Printer comparison
Bambu Lab X2D vs Sovol SV08 Max
Compare hardware, build volume, printing specifications, dated prices and sources.
2 selected · all documented properties
Open these two in the interactive comparisonMore Bambu Lab X2D comparisonsMore Sovol SV08 Max comparisons
| Property | Bambu Lab X2DCOREXY | Sovol SV08 MaxCOREXY |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Brand | Bambu Lab | Sovol |
| Class | COREXY | COREXY |
| Identity & Market | ||
| Manufacturer & exact marketed model name (verify the exact product identity first) | Bambu Lab X2D; spec PDF header "X2D Spec"[1] | Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer[2][3] |
| Street price (USD; dated snapshot per entry) | From $649.00 on the Bambu Lab US store, Aug 2026; the compare page shows the same $649 figure[4] | $1,099.00 on sovol3d.com against a $1,299.00 compare-at price (15% off), in stock, checked Aug 2026[2][3] |
| Variants & sibling models — and how to tell them apart (spec-contamination risk) | Dual-nozzle machine: a main hotend with a permanent-magnet synchronous extruder motor and an auxiliary hotend with a plain stepper motor, so the two nozzles are not equivalent. Bambu publishes four different build volumes depending on which nozzle is used, and a shorter list of materials for the auxiliary nozzle. Physical dimensions (392x406x478 mm) are shared with the P2S but the X2D is 16.25 kg against the P2S's 14.9 kg[1][5] | Much larger sibling of the SV08. Differences that matter in a spec box: 500x500x500 vs 350x350x345, 50 vs 30 mm3/s, TMC5160 XY drivers vs TMC2209, CAN bus, HDMI output, dual 0.4 mm nozzles in the box, and a separately sold chamber-heating module. A chamber heating module for the SV08 Max is listed at $69[2][6][7][3] |
| Market position: superseded? successor announced? | Current model, launched into the slot vacated by the discontinued X1-Carbon[4] | Not documented |
| Physical & Frame | ||
| Build volume X×Y×Z (mm) — advertised vs actually usable | Main nozzle 256 x 256 x 260 mm; auxiliary nozzle 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; dual-nozzle printing 235.5 x 256 x 256 mm; total volume for two nozzles 256 x 256 x 260 mm. The sortable figure below is the main-nozzle volume[1] | 500 x 500 x 500 mm advertised[2][6] |
| Machine footprint (mm) & clearance needed (cable/spool overhang) | 392 x 406 x 478 mm[1] | 700 x 710 x 750 mm excluding the spool holder. Shipping cartons: 810 x 820 x 360 mm plus a 775 x 728 x 155 mm enclosure-kit box[2][6] |
| Net weight (kg) | 16.25 kg net[1] | Not documented |
| Frame construction & material | Plastic and steel chassis; plastic, glass and metal outer frame[1] | Aluminium-extrusion CoreXY frame supplied as a kit; Sovol ships it in two cartons, one of which is an enclosure kit[2] |
| Enclosure: open / enclosed; panel material; door/lid | Fully enclosed with a door sensor, active chamber heating to 65 C, and a G3 + H12 HEPA + granulated coconut-shell carbon filter stack with an external exhaust fan[1] | Enclosure kit shipped with the machine (separate carton). A chamber-heating module is sold separately at $69[2][3] |
| Passive chamber temperature reached (if enclosed; measured values preferred) | Active chamber heating, maximum 65 C (manufacturer figure)[1] | Not documented |
| Kinematics & Motion Hardware | ||
| Kinematics (bedslinger i3 / CoreXY / other) | CoreXY - not stated in the spec sheet; Bambu groups the X2D with its enclosed CoreXY machines and publishes the same 20000 mm/s2 acceleration figure[1] | CoreXY[2][6] |
| Stepper drivers (exact model e.g. TMC2209; UART/SPI; sensorless homing?) | Not documented | Z axis 4 x TMC2209; A axis 1 x TMC5160; B axis 1 x TMC5160. Toolhead communication over CAN bus[2][6] |
| Speed & Acceleration | ||
| Max print speed (claimed, mm/s) | 1000 mm/s max toolhead speed (manufacturer claim); no independent measurement found[1] | 700 mm/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][6] |
| Max acceleration (claimed, mm/s²) | 20000 mm/s2 max toolhead acceleration (manufacturer claim)[1] | 40,000 mm/s2 maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][6] |
| Max volumetric flow claimed (mm³/s) | 40 mm3/s, measured by Bambu on a 250 mm round single-wall model in Bambu ABS at 280 C[1] | 50 mm3/s maximum (manufacturer claim)[2][6] |
| Extruder | ||
| Type (direct drive / bowden) & design name | Two direct-drive extruders: main extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a Bambu high-precision permanent-magnet synchronous motor, auxiliary extruder with hardened-steel gears driven by a stepper motor[1] | Direct drive with auxiliary (assisted) filament feeding[2][6] |
| Hotend & Nozzle | ||
| Hotend design (proprietary/standard; quick-swap mechanism?) | Dual hardened-steel nozzles; 0.4 mm included, 0.2/0.4/0.6/0.8 mm supported; built-in filament cutter[1] | Ceramic heater. Two 0.4 mm nozzles supplied as standard; 0.4/0.6/0.8 mm optional[2][6] |
| Max nozzle temp claimed AND firmware max temp limit (both values) | 300 C claimed max nozzle temperature[1] | <=300 °C claimed[2][6] |
| Heated Bed & Surface | ||
| Max bed temp claimed AND firmware limit | 120 C max heatbed temperature[1] | <=100 °C claimed[2][6] |
| Bed surface (material, texture, coating), single/double-sided | Flexible steel plate, Textured PEI included; Smooth PEI, Cool Plate SuperTack and Engineering Plate supported[1] | Not documented |
| Leveling & Z-Offset | ||
| Auto bed leveling: probe technology (inductive / strain gauge / load cell / touch probe) | Not documented | Not stated on the SV08 Max page; the SV08 family uses an inductive sensor plus pressure sensor[2] |
| Filament Handling & Detection | ||
| Filament runout sensor (type, location) | Yes - run-out sensor, tangle sensor and door sensor; odometry with AMS[1] | Filament runout detection plus filament tangle/clog detection. Sovol does not describe the tangle or clog mechanism[2][6] |
| Cooling & Air Handling | ||
| Part-cooling fan(s): count, size, ducting design | Part-cooling fan, hotend cooling fan, main control board fan, chamber heat-circulation fan, auxiliary part-cooling fan and external exhaust fan, all closed-loop controlled[1] | Not documented |
| Electronics & Power | ||
| Mainboard model & MCU (exact chip markings if teardowns exist) | Motion controller dual-core Cortex-M4 plus single-core Cortex-M7; application processor quad-core ARM with a dedicated NPU (2 TOPS per the compare page)[1][8] | Not documented |
| Host computer (SoC, RAM, storage) if firmware runs on embedded Linux | Not documented | 1 GB RAM (512 MB + 512 MB), 8 GB eMMC[2][6] |
| Total rated power draw | High-voltage version 1600 W at 220 V, low-voltage version 1100 W at 110 V; steady state 250 W printing PLA and 550 W printing PC at 25 C ambient[1] | Not documented |
| Firmware & Openness | ||
| Firmware base & current version (Klipper fork / Marlin fork / proprietary) | Closed-source proprietary firmware - not a Klipper or Marlin derivative, and no printer-firmware source is published. The bambulab GitHub organisation carries 11 repositories (Bambu Studio, wxWidgets/boost/ffmpeg forks, the wiki); none is printer firmware. Updates are delivered over the air via Bambu Studio / Bambu Handy[9] | Klipper (3DJake's table renders it as "Clipper"). OrcaSlicer is the supported slicer[2][6] |
| Connectivity, UI & Camera | ||
| Display: size, type, touch? | 5-inch 1280x720 touchscreen[1] | Not documented |
| On-device UI capabilities (model preview, per-object controls, etc.) | Touchscreen plus mobile app and PC app[1] | Not documented |
| WiFi (band/standard), Ethernet, USB ports, SD/flash-drive | Dual-band Wi-Fi (802.11 a/b/g/n), built-in 8 GB eMMC and a USB port; Ethernet not available, no network kill switch, no 802.1X[1] | USB, Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz, HDMI, Ethernet[2][6] |
| Camera: built-in / optional? Resolution & framerate (verify — marketing often omits real fps) | Two cameras: live-view 1920x1080 and a toolhead camera at 1600x1200[1] | Not documented |
| Power-Loss & Interruption Recovery | ||
| Power-loss recovery: mechanism (how is state saved? capacitor / eeprom / file on shutdown?) | Not documented | Power-loss resume printing supported; mechanism not published[2][6] |
| Materials Support | ||
| Officially supported filament list | Main hotend: PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, TPU, support materials, PET, PA, PC, PVA and carbon/glass-fibre reinforced PLA, PETG, ABS, ASA, PA6, PAHT, PPA, PET. Auxiliary hotend drops PPA-CF/GF and excludes PLA Aero; PLA Silk, PETG-CF, ASA-CF, PA6-CF, TPU for AMS and PA/PET support material are flagged "print with caution" on the auxiliary nozzle[1] | 1.75 mm filament; Sovol does not publish a per-material list on this page[2][6] |
| Reliability, Support & Ecosystem | ||
| Warranty length & support reputation (evidence, not vibes) | 2-year limited warranty for consumers in the US, Canada, the EU, Switzerland, Norway and Iceland; 1 year in the rest of the world. Bambu Lab's own policy records the US/Canada term as a 2026 extension from one year to two[10] | Not documented |
Manufacturer claims, independent measurements, packages and test conditions retain their source wording. FDM linear speed and resin vertical speed use different units and are not directly comparable. Unknown values are marked “Not documented”. Prices and source dates remain historical snapshots; check the linked guide for product details. Differences highlight text, not a universal winner.
Sources for this comparison
- Bambu Lab X2D Spec (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
- Sovol SV08 Max 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol 3D-printer collection product feed (live prices and stock) sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Bambu Lab US Store - 3D Printers collection listing (base prices, Aug 2026) us.store.bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Bambu Lab P2S Spec Sheet (PDF) store.bblcdn.com · 2026-08 · doc
- Sovol SV08 Max technical data table 3djake.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Sovol SV08 3D Printer product page sovol3d.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- Bambu Lab - Compare all 3D printers (A2L / X2D / H2C columns) bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor
- GitHub - bambulab organisation repository list (11 repos, checked Aug 2026) github.com · 2026-08 · doc
- Bambu Lab Warranty Policy bambulab.com · 2026-08 · vendor