.00 compare-at price (20% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026. The live product feed shows the same $179.00[2][3] | Not documented |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Sold beside the Mars 5 Ultra, which is a materially different machine: 7-inch 9K masking LCD vs 6.6-inch 4K, 18 um vs 35 um pixels, 150 vs 70 mm/h, a 4.0-inch capacitive control screen vs 3.5-inch resistive, and Wi-Fi (the plain Mars 5 is USB only). Elegoo lists ten further Mars 5 / Mars 5 Ultra bundle SKUs pairing the printers with Mercury wash-and-cure stations at $302-$432; those are not printer prices[1][5][2][3] | Shares the 330 x 240 x 300 mm envelope with the UltiMaker S5, S7 and S8, which is the single most contaminated figure in UltiMaker's range. What separates the Factor 4 is the actively controlled 70 °C build volume, the climate-controlled 6-spool material station holding humidity below 15%, and HEPA filtration. UltiMaker also sells a Factor 4 Plus[4] |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | 143.43 x 89.6 x 150 mm[1] | 330 x 240 x 300 mm[4] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 230 x 230 x 433.5 mm[1] | Not documented |
| Net weight (kg) | Approximately 6.6 kg[1] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Metal frame with adjustable foot pads[1] | Not documented |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Open-frame MSLA with a removable UV-blocking cover[1] | Enclosed with actively controlled chamber airflow and a HEPA filter[4] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Not documented | Build volume temperature controlled up to 70 °C with actively controlled chamber airflow (manufacturer specification)[4] |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | MSLA — UV LCD masked stereolithography. Single Z axis, build plate lifting straight out of the vat (no tilt-release on this model, unlike the Mars 5 Ultra)[1][5] | Direct-drive dual extrusion; kinematic layout not stated in the source checked[4] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Not documented | Direct-drive dual extrusion[4] |
| Filament diameter | Not documented | 2.85 mm[4] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | Not documented | 340 °C maximum with the high-temperature print core (manufacturer claim)[4] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Laser-engraved build plate with a quick-release design[1] | Not documented |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Automatic levelling, one click. An intelligent mechanical sensor detects resin residue to prevent LCD damage[1] | Not documented |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Spool holder location & max spool size; drybox compatibility | Not documented | Automatic climate-controlled material handling and storage station holding humidity below 15%, storing up to six spools[4] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Chamber/exhaust fan & filtration (activated carbon / HEPA) | Not documented | HEPA filter[4] |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Input voltage (110/220 V, switch or auto) | 100-240 V, 50/60 Hz, 24 V 3 A[1] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Not named by Elegoo. Supported slicers are Voxeldance Tango and CHITUBOX; STL and OBJ accepted[1] | Not documented |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 3.5-inch resistive touchscreen (control panel — not the masking LCD, see W1)[1] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | USB only — no Wi-Fi on this model[1] | Not documented |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | 405 nm photopolymer resin. Elegoo does not publish a resin compatibility list on this listing[1] | UltiMaker-branded PPS CF, PLA, Tough PLA, Nylon, PETG, PET CF and PVA, plus validated third-party materials from BASF Forward AM, Kimya, Polymaker, LEHVOSS and Jabil[4] |
| Safety | ||
| Firmware safety limits (max temp cutoffs — exact values) | Intelligent overheating protection stops printing above 80 °C[1] | Not documented |
| Independently Measured Performance | ||
| Dimensional accuracy measurements (third-party, with numbers) | Not documented | Dimensional accuracy within +/-0.2 mm or +/-0.2% of feature nominal length; UltiMaker states it tested over 95% print-completion success. Manufacturer figures, not independent measurements[4] |
| Resin & MSLA | ||
| Masking LCD | 6.6-inch 4K monochrome masking LCD, 4098 x 2560 px, XY pixel pitch 35 x 35 um (manufacturer specification)[1][3] | Not documented |
| Light source | COB LED at 405 nm. Elegoo does not publish an LED count or collimating optics for this model[1] | Not documented |
| Vertical print speedmm/h | 70 mm/h maximum (manufacturer claim). Elegoo does not state the layer height or resin type the figure assumes[1] | Not documented |
| Release film | PFA film with a non-stick surface. No rated life published[1] | Not documented |
| Resin vat & feeding | Replaceable resin tank with two pouring openings and screw caps. An intelligent mechanical sensor detects resin residue in the vat. Capacity not published; no auto-refill[1] | Not documented |
| Fume extraction | None fitted. Elegoo states compatibility with the separately sold MARS MATE air purifier for odour reduction[1] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Elegoo Mars 5 product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO Mars 5 Series collection (live US prices) us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- ELEGOO Mars 5 Series live product feed us.elegoo.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- UltiMaker Factor 4: technical specifications and pricing 3dprintingindustry.com · 2026-08 · review
- Elegoo Mars 5 Ultra product page (technical data and description) 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor